Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 09:52:35 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: AMI (amazon machine instance) miner?  (Read 2742 times)
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
February 15, 2011, 12:50:33 AM
 #1

Anyone had a go at this?

The underlying hardware available is GPU clusters (4gpu expandable to 8 per cluster):

22 GB of memory
33.5 EC2 Compute Units (2 x Intel Xeon X5570, quad-core “Nehalem” architecture)
2 x NVIDIA Tesla “Fermi” M2050 GPUs
1690 GB of instance storage
64-bit platform
I/O Performance: Very High (10 Gigabit Ethernet)

$2.10 per hour of each running "instance".

Seems like a bit of overhead in building the AMI to begin with ... and the whole thing OS, code will be running as a java virtual machine  Sad
So don't know how much access to low-level system functions, etc. And how good are the Nvidia Tesla GPUs at hashing anyway?

Though if you did get a AMI built you could then sell it to others who want to just push the button and go.

1480758755
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758755

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758755
Reply with quote  #2

1480758755
Report to moderator
1480758755
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758755

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758755
Reply with quote  #2

1480758755
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 15, 2011, 12:53:51 AM
 #2

Just tested this out today. I got about 77MHPS / Tesla core using an OpenCL miner, which is far too low to justify running the box. I didn't test with Puddingpop's CUDA miner, though.

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1QGacAtYA7E8V3BAiM7sgvLg7PZHk5WnYc
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
February 15, 2011, 12:59:19 AM
 #3

lachesis: how serendipitous.

So that's 4x77Mhash/s , i.e. 308 Mhash/s for the 4gpu AMI cluster?

burtyb
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45



View Profile WWW
February 15, 2011, 08:10:05 PM
 #4

and the whole thing OS, code will be running as a java virtual machine  Sad

AWS Compute and GPU instances use HVM (Hardware Virtual Machine) - the cli tools are Java (but you don't have to use those).

BB

murasha
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105


PHP developer


View Profile
February 15, 2011, 08:42:22 PM
 #5

oh I am trying to lauch both JAVA and Python miners for a whole day and cant bring them to work.
lachesis, can you make please a complete guide?

lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
February 16, 2011, 03:37:19 AM
 #6

lachesis, can you make please a complete guide?
Sorry, I don't really have time for that.

My hint would be to use a better AMI than the default, like the starcluster gpu one (ami-12b6477b), found here:
http://mailman.mit.edu/pipermail/starcluster/2010-December/000572.html.

However, I don't think it's worth it. First of all, there are only 2 GPUs as far as I can tell. Didn't see an option for a 4x GPU cluster. Furthermore, you'd need something like 1600 MHPS to justify the $2.10 cost / hour.

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1QGacAtYA7E8V3BAiM7sgvLg7PZHk5WnYc
jafo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
February 16, 2011, 04:22:33 AM
 #7

However, I don't think it's worth it. First of all, there are only 2 GPUs as far as I can tell. Didn't see an option for a 4x GPU cluster. Furthermore, you'd need something like 1600 MHPS to justify the $2.10 cost / hour.

I also came to the same conclusion, getting around 70Mhash/sec.  The route I took was rather crazy, because I had a tool-chain for Ubuntu Maverick, but the Maverick AMI didn't support the GPU machines, so I went with the CentOS AMI but I couldn't get the tools to build under CentOS.  So I built a Maverick chroot, which I copied over to the GPU machine running CentOS and ran the miner from that.

I also found there were 2 GPUs, it wasn't able to run with 4, although the specs for the cards used there seemed to imply that there were 2 GPUs per card, I didn't find that that was the case, at least from what was visible to me.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!