Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 04:56:36 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin txns stuck at 0 confirms after wallet.dat restore  (Read 1828 times)
GideonGono
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 398


Long Live The FED


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2011, 11:56:51 AM
 #1

Hi,

I have a back up copy of an old wallet.dat that was on a machine that is not working. So I wanted to put it on my new bitcoin client (blank) on my new pc. I downloaded the btc client and deleted the empty wallet and replaced it with the one I want to recover. After I do that, I can see all the transactions from the backed-up wallet but everything is on 0 confirms and my balance is 0.00 even though it should be positive. Please help.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Graet
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
August 16, 2011, 12:10:31 PM
 #2

bottom right corner of wallet xxxxx Blocks
when it reaches 141185 (current) all will be good again
new wallets require the blockchain to be re-downloaded or backed up and restores

| Ozcoin Pooled Mining Pty Ltd https://ozcoin.net Double Geometric Reward System https://lc.ozcoin.net for Litecoin mining DGM| https://crowncloud.net VPS and Dedicated Servers for the BTC community
GideonGono
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 398


Long Live The FED


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2011, 02:01:16 PM
 #3

Yeah, the problem is that it's stuck on 0 connections and the block count is stuck on zero as well. It isn't downloading the block chain. How do I make it do so?

jackjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


May Bitcoin be touched by his Noodly Appendage


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 02:18:48 PM
 #4

If you don't have connection, check your firewall
As soon as you will have connections, you will download the blockchain

Own address: 19QkqAza7BHFTuoz9N8UQkryP4E9jHo4N3 - Pywallet support: 1AQDfx22pKGgXnUZFL1e4UKos3QqvRzNh5 - Bitcointalk++ script support: 1Pxeccscj1ygseTdSV1qUqQCanp2B2NMM2
Pywallet: instructions. Encrypted wallet support, export/import keys/addresses, backup wallets, export/import CSV data from/into wallet, merge wallets, delete/import addresses and transactions, recover altcoins sent to bitcoin addresses, sign/verify messages and files with Bitcoin addresses, recover deleted wallets, etc.
GideonGono
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 398


Long Live The FED


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2011, 02:37:47 PM
 #5

There is nothing wrong with my connection or firewall because when I started the bitcoin program (before replacing the wallet.dat file) it was downloading normally. This is only happening after I close the program and replace the empty wallet with the one I am recovering. Or am I not supposed to do this?

jackjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


May Bitcoin be touched by his Noodly Appendage


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 02:55:38 PM
 #6

Replacing wallets is ok, that's not the problem
Maybe you configured a proxy in your old wallet?

Own address: 19QkqAza7BHFTuoz9N8UQkryP4E9jHo4N3 - Pywallet support: 1AQDfx22pKGgXnUZFL1e4UKos3QqvRzNh5 - Bitcointalk++ script support: 1Pxeccscj1ygseTdSV1qUqQCanp2B2NMM2
Pywallet: instructions. Encrypted wallet support, export/import keys/addresses, backup wallets, export/import CSV data from/into wallet, merge wallets, delete/import addresses and transactions, recover altcoins sent to bitcoin addresses, sign/verify messages and files with Bitcoin addresses, recover deleted wallets, etc.
BookLover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 535


^Bitcoin Library of Congress.


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 03:55:49 PM
 #7

Have you put any addnode commands in your bitcoin.conf file?  They can really speed up the connection process.

GideonGono
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 398


Long Live The FED


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2011, 05:34:53 PM
 #8

Replacing wallets is ok, that's not the problem
Maybe you configured a proxy in your old wallet?

Have you put any addnode commands in your bitcoin.conf file?  They can really speed up the connection process.

How do I fix this?

BookLover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 535


^Bitcoin Library of Congress.


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 06:08:38 PM
 #9

Go to C/Users/your user account name/Appdata/Roaming/Bitcoin and put these lines in the bitcoin.conf file:

addnode=192.0.2.6
addnode=67.215.65.132
addnode=99.27.237.13
addnode=94.209.188.239
addnode=74.82.216.10
addnode=66.221.254.71
addnode=75.158.131.108
addnode=200.35.150.50

addnode=46.4.167.32
addnode=62.75.216.13
addnode=93.159.111.85
addnode=62.75.218.18
addnode=83.169.11.67
addnode=80.237.211.92
addnode=85.10.193.82
addnode=46.4.48.203
addnode=46.4.88.20

P.S. Appdata is a hidden file, to show hidden files go to folder options and deselect hide hidden folders.

GideonGono
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 398


Long Live The FED


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2011, 06:30:19 PM
 #10

Go to C/Users/your user account name/Appdata/Roaming/Bitcoin and put these lines in the bitcoin.conf file:

Sorry, forgot to mention I use ubuntu Tongue

jackjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


May Bitcoin be touched by his Noodly Appendage


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 06:38:24 PM
 #11

~/.bitcoin/bitcoin.conf

Edit: you replace your wallet.dat so you know where is bitcoin.conf I guess Grin

Own address: 19QkqAza7BHFTuoz9N8UQkryP4E9jHo4N3 - Pywallet support: 1AQDfx22pKGgXnUZFL1e4UKos3QqvRzNh5 - Bitcointalk++ script support: 1Pxeccscj1ygseTdSV1qUqQCanp2B2NMM2
Pywallet: instructions. Encrypted wallet support, export/import keys/addresses, backup wallets, export/import CSV data from/into wallet, merge wallets, delete/import addresses and transactions, recover altcoins sent to bitcoin addresses, sign/verify messages and files with Bitcoin addresses, recover deleted wallets, etc.
GideonGono
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 398


Long Live The FED


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2011, 04:59:00 AM
 #12

~/.bitcoin/bitcoin.conf

Edit: you replace your wallet.dat so you know where is bitcoin.conf I guess Grin

 Huh  I can't see bitcoin.conf, when I cd into ~/.bitcoin and run "ls -a" I get this:

ubuntu@ubuntu:~/.bitcoin$ ls -a
.         blk0001.dat   __db.001  __db.004  db.log     wallet.dat
..        blkindex.dat  __db.002  __db.005  debug.log
addr.dat  database      __db.003  __db.006  .lock


I tried running " $ nano ~/.bitcoin/bitcoin.conf"  - but it says it's a new file. BTW I'm using the latest version.

RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 792


Bite me


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 06:31:13 AM
 #13

create the file
I think it does not exist origannly - as there is no need

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
Maged
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 06:37:17 AM
 #14

Here's a sample file, if you want to see most of the options:
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin#Sample_Bitcoin.conf

GideonGono
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 398


Long Live The FED


View Profile WWW
August 19, 2011, 03:32:35 PM
 #15

I've tried both these, and still nothing  Huh

Here's a sample file, if you want to see most of the options:
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin#Sample_Bitcoin.conf

Go to C/Users/your user account name/Appdata/Roaming/Bitcoin and put these lines in the bitcoin.conf file:

addnode=192.0.2.6
addnode=67.215.65.132
addnode=99.27.237.13
addnode=94.209.188.239
addnode=74.82.216.10
addnode=66.221.254.71
addnode=75.158.131.108
addnode=200.35.150.50

addnode=46.4.167.32
addnode=62.75.216.13
addnode=93.159.111.85
addnode=62.75.218.18
addnode=83.169.11.67
addnode=80.237.211.92
addnode=85.10.193.82
addnode=46.4.48.203
addnode=46.4.88.20

P.S. Appdata is a hidden file, to show hidden files go to folder options and deselect hide hidden folders.

RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 792


Bite me


View Profile
August 20, 2011, 07:36:15 AM
 #16

stop the client
in .bitcoin
create bitcoin.conf
and put

addnode=192.0.2.6
addnode=67.215.65.132
addnode=99.27.237.13
addnode=94.209.188.239
addnode=74.82.216.10
addnode=66.221.254.71
addnode=75.158.131.108
addnode=200.35.150.50

addnode=46.4.167.32
addnode=62.75.216.13
addnode=93.159.111.85
addnode=62.75.218.18
addnode=83.169.11.67
addnode=80.237.211.92
addnode=85.10.193.82
addnode=46.4.48.203
addnode=46.4.88.20

that in
restart the client

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
BookLover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 535


^Bitcoin Library of Congress.


View Profile
August 20, 2011, 01:26:13 PM
 #17

I don't know much about Ubuntu, but I have some ideas of what might be wrong.  Did you put this file in the same one which your wallet is in by default, and do you have file extensions enabled for known file types?

P.S. How long have you tried to connect before turning off the client, on a bad day it can still take ~20 min.

GideonGono
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 398


Long Live The FED


View Profile WWW
August 25, 2011, 12:31:42 PM
 #18

I don't know much about Ubuntu, but I have some ideas of what might be wrong.  Did you put this file in the same one which your wallet is in by default, and do you have file extensions enabled for known file types?

P.S. How long have you tried to connect before turning off the client, on a bad day it can still take ~20 min.

Yes it's in the same folder as that which the wallet is in by default. I don't know if Linux has an "enable file extensions for know file types" option.

It has been on for 10min now, I'll leave it for a while longer. Before, I was canceling it after ~5min. But it doesn't seem to do doing anything though, still 0 blocks, 0 connections, but all my transactions are showing.

stop the client
in .bitcoin
create bitcoin.conf
and put

addnode=192.0.2.6
addnode=67.215.65.132
addnode=99.27.237.13
addnode=94.209.188.239
addnode=74.82.216.10
addnode=66.221.254.71
addnode=75.158.131.108
addnode=200.35.150.50

addnode=46.4.167.32
addnode=62.75.216.13
addnode=93.159.111.85
addnode=62.75.218.18
addnode=83.169.11.67
addnode=80.237.211.92
addnode=85.10.193.82
addnode=46.4.48.203
addnode=46.4.88.20

that in
restart the client

That is exactly what I did. Same thing with the sample bitcoin.conf suggested by Maged...

Here's a sample file, if you want to see most of the options:
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin#Sample_Bitcoin.conf

...but still nothing  Cry

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!