Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 02:01:00 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Problem with USB Asicminer Block Erupter 333 MHs  (Read 2510 times)
benjamin07
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 01:23:59 PM
 #1

Hi,

I am using Windows 8.1. I have purchased a USB Asicminer Block Erupter 333 MHs and I am trying to make it work.

I tired two approaches, they didn't work each in their own way. I need some help if you can please give me some pointers as to what may be wrong.

Approach #1: I followed this guide to the letter, using cgminer v3.1.1
http://bitcoinbtc.net/usb-asicminer-setup-how-to-setup-usb-asicminer-block-erupter/
The command line in this case is:
cgminer-nogpu.exe -o stratum+tcp://my.pool.com:myport -u myusername.worker -p anything --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM4


Approach #2: Instead of using the Silicon Labs driver 6.6.1.0, I downloaded and used zadig so that the device now appears under Universal Serial Bus Contollers group in device manager, isntead of under Ports when used with the Silicon labs driver.
Under this setting, the cgminer version 3.8.3 is supposed to automatically identify it, no need for all the parameters anymore, so the command line is (no more -nogpu):

cgminer.exe -o http://my.pool.com:myport -u myusername.worker -p anything

I was never able to get anything accepted. I tried the same miners in cpu and gpu modes, they are working and work got accepted, so internet connection and pool credentials are ok.

The dump is at the following imagebin: http://imagebin.org/279170

Thanks.
1513260060
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513260060

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513260060
Reply with quote  #2

1513260060
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
nachius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 01:36:58 PM
 #2

Is like.coin-pool an actual litecoin pool?  If so that is your problem.  USB Erupters/curren asics can only mine sha256 coins not scrypt coins.
benjamin07
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 09:04:11 PM
 #3

Hi,

Yes it was litecoin. Thanks very much. I tried it with Bitminter's Java miner v1.4.2, it worked for a while but now i'm getting:

Work rejected. Server says: Stale or alien proof of work.

After 6 hrs running, it got 0 BTC and a few milli NMCs

I'm getting additional hardware but wanted to know if you have in your case 24/7/365 no problems operation?

Thanks.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2013, 09:33:33 PM
 #4

These miners don't mine litecoin.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
benjamin07
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 09:58:53 PM
 #5

Yes noted and thanks for the reply. I had to try Bitminer java because cgminer 3.8.3 did not have a nogpu compiled executable and i went through your readme.txt and what i understood is thst i have to compile cgiminer myself with parameters to the compiler to make rhe output .exe file compatible with Asicminer. That is where it stops for me under Windows 8.1 Smiley

At the moment i just need to see it run problems free until a block is generated to confirm the hardware is working really properly. I do see the MHs and the accepted work elemenrs, the rejected one was 1 fron 250 which is ok(?) But now i got Stale or alien proof of work and i'll read more to see what can be done about it...
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2013, 10:02:40 PM
 #6

There is no need for a -nogpu executable with cgminer any more. They are all non-gpu builds because cgminer no longer supports GPU. Just use cgminer.exe

That said, the most common reason for devices not being detected on windows if you have installed the WinUSB driver with cgminer is trying to use usb3 slots.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
vm1990
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


bloginhell.me


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2013, 11:45:29 PM
 #7

There is no need for a -nogpu executable with cgminer any more. They are all non-gpu builds because cgminer no longer supports GPU. Just use cgminer.exe

That said, the most common reason for devices not being detected on windows if you have installed the WinUSB driver with cgminer is trying to use usb3 slots.

im dont fully agree with that. the number 1 issue is most guids for some reason dont involve the step of unplugging the miners and plugging them back in after using the zadig tool

▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
.JOIN THE CLUB !
 Bitcointalk.club
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
BLOG:  www.bloginhell.me        BTC: 192tyaiwWxJ2UhSxUCbQW4JuA3Le5CEhWH                 Free 5GB Storage Cloud.Bloginhell.me 
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!