Bitcoin Forum
June 18, 2018, 12:47:12 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Restore doesn't work moving from 1.9 --> 1.8.1  (Read 556 times)
bitcoindaddy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 479
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 07:03:30 PM
 #1

I have a wallet with a positive balance in 1.9.  If I do a restore using 1.8.1 software, I type the seed words expecting to see the public keys and the positive balance and don't.

I've heard that 1.9 uses compressed keys which would explain why the keys look different, but why would I not see the positive balance?

Edit - I know I shouldn't use 1.9 (git) for anything important. But I'm trying to test the crap out of this software to see if I can trust it.
1529282832
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529282832

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529282832
Reply with quote  #2

1529282832
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529282832
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529282832

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529282832
Reply with quote  #2

1529282832
Report to moderator
1529282832
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529282832

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529282832
Reply with quote  #2

1529282832
Report to moderator
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1899
Merit: 1007



View Profile WWW
October 29, 2013, 12:45:04 PM
 #2

I have a wallet with a positive balance in 1.9.  If I do a restore using 1.8.1 software, I type the seed words expecting to see the public keys and the positive balance and don't.

I've heard that 1.9 uses compressed keys which would explain why the keys look different, but why would I not see the positive balance?

Edit - I know I shouldn't use 1.9 (git) for anything important. But I'm trying to test the crap out of this software to see if I can trust it.

version 1.9 is not released yet.
the version currently in git is not final, so you should not rely on it.
I delayed the release because I will change the address generation algorithm.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
btcven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 717
Merit: 500


Bitcoin Venezuela


View Profile WWW
October 29, 2013, 12:52:05 PM
 #3

I have a wallet with a positive balance in 1.9.  If I do a restore using 1.8.1 software, I type the seed words expecting to see the public keys and the positive balance and don't.

You have to run HEAD from git and send the coins from there to your wallet in 1.8.1

When 1.9 is released the address generation algorithm will be different than the current HEAD.

Admin: rdymac (PGP) | contacto@bitcoinvenezuela.com | @cafebitcoin | Electrum, lightweight bitcoin client
If I've been helpful tip me a coffee! Cheesy1rdymachKZpA9pTYHYHMYZjfjnoBW6B3k Bitrated user: rdymac.
247saver
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 02, 2013, 01:49:03 PM
 #4

I'm still running v 1.5.6

Should I be upgrading, will that be safe?  Or am I OK just to stick with 1.5.6 ?

Thanks for any advice!
btcven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 717
Merit: 500


Bitcoin Venezuela


View Profile WWW
November 02, 2013, 03:20:33 PM
 #5

I'm still running v 1.5.6

Should I be upgrading, will that be safe?  Or am I OK just to stick with 1.5.6 ?

Thanks for any advice!

You should be at least running 1.8.1, not 1.5.6

Admin: rdymac (PGP) | contacto@bitcoinvenezuela.com | @cafebitcoin | Electrum, lightweight bitcoin client
If I've been helpful tip me a coffee! Cheesy1rdymachKZpA9pTYHYHMYZjfjnoBW6B3k Bitrated user: rdymac.
247saver
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 02, 2013, 05:27:36 PM
 #6

I'm still running v 1.5.6

Should I be upgrading, will that be safe?  Or am I OK just to stick with 1.5.6 ?

Thanks for any advice!

You should be at least running 1.8.1, not 1.5.6


Thanks for the tip!  

1.5.6 seemed to be running fine but better to be up to date I guess.  

Upgraded: found the expert tickbox. Smiley

Thanks again
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!