Bitcoin Forum
January 21, 2018, 05:05:07 PM *
News: Electrum users must upgrade to 3.0.5 if they haven't already. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How do I reduce hardware errors with my ASIC USB miners?  (Read 920 times)
NullVoxPopuli
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
October 29, 2013, 01:33:52 PM
 #1

See my console below, it is showing a pretty good hash rate (in GH/s, rather than MH/s)

On coinex, it says I'm getting from 400 to 800MH/s... but cgminer says I'm getting 4.6 GH/s. I've tried multiple pools, and the speed discrepancy appears to be the same for every pool.


Code:
cgminer version 3.6.3 - Started: [2013-10-25 17:08:01]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):5.624G (avg):4.601Gh/s | A:17894  R:41  HW:37944  WU:6.6/m
 ST: 17  SS: 4  NB: 2590  LW: 288286  GF: 199  RF: 0
 Connected to stratum.coinex.pw diff 4 with stratum as user <me>
 Block: 60ed838e3275dcb4...  Diff:856  Started: [14:57:35]  Best share: 4.82K
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 AMU  0:                 | 336.0M/332.9Mh/s | A:    0 R: 0 HW:  361 WU:0.0/m
 AMU  1:                 | 336.0M/333.3Mh/s | A:    0 R: 0 HW:    0 WU:0.0/m
 AMU  2:                 | 335.7M/334.3Mh/s | A:12552 R:29 HW:  174 WU:4.6/m
 AMU  3:                 | 336.9M/303.5Mh/s | A:    0 R: 0 HW: 4309 WU:0.0/m
 AMU  4:                 | 341.1M/331.2Mh/s | A:    0 R: 0 HW: 1631 WU:0.0/m
 AMU  5:                 | 336.0M/345.7Mh/s | A:    0 R: 0 HW: 3232 WU:0.0/m
 AMU  6:                 | 336.0M/332.6Mh/s | A:    0 R: 0 HW:  103 WU:0.0/m
 AMU  7:                 | 336.0M/333.3Mh/s | A:    4 R: 0 HW:    2 WU:0.0/m
 AMU  8:                 | 343.1M/309.5Mh/s | A:  188 R: 0 HW:10568 WU:0.1/m
 AMU  9:                 | 331.3M/318.4Mh/s | A:  220 R: 0 HW:10278 WU:0.1/m
 AMU 10:                 | 408.0M/332.1Mh/s | A:    0 R: 0 HW:  810 WU:0.0/m
 AMU 11:                 | 336.0M/333.5Mh/s | A:   72 R: 0 HW:   36 WU:0.0/m
 AMU 12:                 | 329.3M/328.8Mh/s | A: 4858 R:12 HW: 6243 WU:1.8/m
 AMU 13:                 | 336.0M/334.1Mh/s | A:    0 R: 0 HW:  198 WU:0.0/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

what do I do?

 Cloud Mining on CEX.IO  (https://cex.io/r/0/NullVoxPopuli/0/) Bitcoin Address: 1LWfWoyNhMSdRBu3HgwXocwaBWvEkEUDXR
Contribute to the Open Source Community!
My GitHub (http://github.com/NullVoxPopuli) | Company's GitHub (http://github.com/TinderBox) (also, if any of you happen to be sales people:  TinderBox (http://gettinderbox.com) )
1516554307
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516554307

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516554307
Reply with quote  #2

1516554307
Report to moderator
1516554307
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516554307

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516554307
Reply with quote  #2

1516554307
Report to moderator
If you see garbage posts (off-topic, trolling, spam, no point, etc.), use the "report to moderator" links. All reports are investigated, though you will rarely be contacted about your reports.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1516554307
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516554307

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516554307
Reply with quote  #2

1516554307
Report to moderator
1516554307
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516554307

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516554307
Reply with quote  #2

1516554307
Report to moderator
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
October 29, 2013, 02:13:20 PM
 #2

You are using a really cheap underpowered hub more than likely, your miners are not getting enough power and not submitting any shares at all.

Get a better USB hub, there's a thread out there listing known good ones. Either that or just buy a dlink dub-h7.


Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
NullVoxPopuli
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
October 29, 2013, 02:37:15 PM
 #3

.
You are using a really cheap underpowered hub more than likely, your miners are not getting enough power and not submitting any shares at all.

Get a better USB hub, there's a thread out there listing known good ones. Either that or just buy a dlink dub-h7.



This is the hub I'm using: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0051PGX2I/ref=oh_details_o01_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It has external power.

What about a hub makes it good or not?

 Cloud Mining on CEX.IO  (https://cex.io/r/0/NullVoxPopuli/0/) Bitcoin Address: 1LWfWoyNhMSdRBu3HgwXocwaBWvEkEUDXR
Contribute to the Open Source Community!
My GitHub (http://github.com/NullVoxPopuli) | Company's GitHub (http://github.com/TinderBox) (also, if any of you happen to be sales people:  TinderBox (http://gettinderbox.com) )
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
October 29, 2013, 02:59:00 PM
 #4

I have that exact hub, it only has a 2A power supply. Each block eruptor uses .5A, so that hub can only theoretically run 4 miners.

It's a steaming pile of crap though and won't even run two miners.

You need a new USB hub. Search USB hub for miners on this forum and I guarantee you will find the thread with lists of good hubs.

Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!