Bitcoin Forum
July 22, 2017, 10:54:58 PM *
News: The warning which may be displayed by Bitcoin Core about unknown versions is related to BIP91, and can be safely ignored.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: AMI (amazon machine instance) miner?  (Read 2872 times)
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324



View Profile
February 15, 2011, 12:50:33 AM
 #1

Anyone had a go at this?

The underlying hardware available is GPU clusters (4gpu expandable to 8 per cluster):

22 GB of memory
33.5 EC2 Compute Units (2 x Intel Xeon X5570, quad-core “Nehalem” architecture)
2 x NVIDIA Tesla “Fermi” M2050 GPUs
1690 GB of instance storage
64-bit platform
I/O Performance: Very High (10 Gigabit Ethernet)

$2.10 per hour of each running "instance".

Seems like a bit of overhead in building the AMI to begin with ... and the whole thing OS, code will be running as a java virtual machine  Sad
So don't know how much access to low-level system functions, etc. And how good are the Nvidia Tesla GPUs at hashing anyway?

Though if you did get a AMI built you could then sell it to others who want to just push the button and go.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1500764098
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500764098

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500764098
Reply with quote  #2

1500764098
Report to moderator
1500764098
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500764098

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500764098
Reply with quote  #2

1500764098
Report to moderator
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 15, 2011, 12:53:51 AM
 #2

Just tested this out today. I got about 77MHPS / Tesla core using an OpenCL miner, which is far too low to justify running the box. I didn't test with Puddingpop's CUDA miner, though.

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1QGacAtYA7E8V3BAiM7sgvLg7PZHk5WnYc
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324



View Profile
February 15, 2011, 12:59:19 AM
 #3

lachesis: how serendipitous.

So that's 4x77Mhash/s , i.e. 308 Mhash/s for the 4gpu AMI cluster?

burtyb
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45



View Profile WWW
February 15, 2011, 08:10:05 PM
 #4

and the whole thing OS, code will be running as a java virtual machine  Sad

AWS Compute and GPU instances use HVM (Hardware Virtual Machine) - the cli tools are Java (but you don't have to use those).

BB

murasha
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


PHP developer


View Profile
February 15, 2011, 08:42:22 PM
 #5

oh I am trying to lauch both JAVA and Python miners for a whole day and cant bring them to work.
lachesis, can you make please a complete guide?

lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 16, 2011, 03:37:19 AM
 #6

lachesis, can you make please a complete guide?
Sorry, I don't really have time for that.

My hint would be to use a better AMI than the default, like the starcluster gpu one (ami-12b6477b), found here:
http://mailman.mit.edu/pipermail/starcluster/2010-December/000572.html.

However, I don't think it's worth it. First of all, there are only 2 GPUs as far as I can tell. Didn't see an option for a 4x GPU cluster. Furthermore, you'd need something like 1600 MHPS to justify the $2.10 cost / hour.

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1QGacAtYA7E8V3BAiM7sgvLg7PZHk5WnYc
jafo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
February 16, 2011, 04:22:33 AM
 #7

However, I don't think it's worth it. First of all, there are only 2 GPUs as far as I can tell. Didn't see an option for a 4x GPU cluster. Furthermore, you'd need something like 1600 MHPS to justify the $2.10 cost / hour.

I also came to the same conclusion, getting around 70Mhash/sec.  The route I took was rather crazy, because I had a tool-chain for Ubuntu Maverick, but the Maverick AMI didn't support the GPU machines, so I went with the CentOS AMI but I couldn't get the tools to build under CentOS.  So I built a Maverick chroot, which I copied over to the GPU machine running CentOS and ran the miner from that.

I also found there were 2 GPUs, it wasn't able to run with 4, although the specs for the cards used there seemed to imply that there were 2 GPUs per card, I didn't find that that was the case, at least from what was visible to me.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!