Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 03:23:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoind dies always...  (Read 3323 times)
Wed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1182



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 06:53:06 AM
 #1

Hey together,
i have running bitcoind (0.8.5) on Linux (64 bit, debian). I have started it via
Code:
./bitcoind &

It starts to download blocks like expected, but then it dies. I dont know why.
I have downloaded the binaries, didnt compiled it by my self.


These are the last entries of debug.log, db.log is empty:

Code:
received block 0000000000000000f853cbbd99b479dd58bf7a6b8bf25230526b86f1a4f7fea1
ProcessBlock: ORPHAN BLOCK, prev=000000000000002d1178d427031d3c23264c24896a139e527b7ecf9759233741
received block 0000000000000039d5d6be0425beb36448dc39f4608129d81440cacbf066ecec
ProcessBlock: ORPHAN BLOCK, prev=0000000000000000f853cbbd99b479dd58bf7a6b8bf25230526b86f1a4f7fea1
received block 000000000000011783b381d68f9421e33599812638df968bf9ee7daa07b1b5a3
ProcessBlock: ORPHAN BLOCK, prev=0000000000000039d5d6be0425beb36448dc39f4608129d81440cacbf066ecec
received block 00000000000000ad94416ce430db254aece44475a2159948c807ecd002bd2ed0
ProcessBlock: ORPHAN BLOCK, prev=000000000000011783b381d68f9421e33599812638df968bf9ee7daa07b1b5a3
received block 0000000000000071b69800694cd7928d2072b4c1d981fd84d7fb2362159f23d2
Committing 40415 changed transactions to coin database...


Syslog entry:

Code:
Oct 18 08:45:32 41025 kernel: [7433419.027463] OOM killed process 13728 (bitcoind) vm:945220kB, rss:495276kB, swap:0kB

Does anyone have an idea?

/edit
I have 1024 MB RAM, could that be the problem?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513481013
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513481013

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513481013
Reply with quote  #2

1513481013
Report to moderator
1513481013
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513481013

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513481013
Reply with quote  #2

1513481013
Report to moderator
1513481013
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513481013

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513481013
Reply with quote  #2

1513481013
Report to moderator
Wed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1182



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 08:07:11 AM
 #2

I think I have a solution.
I've upgraded my ram to 2 GB, now it runs.
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile
October 18, 2013, 08:20:38 AM
 #3

1GB is barely enough to run a toaster...

| 
 
50
| 




                       ▄
           ▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
▄▄▄▄█████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████

█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
▀▀▀▀█████  █████████████
           ▀▀▀▀▀▀███████
                       ▀
| 
 
$1,5 M
|


        ▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄
      ▄█████▀▀███▀▀█████▄
    ▄███▀     ███     ▀███▄
   ████       ███       ████
  ███▀                   ▀███
 ███▀                     ▀███
▄██▀       █████████       ▀██▄
███                         ███
███        █████████        ███
███                         ███
▀██▄       █████████       ▄██▀
 ███▄                     ▄███
  ███▄                   ▄███
   ████       ███       ████
    ▀███▄     ███     ▄███▀
      ▀█████▄▄███▄▄█████▀
        ▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀
 
|
 
<>
<>
<>
<>
 
GITHUB
TWITTER
YOUTUBE
FACEBOOK
imrer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
October 18, 2013, 08:21:47 AM
 #4

Lol, 1GB isn't enough? Have you had a swap?

Start your own casino site: » CoinDice | CoinWheel «
Wed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1182



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 08:56:31 AM
 #5

Lol, 1GB isn't enough? Have you had a swap?

It's a virtual machine without swap

/edit
I will create a swap partition, maybe that helps

btw, i have 4gb ram now but look at this:

Code:
PID   USER     PRI  NI  VIRT    RES   SHR   S CPU%  MEM%   TIME+       Command
2512 bitcoin    20   0   1405M  997M  5876 S 116.     48.7      40:58.90   /home/bitcoin/bitcoind


It doesn't rlease any ram...

/edit
I can't create swap file, because Parallels Virtuozzo doesn't supports swaps (in my case)

It's becoming worse
Code:
2512 bitcoin    20   0 1658M 1201M  6632 S 187. 58.7 51:24.59 /home/bitcoin/bitcoind

58.7% of 2GB Ram...
imrer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
October 18, 2013, 11:29:59 AM
 #6

Lol... How could that eat so much? So even 2gb isn't enough? Can anyone tell me if large swap could help or if I really need 4gb ram?

Start your own casino site: » CoinDice | CoinWheel «
Wed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1182



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 11:34:27 AM
 #7

Bei solchen Services wäre etwas Swap ratsam. Ein Teil des Adressraum muss nicht dauerhaft verfügbar sein und kann dann ausgelagert werden. Ausserdem verhindert man, dass der OOM Killer einem im Ernstfall einen wichtigen Prozess beendet.
Source: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=313263.msg3361156#msg3361156

I try to translate:
In case of daemons like bitcoin swap is advisable. A part of addres space doesn't have to be available all the time and can be sourced out. Additionally it avoids that important processes are killed because no memory is left.

In my case, i can't use swap (virtual server, virtuozzo) so i have to buy more ram :-(

What you can do is restart it everytime it dies. After the whole blackchain is downloaded just restart bitcoind, it will eat less ram than before.
imrer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
October 18, 2013, 11:47:09 AM
 #8

Cool, so do you think 1gb ram + 2gb swap could be enough? Btw how much do you pay for that VPS, where you can't create swap?

Start your own casino site: » CoinDice | CoinWheel «
Wed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1182



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 11:49:23 AM
 #9

Cool, so do you think 1gb ram + 2gb swap could be enough? Btw how much do you pay for that VPS, where you can't create swap?

5€ per Month

1GB Ram +2GB Swap should be enough but it depends on your system, what other daemons are running, etc.

Please consider that 1GB Ram + 2GB Swap will be full someday, so you have to restart bitcoind. If you're downloading the whole blackchain, this day will come fest (maybe in few hours Cheesy).
imrer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
October 18, 2013, 11:50:55 AM
 #10

Thanks. 5€ for 4gb ram??

Start your own casino site: » CoinDice | CoinWheel «
Wed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1182



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 11:51:31 AM
 #11

Thanks. 5€ for 4gb ram??

nope

5€ for the whole server but will become 9€ next month.
1gb ram are about 2,5€ per month

http://www.webtropia.com/en/vservercloud/cloud-vserver-linux-s.html
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 01:17:14 PM
 #12

I have been able to run bitcoind on a VPS with just 768MB of RAM + 256MB vswap (openvz). Of course it only stays up for about a week before dying. This was with bitcoind 0.8.3. I thought they fixed this memory leak issue in 0.8.4. Anyway you can install monit. It will automatically restart the daemon if it dies.

BTW this thread is a little strange. The interaction between the OP and imrer seems a little artificial.

imrer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
October 18, 2013, 01:29:34 PM
 #13

Monit sounds great. It could solve my problem. Thanks Smiley Lol, why artificial? Cheesy

Start your own casino site: » CoinDice | CoinWheel «
polarhei
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Firing it up


View Profile
October 18, 2013, 01:30:07 PM
 #14

The basic diagram given mentioning not enough memory space for bitcoind. Bitcoind requires at least 1.5GByte memory when doing some verification even there is no GUI. Additionally, I assume you use typical hardrive like WD RED. Remember more ram the better, especially in linux due to the I/O nature.
imrer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
October 18, 2013, 01:32:42 PM
 #15

The basic diagram given mentioning not enough memory space for bitcoind. Bitcoind requires at least 1.5GByte memory when doing some verification even there is no GUI. Additionally, I assume you use typical hardrive like WD RED. Remember more ram the better, especially in linux due to the I/O nature.

Have you tried some online wallet to this use? Can I manage online wallet from php and all functions are the same?

Start your own casino site: » CoinDice | CoinWheel «
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile
October 18, 2013, 01:48:10 PM
 #16

Ah, polarhei, still talking like a spam bot.  Cheesy

| 
 
50
| 




                       ▄
           ▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
▄▄▄▄█████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████

█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
▀▀▀▀█████  █████████████
           ▀▀▀▀▀▀███████
                       ▀
| 
 
$1,5 M
|


        ▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄
      ▄█████▀▀███▀▀█████▄
    ▄███▀     ███     ▀███▄
   ████       ███       ████
  ███▀                   ▀███
 ███▀                     ▀███
▄██▀       █████████       ▀██▄
███                         ███
███        █████████        ███
███                         ███
▀██▄       █████████       ▄██▀
 ███▄                     ▄███
  ███▄                   ▄███
   ████       ███       ████
    ▀███▄     ███     ▄███▀
      ▀█████▄▄███▄▄█████▀
        ▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀
 
|
 
<>
<>
<>
<>
 
GITHUB
TWITTER
YOUTUBE
FACEBOOK
imrer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
October 18, 2013, 02:34:26 PM
 #17

I think problem with bitcoind is solved -> low memory.

If you have some experience with online wallet for business use feel free to comment. (blockchain.info vs inputs.io)

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=313418.msg3362379#msg3362379

Start your own casino site: » CoinDice | CoinWheel «
Wed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1182



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 07:02:53 PM
 #18

I have been able to run bitcoind on a VPS with just 768MB of RAM + 256MB vswap (openvz). Of course it only stays up for about a week before dying. This was with bitcoind 0.8.3. I thought they fixed this memory leak issue in 0.8.4. Anyway you can install monit. It will automatically restart the daemon if it dies.

BTW this thread is a little strange. The interaction between the OP and imrer seems a little artificial.

Artificial?
How do you figure?
trilightzone.org
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47



View Profile WWW
October 19, 2013, 06:30:15 PM
 #19

It's possible something is wrong with your virtual machine. On a clean system to run bitcoind 1GB should not cause the process to die. Check also your diskspace assigned just in case.

Wed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1182



View Profile WWW
October 19, 2013, 06:44:41 PM
 #20

It's possible something is wrong with your virtual machine. On a clean system to run bitcoind 1GB should not cause the process to die. Check also your diskspace assigned just in case.


There is nothing wrong with my system. I have no swap (thats the main reason) and other running daemons (no clean system). Additionally there is a memory leak on bitcoind. There is no memory leak on other crypto cur. daemons like namecoind. Namecoind releases the memory it reserves.

Memory usage of Bitcoind: 10%
Memory usage of Namecoind: 10%
1 Week later
Memory usage of Bitcoind: 40%
Memory usage of Namecoind: 10%
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!