Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 02:08:00 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: MSI Afterburner how to start with mem underclock  (Read 4932 times)
fabrizziop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602



View Profile
August 15, 2011, 02:48:53 PM
 #1

Hi. I've bought two Sapphire 5830's, one was installed on my computer and other on a motherboard someone gifted to me, in a not-so-good case. I wanted to lower the last one's temperatures, and I can underclock the memory to 300 MHz in MSI Afterburner(first lower to 600, then to 300), but when I save the profile and restart MSI Afterburner the profile defaults to 1000 MHz memory, even though I load it. It doesn't happens when I lower memory just to 600 MHz and save profile and restart again, it happens when I do the trick to get to 300 MHz.

So, when I start the PC the memory gets to 600 MHz, and I want it to start at 300 MHz, so, what should I do? Keep in mind that the temperature difference is 8°C.
1481249280
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249280

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249280
Reply with quote  #2

1481249280
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
PiGames
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111



View Profile
August 15, 2011, 03:34:29 PM
 #2

On a related note. I'm using msi ab beta (not sure the release but it has better multi card support). Anyway.
I dropped my cards to 900core/250mem (6850s). And I get about 250mhash from each.
But. When looking at the graphs I see the mem clock is still pegged at 1000 for both cards ( although there is an increase in performance)
I'm thinking display bug? But has anyone else come across something similar? And is msi AB the norm for card tweaking?
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
August 15, 2011, 04:11:38 PM
 #3

Hi. I've bought two Sapphire 5830's, one was installed on my computer and other on a motherboard someone gifted to me, in a not-so-good case. I wanted to lower the last one's temperatures, and I can underclock the memory to 300 MHz in MSI Afterburner(first lower to 600, then to 300), but when I save the profile and restart MSI Afterburner the profile defaults to 1000 MHz memory, even though I load it. It doesn't happens when I lower memory just to 600 MHz and save profile and restart again, it happens when I do the trick to get to 300 MHz.

So, when I start the PC the memory gets to 600 MHz, and I want it to start at 300 MHz, so, what should I do? Keep in mind that the temperature difference is 8°C.

How do you have the MSIAfterburner.cfg set? Can you post your settings.
fabrizziop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602



View Profile
August 16, 2011, 02:14:28 AM
 #4

The only thing I've changed in the cfg file is the unofficial overclock settings, I pasted the EULA and selected unofficial overclock mode N°1. Anyway, here's a dump of the file:

Quote
[Properties]
ShowGeneralTab         = 1
ShowFanTab         = 1
ShowMonitoringTab      = 1
ShowOnScreenDisplayTab      = 1
ShowScreenCaptureTab      = 1
ShowVideoCaptureTab      = 1
ShowProfilesTab         = 1
ShowUserInterfaceTab      = 1

[Settings]
Skin             = compact.usf
StartMinimized         = 0
StartWithWindows      = 0
RememberSettings      = 0
FirstRun         = 1
FirstUserDefineClick      = 1
FirstServerRun         = 1
HwPollPeriod         = 1000
MMIOPageSize         = 4
PCIBusFilter         = -10h
ShowTooltips         = 1
ShowHints         = 1
PauseInSuspendedMode      = 1
CurrentGpu         = 0
Sync            = 1
AttachMonitoringWindow      = 1
MonitoringWindowOnTop      = 1
ShowPerformanceProfilerStatus   = 0
LCDFont            = font4x6.dat
LCDScrollTimerPeriod      = 30
UnlockVoltageControl      = 0
UnlockVoltageMonitoring      = 0
ShowOSDTime         = 0
RestoreAfterSuspendedMode   = 0
StartupViaTaskScheduler      = 1
StartupDelay         = 0
MinMonitoringGraphHeight   = -1
LocalizationDebugFlags      = 0
EnableLog         = 0
RecreateLog         = 0
LogPath            =
DontStopLoggingOnWriteFailure   = 0
LogLimit         = 10
ForceConstantVoltage      = 0
AllowCaptureVoltageDefaults   = 0
Link            = 1
UseDirectInputHotkeyHandler   = 1
SendToTrayOnClose      = 0
DataFilteringThreshold      = 10
ScreenCaptureFolder      =
ScreenCaptureFormat      = bmp
ScreenCaptureQuality      = 100
VideoCaptureFormat      = MJPG
VideoCaptureFolder      =
VideoCaptureQuality      = 85
VideoCaptureFramerate      = 30
VideoCaptureFramesize      = 2
VideoCaptureThreads      = FFFFFFFFh
FanSpeedReadbackDelay      = 1000
CaptureOSD         = 1

[ATIADLHAL]
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 1
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod   = 0

[NVAPIHAL]
ClockDomainIdWorkaround      = -1

Thanks in advance.
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
August 16, 2011, 03:25:17 AM
 #5

Try this. Instead of one, set it to two.

Code:
UnofficialOverclockingMode = 2

mikethebodacious
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64



View Profile
August 16, 2011, 04:02:40 AM
 #6

Pekv2 is right, that's all you need to fix the memory underclock.

tomba
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 06:51:31 AM
 #7

Try this. Instead of one, set it to two.

Code:
UnofficialOverclockingMode = 2


LOL, here I was running 2 progs at the same time (AMD GPU Clock tool and MSI Afterburner) to achieve the 300MHz underclock. Thank you so much !

[Update]
There seem to be 2 MSIAfterburner.cfg files, one in C:\Program Files (x86)\MSI Afterburner and one in C:\Program Files (x86)\MSI Afterburner\Profiles. I found the one that needs changing is C:\Program Files (x86)\MSI Afterburner\MSIAfterburner.cfg

If you appreciate my posts you can donate any number of Coins you like at
BTC 16MPWTomba4GUN1FU98DWmUKvVUr5ms3rs
LTC Lg15AdU4cYhfUttyd1n2LQYGNANkdqGWQ9
fabrizziop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602



View Profile
August 16, 2011, 12:48:13 PM
 #8

It didn't worked. With my older setting I could underclock memory to 300 MHz, but I want that when I start the PC, it gets to 300 MHz automatically, as where I live power outages are very common. It's the same by placing the overclock mode to 2. It's like if I save a profile with memory at 300 MHz, when I restart the PC it defaults, but when I save it with memory at 600 MHz it starts normally.

I really need this as temperatures are in 85°C range with 600 MHz(GPUZ hottest part) and in 80°C range at 300 MHz.
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
August 16, 2011, 02:41:15 PM
 #9

It didn't worked. With my older setting I could underclock memory to 300 MHz, but I want that when I start the PC, it gets to 300 MHz automatically, as where I live power outages are very common. It's the same by placing the overclock mode to 2. It's like if I save a profile with memory at 300 MHz, when I restart the PC it defaults, but when I save it with memory at 600 MHz it starts normally.

I really need this as temperatures are in 85°C range with 600 MHz(GPUZ hottest part) and in 80°C range at 300 MHz.

Ok, yea, all you need is one overclocking tool. Which version MSI afterburner are you using? Should be running the latest beta. My second suggestion would ask for you to try Trixx overclocking tool from sapphire. http://www.sapphireselectclub.com/ssc/TriXX/TriXX.aspx
fabrizziop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602



View Profile
August 16, 2011, 03:58:03 PM
 #10

I tried it but it doesn't set fan settings automatically on startup and it was buggy to me.

I just bought Clocktweak and made a batch file that ran it applying my clocks 120 seconds after windows starts, so that CCC applies my fan settings and then Clocktweak changes clocks. I have to to that because Clocktweak cannot change my 5770's fan speed. Now it works perfectly. Thread can be closed if mods like. Thanks to all of you.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!