Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 11:52:03 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [WTB] - AMD Motherboards - 5 to 7 PCIe slots  (Read 5799 times)
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1937



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 03:47:33 AM
 #1

Looking to buy AMD motherboards with 5 to 7 PCIe slots. Any combo of 1x to 16x slots, just as long as there are 5 to 7 total.

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - 2Pacs in stock!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513381923
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513381923

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513381923
Reply with quote  #2

1513381923
Report to moderator
1513381923
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513381923

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513381923
Reply with quote  #2

1513381923
Report to moderator
1513381923
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513381923

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513381923
Reply with quote  #2

1513381923
Report to moderator
logansryche
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 04:02:24 AM
 #2

heh.. you and I are looking for the same thing. Only thing I've been able to find that's close that you can use all at x16 or x8, is this http://www.fullcompass.com/product/393427.html expensive I know, but it's all I've been able to find. I know MSI released a board last month that has 8 slots on it, only 4 can be used a x16 and 4 at x8.

Hope this helps.
-Matt
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1937



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 04:30:32 AM
 #3

heh.. you and I are looking for the same thing. Only thing I've been able to find that's close that you can use all at x16 or x8, is this http://www.fullcompass.com/product/393427.html expensive I know, but it's all I've been able to find. I know MSI released a board last month that has 8 slots on it, only 4 can be used a x16 and 4 at x8.

Hope this helps.
-Matt
Woah! I like how they throw "cost effective" in there. Seriously though, there's no reason to run your cards at 8x or 16x, unless you're gaming. I've got a cheap ud3 with 2 16x, 2 4x and 2 1x slots. I'm currently using 5 out of 6 slots with all hashing at full speed (Waiting on a 6th extender.) UD5 has 7 total slots and it's $179 brand new. I was hoping someone may be selling their used MBs with at least 5 slots, 1x to 16x, doesn't matter. 8 would be great but I don't think there are many out there.

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - 2Pacs in stock!
logansryche
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 04:37:42 AM
 #4

Not that i'm aware of.
mb300sd
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260

Drunk Posts


View Profile WWW
September 06, 2011, 04:45:01 AM
 #5

Theres always the PCI to PCIe converters, I'm considering getting 3 to fully utilize my motherboard... Their a bit expensive, but its a lot cheaper than a new board, new ram, and a new CPU. Not sure about power draw, but I solder SMT chips every day, so cutting some power traces and adding a molex to a board isn't a big deal.

1D7FJWRzeKa4SLmTznd3JpeNU13L1ErEco
BitPorium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 578


View Profile
September 06, 2011, 04:50:54 AM
 #6

This is the one I use in my rig. Great board
https://bitporium.com/components/mother-boards/msi-890fxa-gd65-890-am3 ~$159
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1937



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 05:01:59 AM
 #7

This is the one I use in my rig. Great board
https://bitporium.com/components/mother-boards/msi-890fxa-gd65-890-am3 ~$159
Not bad, UD3s going for $149 with free ship on new egg at the moment. Anyone want to get rid of some used Motherboards? I've got some BTC burning a hole in my digital pocket.

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - 2Pacs in stock!
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1937



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 05:03:10 AM
 #8

Theres always the PCI to PCIe converters, I'm considering getting 3 to fully utilize my motherboard... Their a bit expensive, but its a lot cheaper than a new board, new ram, and a new CPU. Not sure about power draw, but I solder SMT chips every day, so cutting some power traces and adding a molex to a board isn't a big deal.
Do those work pretty well? Require any special drivers? How much do the converters usually go for? These will be for brand new mining rigs but if I can get a motherboard with 2 PCIe and 3 pci for 50 bucks, and converters aren't that expensive, might not be a bad idea.

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - 2Pacs in stock!
logansryche
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 05:05:23 AM
 #9

I'd be interested in those as well.. beats the alternative I laid out lol.
Christian Pezza
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 05:14:13 AM
 #10

what OS you will run with? Win or Lunux?

If you like this tread consider to donate some to https://bitcointalk.org/donate.html
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1937



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 05:20:03 AM
 #11

Linuxcoin

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - 2Pacs in stock!
xurious
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
September 06, 2011, 05:25:06 AM
 #12

Theres always the PCI to PCIe converters, I'm considering getting 3 to fully utilize my motherboard... Their a bit expensive, but its a lot cheaper than a new board, new ram, and a new CPU. Not sure about power draw, but I solder SMT chips every day, so cutting some power traces and adding a molex to a board isn't a big deal.

That's 90 dollars (last ones I saw where 30 each) just in extenders. You can get a complete second board, cpu and ram for 90 dollars.(albeit not new). Or just sell your main and get a better with more slots.

SiaMining.com -- First PPS SiaMining Pool! 3%, VarDiff, Stratum Support
mb300sd
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260

Drunk Posts


View Profile WWW
September 06, 2011, 05:25:55 AM
 #13

Theres always the PCI to PCIe converters, I'm considering getting 3 to fully utilize my motherboard... Their a bit expensive, but its a lot cheaper than a new board, new ram, and a new CPU. Not sure about power draw, but I solder SMT chips every day, so cutting some power traces and adding a molex to a board isn't a big deal.
Do those work pretty well? Require any special drivers? How much do the converters usually go for? These will be for brand new mining rigs but if I can get a motherboard with 2 PCIe and 3 pci for 50 bucks, and converters aren't that expensive, might not be a bad idea.

I haven't tried it yet, haven't used up my PCIe slots and with the current BTC price drops, I don't think I ever will.

I'm using a board I had sitting around, with 4x PCIe and 3x PCI. I think their completely worth it when you can get really cheap or free board to support 7 cards. I'm not sure if they'll work with a no-PCIe motherboard, but I'll test it on my old Pentium 3 when it shows up. I'll make it my primary mining rig just for laughs if it works Cheesy

http://www.ebay.com/itm/PCI-E-Expresscard-X1-X4-X8-X16-PCI-Card-Adapter-New-/180645720134?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_2&hash=item2a0f52f046#ht_2781wt_952

1D7FJWRzeKa4SLmTznd3JpeNU13L1ErEco
xurious
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
September 06, 2011, 05:27:03 AM
 #14

Theres always the PCI to PCIe converters, I'm considering getting 3 to fully utilize my motherboard... Their a bit expensive, but its a lot cheaper than a new board, new ram, and a new CPU. Not sure about power draw, but I solder SMT chips every day, so cutting some power traces and adding a molex to a board isn't a big deal.

That's 90 dollars (last ones I saw where 30 each) just in extenders. You can get a complete second board, cpu and ram for 90 dollars.(albeit not new). Or just sell your main and get a better with more slots.

Should mention any 780i board can be picked up for around $80, a p4 socket 775 chip for $5, 4x 256 ddr2 for maybe 10 bucks.

SiaMining.com -- First PPS SiaMining Pool! 3%, VarDiff, Stratum Support
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
September 06, 2011, 06:15:54 AM
 #15

Theres always the PCI to PCIe converters, I'm considering getting 3 to fully utilize my motherboard... Their a bit expensive, but its a lot cheaper than a new board, new ram, and a new CPU. Not sure about power draw, but I solder SMT chips every day, so cutting some power traces and adding a molex to a board isn't a big deal.

You can only use ONE. You will blow up your board.
mb300sd
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260

Drunk Posts


View Profile WWW
September 06, 2011, 06:23:21 AM
 #16

Theres always the PCI to PCIe converters, I'm considering getting 3 to fully utilize my motherboard... Their a bit expensive, but its a lot cheaper than a new board, new ram, and a new CPU. Not sure about power draw, but I solder SMT chips every day, so cutting some power traces and adding a molex to a board isn't a big deal.

You can only use ONE. You will blow up your board.

Isn't the reason because the PCI slot cannot supply enough power? I have no problems modifying the converter to supply the GPU power from a molex, and/or using an extender with a molex.

1D7FJWRzeKa4SLmTznd3JpeNU13L1ErEco
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
September 06, 2011, 06:36:46 AM
 #17

Quote
Isn't the reason because the PCI slot cannot supply enough power? I have no problems modifying the converter to supply the GPU power from a molex, and/or using an extender with a molex.

You know I thought the same thing, but its not the case. For some reason when running two of these card adapters while mining, it will just fry out the whole slot. I have this confirmed from 2 others as well. One was trying to run 4 at once, the other was running 2 like my self.
inh
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
September 06, 2011, 11:25:35 AM
 #18

I've got a couple different types for sale: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=37133.0
mb300sd
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260

Drunk Posts


View Profile WWW
September 06, 2011, 02:33:52 PM
 #19

Quote
Isn't the reason because the PCI slot cannot supply enough power? I have no problems modifying the converter to supply the GPU power from a molex, and/or using an extender with a molex.

You know I thought the same thing, but its not the case. For some reason when running two of these card adapters while mining, it will just fry out the whole slot. I have this confirmed from 2 others as well. One was trying to run 4 at once, the other was running 2 like my self.

Strange. Do you know what fried? Maybe the 5v or 3.3v rails?

1D7FJWRzeKa4SLmTznd3JpeNU13L1ErEco
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!