Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2017, 03:53:14 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [cgminer help] Not detecting all my GPUs  (Read 15529 times)
SlapHappy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
September 03, 2011, 04:53:46 PM
 #1

I'm a newbie so I can only post here.  Could someone please cross post a reference to this help request in the cgminer thread?  Thanks.

cgminer thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.0

I'm using cgminer on a Windows 7 x64 system and so far so good.  I started out with two NVIDA cards, a 260 and a 460, and cgminer would recognize and use both card with no problem.  I recently pulled out the 260 and installed two HD 5770s.  I now have 1x460 + 2x5770 installed in my system.

After adding the new card cgminer no longer detects the 460 card, just the two 5770s.  Is this a bug in cgminer or do I need to do something to get it to recognize the 460 card?

Thanks in advance.
1513396394
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513396394

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513396394
Reply with quote  #2

1513396394
Report to moderator
1513396394
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513396394

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513396394
Reply with quote  #2

1513396394
Report to moderator
1513396394
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513396394

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513396394
Reply with quote  #2

1513396394
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
SlapHappy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 06:32:55 PM
 #2

I'm beginning to suspect the issue is the different OpenCL implementations between AMD and nVidia,  I suspect either my operating system or cgminer can only use one OpenCL implementation at a time so it's only able to use one brand of GPU at a time.  Anyone know if this is true or not?
TeaL
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
September 04, 2011, 07:42:53 PM
 #3

Not to be a dick, but it's only really worth mining with the ATI cards. Additionally, you should be able to point a different instance of CG miner (or any other miner) at a specific GPU.

To live is the rarest thing in the world, most people simply exist.
Helpful? ~ 1D3674hkatc4qQBjioWniF6epCmvAEQ45S
https://deepbit.net/userbar/4de68def8161972437000002_f1c525313c.png
Free as in Freedom.
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 161


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 07:52:32 PM
 #4

Not to be a dick, but it's only really worth mining with the ATI cards. Additionally, you should be able to point a different instance of CG miner (or any other miner) at a specific GPU.
Your wrong, usually you need 1 instance of CGMiner.

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
TeaL
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
September 04, 2011, 08:01:49 PM
 #5

Not to be a dick, but it's only really worth mining with the ATI cards. Additionally, you should be able to point a different instance of CG miner (or any other miner) at a specific GPU.
Your wrong, usually you need 1 instance of CGMiner.

I know, I was providing an alternate method to use all of his GPUs, even if a single instance of CG miner cannot detect all of them. He should be able to see if the 460 is detected by running poclbm.py with no additional parameters. If it was still failing to see all of them and he was using Linux I'd try setting export DISPLAY=:0

To live is the rarest thing in the world, most people simply exist.
Helpful? ~ 1D3674hkatc4qQBjioWniF6epCmvAEQ45S
https://deepbit.net/userbar/4de68def8161972437000002_f1c525313c.png
Free as in Freedom.
SlapHappy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 09:29:07 PM
 #6

Thanks for the comments.

I understand the AMD cards are going to perform much better than the nVidia card - that's what I added them  Wink.  But since the 460 is already in my system I'd like to put it to use anyway.

I tried using both the poclbm and phatk kernels but cgminer still only sees the two AMD cards.  Even if I just tell cgminer to list the cards and exit it only reports two cards:

C:\BitCoin\cgminer-1.6.2-win32>cgminer -ndevs
2 GPU devices detected


Any other suggestions for how I might get cgminer to use my 460 card are appreciated.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 05, 2011, 07:43:15 AM
 #7

Thanks for the comments.

I understand the AMD cards are going to perform much better than the nVidia card - that's what I added them  Wink.  But since the 460 is already in my system I'd like to put it to use anyway.

I tried using both the poclbm and phatk kernels but cgminer still only sees the two AMD cards.  Even if I just tell cgminer to list the cards and exit it only reports two cards:

C:\BitCoin\cgminer-1.6.2-win32>cgminer -ndevs
2 GPU devices detected


Any other suggestions for how I might get cgminer to use my 460 card are appreciated.
What happens if you run cgminer with the 2x5770s working normally and then run in another window a 2nd "cgminer -ndevs" after the first is running?

Just a guess, but that's basically what TeaL was saying and I'm wondering if it can't get at the 2x5770s if it will then see the 460?
(no idea just a suggestion to try)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 161


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
September 05, 2011, 08:04:34 AM
 #8

Oh, how could I have forget this? If the nVidia driver detects a non-nVidia driver, it does disable some functions, like PhysX, maybe it's disabling OpenCL to! To resolve that problem, you should visit this site:

http://www.ngohq.com/graphic-cards/17706-hybrid-physx-mod-v1-03-v1-04ff.html

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!