Bitcoin Forum
March 05, 2021, 04:59:11 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 3 r9 290 on one PSU  (Read 1646 times)
phaddie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 06, 2014, 03:49:19 AM
 #1

Hey guys,

  I want to run 3 r9 290 on one PSU.  I assume I can do this I am just abit stumped about which power supplies I should be looking at.  I of course want to minimize costs.

  Thank you in advance

  Phad.
1614920351
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614920351

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614920351
Reply with quote  #2

1614920351
Report to moderator
1614920351
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614920351

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614920351
Reply with quote  #2

1614920351
Report to moderator
1614920351
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614920351

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614920351
Reply with quote  #2

1614920351
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Jayson6969
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 06, 2014, 07:41:13 AM
 #2

1000 watt psu depending on 300~ per GPU, thats just cutting it get bigger amount if you are hooking more things to the mobo, like hd, etc...
howardb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 06, 2014, 09:13:49 AM
 #3

1000 watt psu depending on 300~ per GPU, thats just cutting it get bigger amount if you are hooking more things to the mobo, like hd, etc...

The EVGA 1300w seems to be fairly common for the big cards, you could run 4 x R9 280x with one of them.
phaddie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 06, 2014, 03:40:36 PM
 #4

What about the silverstone ST1500, It is a silver rated 1500W unit.  It looks like if this is a decent unit it would power 4 of these cards.

  Thoughts?
renodaret
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 06, 2014, 06:56:42 PM
 #5

rosewill 1300watt psu is my goto psu when building a new miner. it can support 4 cards no problem.
phaddie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 06, 2014, 07:04:59 PM
 #6

Thank you.  IT seems a 1300W unit would not power 4 290's though.  I think they pull ~300 each card.  It leaves virtually no heardroom for cpu/mb/ram.

ajax3592
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100

Crypto News & Tutorials - Coinramble.com


View Profile
January 06, 2014, 08:32:28 PM
 #7

I'm in the same boat. Confirmed with 290 users that it pulls 325w when OCed. So not possible to run 4 cards on 1300w psu.

I'm going to buy 4x 290s.

Thinking of going with 1200w for 3x cards and one 550w for the fourth card.

Crypto news/tutorials >>CoinRamble<<                            >>Netcodepool<<                >>My graphics<<
phaddie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 06, 2014, 08:52:32 PM
 #8

There is a few 1500's which I think might do it.  I am hoping to get 4 to run on one unit, just to keep the rig simple.  I was hoping someone had tried it and could recommend a unit.  I am not skilled at "reading between the lines" on PSU specs. I am aware they are not all the same, single vs multiple rails, etc.  I am just not confident I can make the most informed choice.  Usually I just buy a well reviewed expensive unit, however since this is for mining, I want to invest as little as possible...

  Phad.
howardb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 06, 2014, 09:25:01 PM
Last edit: January 06, 2014, 09:56:34 PM by howardb
 #9

Thank you.  IT seems a 1300W unit would not power 4 290's though.  I think they pull ~300 each card.  It leaves virtually no heardroom for cpu/mb/ram.


Actually depends on whether you undervolt or not. I'm running 2 x Asus R9 280x per board at moment (Which are voltage locked), and at the wall, with 60w system overhead, they pull 650w,  ie about 295w each, so the 1300w for four cards would probably be running too close to capacity for long periods, though you have to remember the ratings are AT THE RAIL, so a 1300w will probably go to 1430w at the wall.
 
I'm actually going with twin Seasonic 850's per rig, I like to leave lots of headroom, it also keeps the cabling easier (No splitters required).
phaddie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 06, 2014, 09:41:09 PM
 #10

Thanks guys.  Another quick question.  MY current cards is running at 870 Kh/s but the wu is only at 750. Is this a normal difference? And I think my saphire r9 290 is voltage locked as well.
suchnoob
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 06, 2014, 09:47:23 PM
 #11

wu depends on your rejects. Try lowering the intensity to 18. The less rejects you have, the closer wu will be to actual hashrate.
JCviggen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 505


Oikos.cash | Decentralized Finance on Tron


View Profile
January 06, 2014, 10:02:27 PM
 #12

At 1.00V actual GPU voltage, GPU-z and HWinfo report around 150W (input) for my watercooled 290 at 790 kh (911/1250). Looking at GPU temps that's fairly plausible, exactly the same temp as my 7970 did at 98W core +42W memory.

I run 4 7970s per Corsair 850 PSU for months now, I think 4 290s would be easy on a 1000W as long as you run them in efficiency mode like this.

All reference boards have voltage control, if its disabled by BIOS just flash the damn thing.


█▀█ █ █▄▀ █▀█ █▀ ░ █▀▀ ▄▀█ █▀ █░█
█▄█ █ █░█ █▄█ ▄█ ▄ █▄▄ █▀█ ▄█ █▀█



DeFi on Tron
and trustless token exchange
█████











█████

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████

JOIN OIKOS

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████

█████
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
█████
TehLuNaTiC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
January 07, 2014, 12:00:26 AM
 #13

I've got 3 x R9 290 on a BeQuiet 850w Dark Pro 10 psu
phaddie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 12:54:55 AM
 #14

At 1.00V actual GPU voltage, GPU-z and HWinfo report around 150W (input) for my watercooled 290 at 790 kh (911/1250). Looking at GPU temps that's fairly plausible, exactly the same temp as my 7970 did at 98W core +42W memory.

I run 4 7970s per Corsair 850 PSU for months now, I think 4 290s would be easy on a 1000W as long as you run them in efficiency mode like this.

All reference boards have voltage control, if its disabled by BIOS just flash the damn thing.

 It seems my googling is not that effective.  I cannot see how to flash these sapphire cards to a different bios.
JCviggen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 505


Oikos.cash | Decentralized Finance on Tron


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 08:49:16 AM
 #15

At 1.00V actual GPU voltage, GPU-z and HWinfo report around 150W (input) for my watercooled 290 at 790 kh (911/1250). Looking at GPU temps that's fairly plausible, exactly the same temp as my 7970 did at 98W core +42W memory.

I run 4 7970s per Corsair 850 PSU for months now, I think 4 290s would be easy on a 1000W as long as you run them in efficiency mode like this.

All reference boards have voltage control, if its disabled by BIOS just flash the damn thing.

 It seems my googling is not that effective.  I cannot see how to flash these sapphire cards to a different bios.

http://www.overclock.net/t/1443242/the-r9-290-290x-unlock-thread


█▀█ █ █▄▀ █▀█ █▀ ░ █▀▀ ▄▀█ █▀ █░█
█▄█ █ █░█ █▄█ ▄█ ▄ █▄▄ █▀█ ▄█ █▀█



DeFi on Tron
and trustless token exchange
█████











█████

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████

JOIN OIKOS

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████

█████
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
    █
█████
phaddie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 12:20:04 PM
 #16

Cheers.
vrm86
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 678
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 01:42:16 PM
 #17

I've got OCZ ZX Series 1250W (104A @ 12V line) and I'm going to buy 4th r9 280x.
roo7er
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 07:05:04 PM
 #18

I am using 3x powercolor r9 290 on FSP AURUM PRO 80PLUS GOLD 1000W so far so good
phaddie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 08:38:57 PM
 #19

What setting are you using to get to 890 on this card?  Best I can do is 860.

  Phad.
TehLuNaTiC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
January 08, 2014, 12:11:55 AM
 #20

it will be helpfull if u post ur config file
thanx
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!