Bitcoin Forum
June 25, 2018, 02:10:18 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Noob question about using two PCs  (Read 423 times)
bitcoin_builder
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 05, 2013, 01:08:06 PM
 #1

Let's say I install bitcoin-qt on PC1. It is syncd with network.
I save my wallet and encrypt it.
I then start mining and finds 1 coin.

Then I install bitcoin-qt on PC2. It is syncd with network.
Here I get another wallet.
Now if I find a coin, where will it be saved?

I mean do I need both wallets to claim those 2 coins found or only wallet on PC1 will work for both?
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529892619
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529892619

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529892619
Reply with quote  #2

1529892619
Report to moderator
1529892619
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529892619

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529892619
Reply with quote  #2

1529892619
Report to moderator
1529892619
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529892619

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529892619
Reply with quote  #2

1529892619
Report to moderator
MineNerd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 05, 2013, 01:17:42 PM
 #2

By default each PC will have its own wallet address. However, you can import the private key from one wallet so they both have the same address.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/How_to_import_private_keys_v7%2B

DannyHamilton
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1358



View Profile
November 05, 2013, 02:09:07 PM
 #3

If you are mining with a mining pool, then you don't need Bitcoin-Qt installed on the computer at all.  You simply indicate to the pool what address you want your share paid to.

ampbuster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 06, 2013, 06:54:14 AM
 #4

you can import the wallet from PC1 to be used in PC2 and they will both show the same amount of bitcoins in your wallet Smiley

Crayeo multipools: http://pools.crayeo.com | Missing balance in Coinye pool? Send an email to ray@crayeo.com
http://scrypt.cc?ref=baas2 Dividend paying commodity!
odolvlobo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170
Merit: 1077



View Profile
November 06, 2013, 07:03:19 AM
 #5

you can import the wallet from PC1 to be used in PC2 and they will both show the same amount of bitcoins in your wallet Smiley
By default each PC will have its own wallet address. However, you can import the private key from one wallet so they both have the same address.
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/How_to_import_private_keys_v7%2B

That is a bad idea because after you send money from one of the wallets, the two wallets will no longer be in sync and will show different amounts. If you try to fix it without understanding what happened, you could lose some bitcoins.

Buy bitcoins with cash from somebody near you: LocalBitcoins
Buy stuff on Amazon at a discount with bitcoins: Purse.io
Join an anti-signature campaign: DannyHamilton's ignore list
bitcoin_builder
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 06, 2013, 07:25:02 AM
 #6

you can import the wallet from PC1 to be used in PC2 and they will both show the same amount of bitcoins in your wallet Smiley
By default each PC will have its own wallet address. However, you can import the private key from one wallet so they both have the same address.
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/How_to_import_private_keys_v7%2B

That is a bad idea because after you send money from one of the wallets, the two wallets will no longer be in sync and will show different amounts. If you try to fix it without understanding what happened, you could lose some bitcoins.

Yeah this is what I am worried about. But isn't it strange this such basic feature is not easily available in program? Or people only install it on one PC throughout their life?
odolvlobo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170
Merit: 1077



View Profile
November 06, 2013, 07:50:38 AM
 #7

If you want a single wallet available on multiple computers you can use blockchain.info

Buy bitcoins with cash from somebody near you: LocalBitcoins
Buy stuff on Amazon at a discount with bitcoins: Purse.io
Join an anti-signature campaign: DannyHamilton's ignore list
undeadknight
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 06, 2013, 07:59:00 AM
 #8

Let's say I install bitcoin-qt on PC1. It is syncd with network.
I save my wallet and encrypt it.
I then start mining and finds 1 coin.

Then I install bitcoin-qt on PC2. It is syncd with network.
Here I get another wallet.
Now if I find a coin, where will it be saved?

I mean do I need both wallets to claim those 2 coins found or only wallet on PC1 will work for both?


FYI, they are 2 separate wallet, it depends on which Bitcoin address that you put on your pool withdrawal. If you want both of the wallet combined then use the backup wallet.dat files and replace it to your 2nd wallet...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!