Bitcoin Forum
February 21, 2019, 11:26:06 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: ruining 2 gpu's without powered risers???  (Read 483 times)
ibrahim11
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 771
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 06, 2014, 10:42:39 PM
 #1

Hi, I was wondering if I could run my 7950 and the 280x straight off my extreme4 970 mobo without frying it.  Is this possible?
1550791566
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550791566

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550791566
Reply with quote  #2

1550791566
Report to moderator
Your Bitcoin transactions
The Ultimate Bitcoin mixer
made truly anonymous.
with an advanced technology.
Mix coins
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1550791566
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550791566

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550791566
Reply with quote  #2

1550791566
Report to moderator
1550791566
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550791566

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550791566
Reply with quote  #2

1550791566
Report to moderator
1550791566
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550791566

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550791566
Reply with quote  #2

1550791566
Report to moderator
vm1990
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1002


bloginhell.me


View Profile WWW
January 07, 2014, 01:53:49 AM
 #2

if your using x16 to x16 risers then your pretty safe with unpowerd ones

▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
.JOIN THE CLUB !
 Bitcointalk.club
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
BLOG:  www.randomlyironic.xyz     BTC: 192tyaiwWxJ2UhSxUCbQW4JuA3Le5CEhWH
ibrahim11
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 771
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 09:41:43 PM
 #3

if your using x16 to x16 risers then your pretty safe with unpowerd ones

I mean, can i connect to mobo without any risers???
nachius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 09:48:38 PM
 #4

Yes as long as the power supply is adequate.
Kenshin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 09:50:04 PM
 #5

if your using x16 to x16 risers then your pretty safe with unpowerd ones

I mean, can i connect to mobo without any risers???

Make sure you have have cooling.
ibrahim11
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 771
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 10:46:51 PM
 #6

Yes as long as the power supply is adequate.
if your using x16 to x16 risers then your pretty safe with unpowerd ones

I mean, can i connect to mobo without any risers???

Make sure you have have cooling.

I have a 750w corasir rm.  I can use a normal desktop fan can't I?
nachius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:33:08 PM
 #7

Power supply should be fine.  Most mining software will let you monitor the gpu temps if they consistently push over 90*C they are getting too hot. Type of fan really doesn't matter as long as it is moving the hot air away from the cards.
ibrahim11
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 771
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:40:45 PM
 #8

Power supply should be fine.  Most mining software will let you monitor the gpu temps if they consistently push over 90*C they are getting too hot. Type of fan really doesn't matter as long as it is moving the hot air away from the cards.
If I over clock a little will it damage the psu?

How can I monitor how much the components are asking from the psu.  I have a watt meter but that will only tell me how much the psu is using.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!