Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 12:01:06 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Reccomend 3xPCIe MB  (Read 950 times)
dyngnosis
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 04:52:12 AM
 #1

Im looking for recommendations for cheap mother boards that will support three cards... something in stock at newegg
1481284866
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284866

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284866
Reply with quote  #2

1481284866
Report to moderator
1481284866
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284866

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284866
Reply with quote  #2

1481284866
Report to moderator
1481284866
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284866

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284866
Reply with quote  #2

1481284866
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481284866
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284866

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284866
Reply with quote  #2

1481284866
Report to moderator
1481284866
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284866

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284866
Reply with quote  #2

1481284866
Report to moderator
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 09:58:55 AM
 #2

Intel or AMD? Smiley

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
SHlFT
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


#teamwin


View Profile WWW
July 26, 2011, 10:05:46 AM
 #3

You want with x16 or x1

PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 10:31:56 AM
 #4

You want with x16 or x1

There are more important questions at 1st, but you point out something:
Do you want to put the rig into a normal PC case, or you want use something more special?

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
July 26, 2011, 11:59:22 AM
 #5

Can I recommend a 4x PCIe MB??


kernelpanic
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 12:17:36 PM
 #6

ASRock 890GX EXTREME4 AM3 AMD 890GX HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157207

I've been successfully using this board.  Solid board, no problems.  It has onboard power/reset buttons if you want to go caseless.  It has 4 PCIe, but only 3 usable at the same time.

gellimac
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
July 26, 2011, 12:33:52 PM
 #7

I recommend you this one : ASRock M3A785GXH/128M

gellimac
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
July 26, 2011, 12:34:17 PM
 #8

you can find it for 50€ new
Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554



View Profile
July 26, 2011, 02:14:08 PM
 #9

Biostar A870u3 - $65 at newegg. It has 2x16 slots and 2x1 slots. This is only good, though, if you want to go w/o a case and use extenders. It will work with x1 extenders even in the x16 slots. Lots of other good options too of course.
mountainminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


casual newb


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 09:03:10 PM
 #10

I might go with this ASRock here. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157262

It's $40 more (after rebate) than that Biostar, but it has more slots, and they appear to have better spacing too. You could run 4 or 5 cards on this mobo with an adapter/extender or two.

To run 3 cards on the Biostar you'll need an adapter, and I think a good one is about $15. So that puts the 2 boards only about $25 apart. A lot of people do use that Biostar though, so it's a proven board for mining.
Spadowsky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 09:39:10 PM
 #11

be sure NOT to get this http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Model=M3N78D one.
Managed to get only one of the tree PCIe-x1 slots working.
jh1523
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 09:42:57 PM
 #12

On some boards the PCI-E x1 slots have shared bandwidth, so you can't use all of them at once. Usually it's in the manual. Other times, various size slots share bandwidth and behave in funny ways if you populate them all. I have a motherboard with 2 PCI-E x16 slots, if you put cards in both they revert to x8 each. It also has a x4 slot and 2 x1 slots - but if you use both x1 slots then the x4 slot also becomes a x1 slot. Confused yet? Smiley

If you feel I have helped you, consider donating to 1BFLDATk4iE6R2hYTfqNjxBZYctU9eshCM
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 09:43:22 PM
 #13

be sure NOT to get this http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Model=M3N78D one.
Managed to get only one of the tree PCIe-x1 slots working.

I haven't encountered that MB yet, but I think it must be faulty...

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
mountainminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


casual newb


View Profile
July 26, 2011, 10:38:24 PM
 #14

The one I linked to a few posts up supports Quad CrossFireX, so it looks like a pretty sweet mining board at $105.

BTW, I realize you don't use CrossFire for mining. I'm just pointing out that it supports a lot of cards for the money.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!