Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2018, 10:10:57 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Reviewing the Halong Mining DragonMint T1, a 10nm Bitcoin Miner  (Read 1403 times)
oawan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 06:52:55 PM
 #21

This isn't 10nm is it?  I thought it was 16nm

Look, if you assume a 10nm chip designed as well as the S9 chips, you should be getting about 20TH @ 1400w. 

If version rolling ASIC boost adds another 20%, you should be seeing ~24th at that power. 

My speculation is that this is a 16nm clone of the S9 but with the ASIC boost counteracting a worse chip design to bring a *very* slight increase in efficiency.

As much as people hate Bitmain, they do seem to have the best chip designs.
1544911857
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544911857

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544911857
Reply with quote  #2

1544911857
Report to moderator
1544911857
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544911857

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544911857
Reply with quote  #2

1544911857
Report to moderator
1544911857
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544911857

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544911857
Reply with quote  #2

1544911857
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544911857
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544911857

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544911857
Reply with quote  #2

1544911857
Report to moderator
1544911857
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544911857

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544911857
Reply with quote  #2

1544911857
Report to moderator
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1243


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2018, 06:58:09 PM
 #22

Yoshi Goto (MyRig) has mentioned that it is 10nm chip and that the foundry is Samsung.

dimaze
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 42


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 07:18:19 PM
 #23

There is a huge inductor on the PCB so it looks like
there is a DC/DC converter on board. Can you read
the chip number of the chips that are directly under
this inductor on the other side of the PCB?

I'll tear it down again soon and add a few more detailed pictures Smiley If anyone wants anymore details, let me know here! I'll update the OP with some additional details later.

How many years of warranty does Halong provide for these units?

6 months from the point of shipment - more information on the terms of sale page here

Yoshi did confirm it was Samsung and 10nm! More details this tweet

Halong is also the only miner manufacturer I've seen take this many payments options. In addition to the standard Wires/BTC options, they take BCH, LTC, ETH, XMR, DCR, USDT! Great to see a manufacturer accept the currency they sell miners on. A good thing! Smiley

NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1141


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 07:37:59 PM
 #24

This isn't 10nm is it?  I thought it was 16nm

Look, if you assume a 10nm chip designed as well as the S9 chips, you should be getting about 20TH @ 1400w.  
If version rolling ASIC boost adds another 20%, you should be seeing ~24th at that power.


My speculation is that this is a 16nm clone of the S9 but with the ASIC boost counteracting a worse chip design to bring a *very* slight increase in efficiency.
As much as people hate Bitmain, they do seem to have the best chip designs.
Based on what theory?
They are Samsung 10nm chips.

These ever smaller nodes are geared for low-power applications -- NOT high power ones like mining. The overall power involved raise die temps far beyond what the Foundries processes are designed to allow for. As a result the only way to make the miners stable is to sandbag the operating parameters and that means a lot of *possible* efficiency gains go right out the window. Props for mining chip makers trying to push the envelope but as usual the Real World pushes back - hard.

The Ebang 10nm miner is another example of designs gone wrong...

As for theoretical gains AB may give -- so far not as-advertised...

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
2112
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2114
Merit: 1027



View Profile
April 13, 2018, 08:26:12 PM
 #25

If anyone wants anymore details, let me know here! I'll update the OP with some additional details later.
Measure the DC voltage (if any) between the individual heat-sinks; while operating, but open, with additional external desktop fan providing additional cooling.

Please comment, critique, criticize or ridicule BIP 2112: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54382.0
Long-term mining prognosis: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=91101.0
buckrogers
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1033



View Profile
April 14, 2018, 03:02:25 AM
 #26


There currently are no firmware updates published on the website, however, Halong's Telegram (https://t.me/dragonmint)
published one for the T1 here:
https://download.halongmining.com/files/t1/t1_20180409_010732.swu



Hi,

Does the dragonmint T1 new firmware offer any improvements in hashing speed, or was it to update a different issue?

Thanks!

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1426


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
April 14, 2018, 12:05:38 PM
 #27


There currently are no firmware updates published on the website, however, Halong's Telegram (https://t.me/dragonmint)
published one for the T1 here:
https://download.halongmining.com/files/t1/t1_20180409_010732.swu



Hi,

Does the dragonmint T1 new firmware offer any improvements in hashing speed, or was it to update a different issue?

Thanks!

It  gives better graphics  

maybe a little better power draw.
maybe a little better hash.


say  1650 watts at k-watt meter
say  15540 gh


vs  
1679 watts
15300 gh


this particular unit  is the one I tested  on old firmware with 3 psu's

I need to  check  power again

i am now at

1640 watts
15540 hash

0.1055 watts a gh

 

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
dimaze
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 42


View Profile
April 14, 2018, 10:06:05 PM
Merited by 2112 (1)
 #28

Updated the OP with a close up of the Zynq chip there - second to last picture there on the teardown section. Let me know if any of you want any other closeups!

Measure the DC voltage (if any) between the individual heat-sinks; while operating, but open, with additional external desktop fan providing additional cooling.

I'll try to accommodate this. Unit wasn't friendly with me when I had the fans disconnected or even connected, will try a workaround.

Hi,

Does the dragonmint T1 new firmware offer any improvements in hashing speed, or was it to update a different issue?

Good question! I actually lost hashrate with the new firmware. It went from slightly above to below spec with the update. My recommendation at this point is if you have a unit that is hashing around spec, don't touch it with any firmware updates just yet. Halong indicated they're working on firmware updates to alleviate this issue. The GUI had welcome additions, such as individual chain ASIC status charts and a firmware checker, along with autotune capabilities. I'll throw those up here in the OP shortly.

2112
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2114
Merit: 1027



View Profile
April 14, 2018, 10:46:27 PM
 #29

Measure the DC voltage (if any) between the individual heat-sinks; while operating, but open, with additional external desktop fan providing additional cooling.
I'll try to accommodate this. Unit wasn't friendly with me when I had the fans disconnected or even connected, will try a workaround.
Thanks in advance. If you can't do this with the unit open then just measure the voltages on those heatsinks that can be reached through the case openings with the case closed and just the fans temporarily moved aside.

Please comment, critique, criticize or ridicule BIP 2112: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54382.0
Long-term mining prognosis: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=91101.0
intron
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 429
Merit: 251


- electronics design|embedded software|verilog -


View Profile
April 15, 2018, 10:40:49 AM
Merited by 2112 (1)
 #30

Quote
Measure the DC voltage (if any) between the individual heat-sinks; while operating, but open, with additional external desktop fan providing additional cooling.

I'll try to accommodate this. Unit wasn't friendly with me when I had the fans disconnected or even connected, will try a workaround.

You can probe just a few random heat sinks while
all boards are normally mounted in the frame. If it
is anything else but 0V, we can run some calculations.

dimaze
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 42


View Profile
April 15, 2018, 02:47:32 PM
 #31

Didn't get any DC readings off the first row of heatsinks. Will try to play around with it more after I play with the new beta firmware!

https://download.halongmining.com/testing/t1_20180415_075807.swu

Had some nice high numbers on the wind up minute of hashing!

https://i.imgur.com/iIXHg37.jpg

Pointed my T1 to ck's pool and it's currently running tuning on performance mode. Follow the T1's progress here:

http://ckpool.org/users/bc1qw0el3xg4zjuukjtmq9d8u9wr6yn57ts896k83u



Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove inline image tags.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1426


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
April 15, 2018, 03:46:20 PM
 #32

http://ckpool.org/users/1JdC6Xg3ajT3rge3FgPNSYYFpmf53Vbtje

I set mine to balanced   and I am waiting for results.



Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove an unnecessary quote.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
dimaze
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 42


View Profile
April 15, 2018, 03:51:11 PM
 #33

http://ckpool.org/users/1JdC6Xg3ajT3rge3FgPNSYYFpmf53Vbtje
I set mine to balanced   and I am waiting for results.

Good call! We'll be able to compare after a bit. I'm off to lunch now, will check how it's been when I am back, including what the power draw is. GUI 50 minutes in shows it averaging around 16-16.25 at least, poolside 1h appears to be catching up to that figure. Promising results so far.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1426


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
April 15, 2018, 04:09:20 PM
 #34

to make it clear I named the worker over


http://ckpool.org/users/1JdC6Xg3ajT3rge3FgPNSYYFpmf53Vbtje


so give it an hour to settle in for hash rate

power on k-watt is

1646 watts



"workername": "1JdC6Xg3ajT3rge3FgPNSYYFpmf53Vbtje.firm415",
   "hashrate1m": "9.43T",
   "hashrate5m": "4.05T",
   "hashrate1hr": "416G",
   "hashrate1d": "17.7G",
   "hashrate7d": "2.53G",
   "lastshare": 1523808733,
   "shares": 359619,
   "bestshare": 861686.0,
   "lns": 359619.1,
   "luck": 1.01,
   "herp": 361876.5063849979
  }
 ]
}

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
dimaze
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 42


View Profile
April 15, 2018, 06:46:52 PM
 #35

After about 3.5 hours of uptime on performance mode, the pool hashrate is 16.4-16.5T at the hourly indicator. Looks to be fluctuating between those numbers. GUI shows similar readings. Looks like my chain #1 is the performer, chain 2 has 22x the HW errors, and chain 3 has 11x. Had the other two chains performed like chain 1, it would be closer to 17TH!

Amp pull is between 6.8-6.9, that's about 1632-1656 watts.

https://i.imgur.com/3nZwyia.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/t69OAgA.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/IalK0cJ.jpg

With my preliminary testing, I highly recommend people upgrade to the firmware I've updated in the OP, I'll be putting these screenshots up there too.

I'll continue to test the other settings. Excited with this new firmware!



Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove inline image tags.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1426


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
April 15, 2018, 06:58:34 PM
 #36

I have had some trouble  getting it working.

Note to self stop  using Apple safari Angry

Works fine with Apple - Chrome- Yosemite.

I am tuning low power efficient  setting with this miner

http://ckpool.org/users/1JdC6Xg3ajT3rge3FgPNSYYFpmf53Vbtje

looks like power dropped at least 200 watts  to 1400

still waiting on true hash rates  but 1400 watts x 4 = 5600 watts which means it will be able to allow 4 units on a 30 amp pdu.

It would be nice to see it do 14250gh at 1400 watts

https://i.imgur.com/iDwS7Fr.png

https://i.imgur.com/UYiNYlf.png

https://i.imgur.com/1GMfVCI.png

https://i.imgur.com/RUWl5xN.png



Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove inline image tags.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
dimaze
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 42


View Profile
April 15, 2018, 07:07:30 PM
 #37

I've always been a chrome man myself Smiley

I just shifted my unit to efficiency too. It's autotuning, and I'll check back in the evening with results. Same pool target as my above test for anyone that wanted to track it live.

xdrpx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 582


View Profile
April 15, 2018, 07:12:26 PM
 #38

Never looked at the reviews of the s7 or s9 despite them being several years old now??
The t1 has same layout and lazy/brain-dead heatsink design that makes for them being LOUD due to all of the turbulence created by so many leading/trailing edges on that mass of individual sinks.

ref the Canaan Avalon repair guide for example of correct thermal design.

That's interesting, since you've mentioned about the S9. I went ahead and found HagssFIN's post on the guide / teardown but the PCB there wasn't visible since I guess the user wanted to retain the warranty seals. I went ahead and look it up on youtube and was amazed to see that it looks exactly similar to the Halong Mining DragonMint T1, including the outer casing.

Note: I tried googling the Canaan Avalong repair guide since the hyperlink you've provided is incomplete. I came up with https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3191702.0 and the technical setup page over here - https://canaan.io/faqs/avalonminer-721/page/2/ (for the Avalon 741 and 721). What's interesting was as compared to the Halong Mining dragonmint T1, the Avalon 841 has one continuous heatsink without many tiny ones attached to the PCB. Also, the 16nm ASIC chips right beneath them https://imgur.com/cYXplGP are clearly visible. Looks like an interesting design difference between the two.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1426


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
April 15, 2018, 07:14:20 PM
 #39

Yeah  safari  is dying  fuck apple.

I have to stop using it and move over about 100 passwords to chrome.


This software  will be nice if I settle in with easy  watts for pdu's  1400 watts  or lower works really well


@xdrpx

The  T1 board uses the exact same heatsinks as the s-9.

The board is a bit different in layout.



the efficient setting  lowers fans to 60%  in an 85 f garage

noise becomes okay.

still tuning,but  this firmware looks like a winner for me on low hash setting.


It rocks at  efficiency setting

13.85 -13.90
1325 watts

you tube link

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K_ksMluPUZI&t

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
dimaze
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 42


View Profile
April 17, 2018, 04:35:18 AM
 #40

Efficient mode settings I had fluctuating between 14.2-14.3TH, and drawing 5.3-5.4 amps -- 1272-1296 watts over the course of over a day.

That's between 88.95W/TH and 91.27W/TH, with a 90.11W/TH median at least on this boot and the beta firmware provided.

https://i.imgur.com/XNN6RJO.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/0IXCFvL.jpg

I'm pretty eager to see what type of specs this pushes out as the firmware is fine tuned.


Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!