Bitcoin Forum
September 23, 2018, 12:03:41 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Error of set PIC FLASH ...?  (Read 205 times)
BliksemMiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 23, 2018, 05:24:22 AM
 #1

Hi All

Issues with my Antminer S9...

Is one of my boards fried?

With latest firmware Fri Nov 17 17:57:49 CST 2017 I do Not see a Hardware Version and BMminer version and zero hashing on any of the boards

When I load up firmware version from April 2017 I see 2 boards and they hash but not on antpool only on nicehash.
Kernel log below...

Code:
Check chain[5] PIC fw version=0x00
chain[5] PIC need restore ...
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H=3(0) addr_L=0(0) on Chain[5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H=3(0) addr_L=0(0) on Chain[5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H=3(0) addr_L=0(0) on Chain[5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H=3(0) addr_L=0(0) on Chain[5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H=3(0) addr_L=0(0) on Chain[5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H=3(0) addr_L=0(0) on Chain[5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H=3(0) addr_L=0(0) on Chain[5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H=3(0) addr_L=0(0) on Chain[5]
After restore: chain[5] PIC fw version=0x00

Thanks in advance for your insight.

Regards
Bliksem
1537661021
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537661021

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537661021
Reply with quote  #2

1537661021
Report to moderator
Einax Airdrops and Bounties made easy! List your ERC-20 token
FREE
ETH markets launching soon!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
April 23, 2018, 04:07:46 PM
 #2

Common problem on the 1117 firmware. Roll it back to an older official firmware and your problem should go away.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
tim-bc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 21


View Profile
April 23, 2018, 04:29:07 PM
Merited by OgNasty (1)
 #3

Common problem on the 1117 firmware. Roll it back to an older official firmware and your problem should go away.

^This. But, it seems like you have already have tried flashing the older firmware.

name: Antminer-S9-all-201704270135-autofreq-user-Update2UBI-NF.tar.gz
sha-1: 0515029015ad8dcedb185367fc5f829851dc65ed

With latest firmware Fri Nov 17 17:57:49 CST 2017 I do Not see a Hardware Version and BMminer version and zero hashing on any of the boards

When I load up firmware version from April 2017 I see 2 boards and they hash but not on antpool only on nicehash.

It sounds like at least the other 2 boards should work now. Try unplugging the faulty board and see if the miner will hash natively using the other two.

Ignore scammers on Skype, Telegram, etc. I will only ever contact you via forum PMs. See profile for fingerprint.
BliksemMiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 24, 2018, 04:25:36 AM
 #4

The interesting thing is that there is zero hashing with the 1117 firmware and with April firmware only 2 boards work. What other previous versions do you recommend I try out?

Scared to fiddle in case they totally stop working.
tim-bc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 21


View Profile
April 28, 2018, 11:31:02 AM
 #5

The interesting thing is that there is zero hashing with the 1117 firmware and with April firmware only 2 boards work. What other previous versions do you recommend I try out?

Scared to fiddle in case they totally stop working.

I wouldn't try any other firmware besides the one from April. There's probably something wrong with the third board.

Ignore scammers on Skype, Telegram, etc. I will only ever contact you via forum PMs. See profile for fingerprint.
Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1005



View Profile
August 30, 2018, 01:47:14 PM
 #6

Guys, April firmware does not help me, still Error of set PIC FLASH addr... I tried completely different PSUs, I left only one hashing board connected to controller and to PSU, but still nothing.

Please help me somebody...  Sad

From Siberia with love!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Пpoфeccиoнaльнo зaнимaюcь paзвёpтывaниeм фepм (ASIC, GPU, BURST), oбopyдoвaниeм пoмeщeний для мaйнингa.
tim-bc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 21


View Profile
August 30, 2018, 06:26:44 PM
 #7

Probably something wrong with the hashboard.

You can always try using the package to fix fw upgrade, flash it to SD card, move the jumper pin and flash using microSD. (Flashing the april firmware of course).

Ignore scammers on Skype, Telegram, etc. I will only ever contact you via forum PMs. See profile for fingerprint.
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1032

Bitmain miners is getting worst.


View Profile WWW
August 30, 2018, 06:42:37 PM
 #8

Guys, April firmware does not help me, still Error of set PIC FLASH addr... I tried completely different PSUs, I left only one hashing board connected to controller and to PSU, but still nothing.

Please help me somebody...  Sad

It might be the control board is bricked since, the April firmware doesn't work the only way you can do now is to reflash the whole control board to fix the issue.

Please read this https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2386296.0

Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1005



View Profile
September 01, 2018, 09:22:46 AM
 #9

It might be the control board is bricked since, the April firmware doesn't work the only way you can do now is to reflash the whole control board to fix the issue.

Please read this https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2386296.0

Doesn't look like this. I can log in to web interface, I see the kernel Log, I can reboot the miner etc.

From Siberia with love!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Пpoфeccиoнaльнo зaнимaюcь paзвёpтывaниeм фepм (ASIC, GPU, BURST), oбopyдoвaниeм пoмeщeний для мaйнингa.
tim-bc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 21


View Profile
September 02, 2018, 02:56:31 AM
 #10

I see this issue almost daily. Usually rolling back the firmware will let you run while ignoring the issue.

If a board is zero you can replace the PIC with one from a spare board if you want to. Bitmain doesn't seem to sell spare PICs.

I have also seen the issue happen because of a faulty ribbon cable. Try replacing the ribbon cable to the board giving you the issue.

If you get the 413 error when flashing firmware, use a microSD to flash manually.

Ignore scammers on Skype, Telegram, etc. I will only ever contact you via forum PMs. See profile for fingerprint.
rainerwolfcastle1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 15, 2018, 02:37:58 AM
 #11

Hello BliksemMiner

I am Rainer and I am also a miner with an ANTMINER S9 of 13.50T and I have the same problem you have or had:

Code:
Check chain [5] PIC fw version = 0x00
chain [5] PIC need restore ...
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H = 3 (0) addr_L = 0 (0) on Chain [5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H = 3 (0) addr_L = 0 (0) on Chain [5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H = 3 (0) addr_L = 0 (0) on Chain [5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H = 3 (0) addr_L = 0 (0) on Chain [5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H = 3 (0) addr_L = 0 (0) on Chain [5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H = 3 (0) addr_L = 0 (0) on Chain [5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H = 3 (0) addr_L = 0 (0) on Chain [5]
Error of set PIC FLASH addr: addr_H = 3 (0) addr_L = 0 (0) on Chain [5]
After restore: chain [5] PIC fw version = 0x00

I would like to know how you did to solve the failure, since when updating the FIRMWARE it is not coencted but when changing for an anterior it only connects with two (2) cards and lowers the HASH rate.

You can help me please, if it is possible for you to send me the firmware you used or still present the flaw.

Atte.

Rainer
tim-bc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 21


View Profile
September 21, 2018, 02:06:36 PM
 #12

I would like to know how you did to solve the failure, since when updating the FIRMWARE it is not coencted but when changing for an anterior it only connects with two (2) cards and lowers the HASH rate.
Sounds like your PIC error is only on one board. Flashing the April firmware let you ignore that error and continue to mine with the other two boards.

If you want to, you can replace the PIC on the faulty board with one from a spare board if you want to. Bitmain doesn't seem to sell spare PICs. Also, try replacing the ribbon cable to the board giving you the issue.

Ignore scammers on Skype, Telegram, etc. I will only ever contact you via forum PMs. See profile for fingerprint.
Morescratch
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 21, 2018, 06:15:15 PM
 #13

Sounds like your PIC error is only on one board. Flashing the April firmware let you ignore that error and continue to mine with the other two boards.

If you want to, you can replace the PIC on the faulty board with one from a spare board if you want to. Bitmain doesn't seem to sell spare PICs. Also, try replacing the ribbon cable to the board giving you the issue.

Where can I find the April firmware?
thierry4wd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 12


View Profile
September 21, 2018, 09:40:41 PM
 #14

it's exactly the same problem as with my T9 +, see my subject;)

In your case, I am 99.9% sure that with the PicKit3 you bring back to life your card!

1: extract the HEX file from a functioning card
2: the reinjected into the card that does not work (FW 0X00)

Ps : the PicKit3, the cost is ~_ 25USD Wink
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1032

Bitmain miners is getting worst.


View Profile WWW
September 21, 2018, 11:43:44 PM
 #15

Where can I find the April firmware?

Have you tried to flash it with s9_fix_upgrade.tar.gz first before you flash it with other firmware? It might solve the issue.

But if it doesn't work you can try the april firmware just found it from here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3474618.msg36124081#msg36124081

it's exactly the same problem as with my T9 +, see my subject;)

In your case, I am 99.9% sure that with the PicKit3 you bring back to life your card!

1: extract the HEX file from a functioning card
2: the reinjected into the card that does not work (FW 0X00)

Ps : the PicKit3, the cost is ~_ 25USD Wink

I agree with this I found his thread from here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5032987.0 flashing the hashboard with working hex file might solve the issue.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!