Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2018, 03:10:34 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: resource hog  (Read 10738 times)
andy_3_913
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 13, 2010, 07:19:47 PM
 #1

i've read through the forums, seen a few topics...
but...
this program really does slow things down.
don't really understand why, if it's supposed to give priority to other progs.
but, crap, makes my system move like it's walking through treacle!!

not a great system,
pentium d, 2.8 mhz each cpu.
3 gb ram
windows 7 home 64
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. Server-assisted clients like blockchain.info rely on centralized servers to do their network verification for them. Although the server can't steal the client's bitcoins directly, it can easily execute double-spending-style attacks against the client.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544670634
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544670634

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544670634
Reply with quote  #2

1544670634
Report to moderator
1544670634
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544670634

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544670634
Reply with quote  #2

1544670634
Report to moderator
1544670634
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544670634

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544670634
Reply with quote  #2

1544670634
Report to moderator
SmokeTooMuch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 875
Merit: 1009


View Profile
July 13, 2010, 07:45:37 PM
 #2

I guess you are still at the initial download of the current block chain.
until your blockcount is around 66k you still have to download the blocks and verify them. this takes quite some hard-drive performance, so maybe thats what is slowing down your system.

Date Registered: 2009-12-10 | I'm using GPG, pm me for my public key. | Bitcoin on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/btc
andy_3_913
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 13, 2010, 08:38:01 PM
 #3

i'm sorry, but no!
i started at 666## something, ages ago. now up to 66812
and got my 5 freebies Smiley
still got max cpu usage?
laszlo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199
Merit: 318


View Profile
July 13, 2010, 08:39:56 PM
 #4

It will always use max CPU to generate but the generating thread is scheduled at a low priority so it should yield to other processes.  I can compile code and do other things on my windows machine with 0.3 running and it doesn't seem to slow it down for me at least.

BC: 157fRrqAKrDyGHr1Bx3yDxeMv8Rh45aUet
andy_3_913
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 13, 2010, 08:49:14 PM
 #5

It will always use max CPU to generate but the generating thread is scheduled at a low priority so it should yield to other processes.  I can compile code and do other things on my windows machine with 0.3 running and it doesn't seem to slow it down for me at least.

thanks for the quick answer Smiley

i have bitcoin running, gomez peer and BOINC.
there is definitely a major slow down.
if i have bitcoin running, and click on gomez icon, it takes a good 30+seconds to open. should be instantaneous!!
Smiley
andy_3_913
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 13, 2010, 09:09:23 PM
 #6

while i'm at it.
probably totally wrong place, but,...
248 confirmations and my address has changed. why has my address changed. please? Smiley
HELP!!!
hehe Smiley
laszlo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199
Merit: 318


View Profile
July 13, 2010, 09:24:35 PM
 #7

It generates a new address and puts it in the main window for you if a payment is received for the previous address.  This is so each time you click 'copy to clipboard' to send it to someone, it's easier to get a unique one.  The old one is still valid and it's still in your address book.

Try renicing bitcoin and see if it helps.   Find the pid in top or ps and then renice +19 1234 where 1234 is the pid.

BC: 157fRrqAKrDyGHr1Bx3yDxeMv8Rh45aUet
SmokeTooMuch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 875
Merit: 1009


View Profile
July 13, 2010, 09:28:06 PM
 #8

windows 7 home 64
I don't think their is any renicing under Windows.

Date Registered: 2009-12-10 | I'm using GPG, pm me for my public key. | Bitcoin on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/btc
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3234
Merit: 4056


View Profile
July 14, 2010, 12:28:15 AM
 #9

windows 7 home 64
I don't think their is any renicing under Windows.

 Wink
C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /c start "BitCoin" /LOW /MIN "C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin.exe"

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
satoshi
Founder
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 1712


View Profile
July 14, 2010, 04:29:39 PM
 #10

In Windows, you select the process in the task manager, right click, Set Priority.  Set it to BelowNormal or Low.  That shouldn't make a difference though.

If you turn off Generate Coins, does the CPU usage go flat?  That would confirm that all the CPU time it's taking is generate, which is idle priority already.

It could be it's slow just because you have too many things running at once and you're out of memory.  When you switch from one thing to another, it has to page it in from disk.
andy_3_913
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 15, 2010, 02:00:09 PM
 #11

In Windows, you select the process in the task manager, right click, Set Priority.  Set it to BelowNormal or Low.  That shouldn't make a difference though.

If you turn off Generate Coins, does the CPU usage go flat?  That would confirm that all the CPU time it's taking is generate, which is idle priority already.

It could be it's slow just because you have too many things running at once and you're out of memory.  When you switch from one thing to another, it has to page it in from disk.

thanks every one for your help Smiley
have tried manually setting priority to below normal, and it plays nice!! but stays at 100%
also, when i turn off generate coins, cpu usage drops to zero!
turning generate on sends cpu back up to 100%
satoshi
Founder
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 1712


View Profile
July 15, 2010, 02:59:00 PM
 #12

Then all the CPU time is the generate thread, which definitely runs at the lowest possible priority, idle priority.  It's normal that your CPU meter is 100%.  Since it's idle priority, it won't actually slow anything else down, even though the CPU meter is 100%.
andy_3_913
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 15, 2010, 03:18:12 PM
 #13

Then all the CPU time is the generate thread, which definitely runs at the lowest possible priority, idle priority.  It's normal that your CPU meter is 100%.  Since it's idle priority, it won't actually slow anything else down, even though the CPU meter is 100%.

thank you  Grin
BitcoinFX
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1051


youtu.be/6NXnxTNIWkc


View Profile WWW
July 15, 2010, 03:24:11 PM
 #14

It will always use max CPU to generate but the generating thread is scheduled at a low priority so it should yield to other processes.  I can compile code and do other things on my windows machine with 0.3 running and it doesn't seem to slow it down for me at least.

thanks for the quick answer Smiley

i have bitcoin running, gomez peer and BOINC.
there is definitely a major slow down.
if i have bitcoin running, and click on gomez icon, it takes a good 30+seconds to open. should be instantaneous!!
Smiley

I also run Bitcoin, Gomez Peer and BONIC ( World Community Grid ) on 2 of my older XP machines. However, they are duel core, So I set Bitcoin to use just 1 Core and BONIC to use 50% resources. I rarely hit 100% CPU usage for both cores, even with additional application usage.

You should try to find a good balance between CPU usage, productivity, charity and economics.

Bitcoin without polity !?! | Get a Gapcoin slice of Mathematically constant π + new world record attempt on 21st Oct. 2018 | "The industry of the integrated spectacle and immaterial command owes me (us all) money." - We do not Forgive. We do not Forget. Expect Revolution Renaissance! for we are all Satoshi now? - youtu.be/G7Z8MMk45U0 - "the multiple and the multiplex!" - Mostly AWOL hunting 4 (Zk-)SNARKS ... youtu.be/Yc18hhM6gUc?t=4m27s - "Beware of Boojum's"!?! - NSFW youtu.be/Wn3d51F1jPE + 21e8 = youtu.be/FoTx6dKNGmc ? lolz - 42/ is the answer - en.wikipedia.org/wiki/42_(number)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!