Bitcoin Forum
January 23, 2020, 11:40:16 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Wallet Empty  (Read 1454 times)
bitcoin_jack
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 07, 2011, 07:02:14 PM
 #1

I had to reinstall the Bitcoin Software.  Not thinking of my wallet I went ahead with the reinstall. 
Now my wallet shows a balance of 0.00 bitcoins.  I realize its probably my fault, no big deal b/c its only like 0.5 or so BC. 
But the Odd thing is, it still shows my transaction history in every detail but with 0 confirmations.
Does that mean they will be confirmed at a later time and the wallet balance will return?
Do I have to do something to retrieve them?
Any help greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
1579822816
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579822816

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579822816
Reply with quote  #2

1579822816
Report to moderator
Once a transaction has 6 confirmations, it is extremely unlikely that an attacker without at least 50% of the network's computation power would be able to reverse it.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1579822816
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579822816

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579822816
Reply with quote  #2

1579822816
Report to moderator
kokjo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1000

You are WRONG!


View Profile
August 07, 2011, 07:05:02 PM
 #2

wait!
always wait!

you need to download the blocks

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves and wiser people so full of doubts." -Bertrand Russell
bitcoin_jack
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 07, 2011, 07:09:49 PM
 #3

Patience!  lol  Thanks.
Thats what I thought.
I just got it back up and running a couple hours ago.  So I have about 127K blocks and 39 connections.
kokjo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1000

You are WRONG!


View Profile
August 07, 2011, 07:11:51 PM
 #4

Patience!  lol  Thanks.
Thats what I thought.
I just got it back up and running a couple hours ago.  So I have about 127K blocks and 39 connections.
you need at least 140k

also doing a -rescan might help

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves and wiser people so full of doubts." -Bertrand Russell
bitcoin_jack
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 07, 2011, 07:16:13 PM
 #5

How is that done?
kokjo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1000

You are WRONG!


View Profile
August 07, 2011, 07:19:19 PM
 #6

Code:
bitcoin -rescan

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves and wiser people so full of doubts." -Bertrand Russell
bitcoin_jack
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 07, 2011, 07:37:51 PM
 #7

Yea, I'm a noob. 
Is that an option on the bitcoin software?
jwzguy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 07, 2011, 07:39:21 PM
 #8

Don't rescan until your client has downloaded the entire blockchain.
Vio
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 07, 2011, 08:07:56 PM
 #9

First time I tested bitcoin I had to wait 24hrs or something before the transaction and the money showed up.
bitcoin_jack
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 07, 2011, 08:45:36 PM
 #10

Thanks for the help.  5 of 6 transactions have been confirmed so it looks like everything is on track.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!