Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 11:50:32 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Lowering mem clock to idle speeds SPEEDS UP Mh/s  (Read 37367 times)
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
April 21, 2011, 01:44:53 PM
 #61

if you're overclocking ... you're already losing your warranty

Not always. Some companies (like XFX & EVGA) will let you overclock and still honor your warranty.


1481284232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284232
Reply with quote  #2

1481284232
Report to moderator
1481284232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284232
Reply with quote  #2

1481284232
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481284232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284232
Reply with quote  #2

1481284232
Report to moderator
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
April 23, 2011, 04:15:02 PM
 #62

doesn't matter, they can't find out you were overclocking unless you do something obviously stupid to show them you were.

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
rezin777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
April 23, 2011, 04:23:19 PM
 #63

doesn't matter, they can't find out you were overclocking unless you do something obviously stupid to show them you were.

Of course if you try to return a card that you damaged by overclocking, and this is not covered by the warranty, you would be committing fraud.
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
April 23, 2011, 04:27:11 PM
 #64

yes, but if it was not damaged by OCing, but I did OC it, I wouldn't feel bad by committing "fraud" to get a replacement... I never had to though, all the cards I've owned are Reference design XFX cards

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
Clavulanic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 03:01:39 AM
 #65

Wow, I dropped my 5870 memory clock to from 1200 MHz to 180MHz and saw an increase of 4-7Mhash/s. More importantly my temperatures dropped by 10C.
jarly
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 03:08:26 AM
 #66

I can get my memory clock on my 5750 down to 575 MHz after restarting Afterburner once, but I can't get it to go down any further. Got tips?

By the way, I was able to push my core clock all the way from 700 to 870, gain about 40 MHash/s, and lower my temps by almost 20 degrees Celsius Cheesy

Use Eligius? Want to see your stats? Head over to coin-control.appspot.com
Donate to 1DhFR2vR6w17BVzowKuySjzWXmP9ap29jA Smiley
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 03:09:54 AM
 #67

Wow, I dropped my 5870 memory clock to from 1200 MHz to 180MHz and saw an increase of 4-7Mhash/s. More importantly my temperatures dropped by 10C.

Don't drop mem clock below 300 Mhz. If u increase it to 300 Mhz, u will see more gain.
my trick is to use core clock/3 + 14= mem clk gives maximum hash.

If your core clock is 990, then 990/3 + 14 = 344 gives u maximum hash/s &  of course 10 C drop in temp.
slurch
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile WWW
May 05, 2011, 03:13:14 AM
 #68

Wow, I dropped my 5870 memory clock to from 1200 MHz to 180MHz and saw an increase of 4-7Mhash/s. More importantly my temperatures dropped by 10C.

Don't drop mem clock below 300 Mhz. If u increase it to 300 Mhz, u will see more gain.
my trick is to use core clock/3 + 14= mem clk gives maximum hash.

If your core clock is 990, then 990/3 + 14 = 344 gives u maximum hash/s &  of course 10 C drop in temp.

I remember you saying that when I first joined the forum a few weeks ago. No matter how hard I try, 960/390 is the best stable config I can get away with on my 5830. It drives me nuts. I can usually get it to run at 380 on Memory Clock for a bit, or 970 on Core, but it always just ends up freezing or crashing the drivers for the card. If I tried to drop my clock to 334 (per your equation), my computer would die outright. Win 7 64. What am I doing wrong? Tongue

Donations accepted at: 1AXKzVc1tTmfC6VkWwBNSzKqThqhwsC5mY
For what, I have no idea...
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 03:14:46 AM
 #69

I can get my memory clock on my 5750 down to 575 MHz after restarting Afterburner once, but I can't get it to go down any further. Got tips?

By the way, I was able to push my core clock all the way from 700 to 870, gain about 40 MHash/s, and lower my temps by almost 20 degrees Celsius Cheesy

Exit/close MSI afterburner completely
Open with notepad the following file
C:\Program Files\MSI Afterburner\MSIAfterburner.cfg

Go to end & u will see.
[ATIADLHAL]
blah, blah....
[NVAPIHAL]

Replace
[ATIADLHAL]
blah, blah....   with


[ATIADLHAL]
EnableUnofficialOverclocking   = 1
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 2
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod   = 0

Restart Afterburner, now u can move as u want in core, mem clk's
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 03:21:24 AM
 #70

Wow, I dropped my 5870 memory clock to from 1200 MHz to 180MHz and saw an increase of 4-7Mhash/s. More importantly my temperatures dropped by 10C.

Don't drop mem clock below 300 Mhz. If u increase it to 300 Mhz, u will see more gain.
my trick is to use core clock/3 + 14= mem clk gives maximum hash.

If your core clock is 990, then 990/3 + 14 = 344 gives u maximum hash/s &  of course 10 C drop in temp.

I remember you saying that when I first joined the forum a few weeks ago. No matter how hard I try, 960/390 is the best stable config I can get away with on my 5830. It drives me nuts. I can usually get it to run at 380 on Memory Clock for a bit, or 970 on Core, but it always just ends up freezing or crashing the drivers for the card. If I tried to drop my clock to 334 (per your equation), my computer would die outright. Win 7 64. What am I doing wrong? Tongue

If u installed catalyst control center uninstall it. It won't allow to go more & interfere.
Just install this 4 only for mining. Some times even VC++ not necessary.
ATI display driver, ATI catalyst install manager, APP 2.3 (or) SDK 2.1 & VC++

I am running HD6870 at 1038/360 with 100% fan & temp <73C getting 298-300 Mhash/s
Windows 7 32 bit, Aero enabled.
Miner with -v -w128 -f10
If i run with -f1 some times system gets crashed, if i use youtube or accidentally open a site with flash...

Also may be what you get is maximum & can't go beyond.
Default core clk for 5830 is 800, while 5870 is 850 & 6870 is 900.
slurch
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile WWW
May 05, 2011, 03:35:00 AM
 #71

Wow, I dropped my 5870 memory clock to from 1200 MHz to 180MHz and saw an increase of 4-7Mhash/s. More importantly my temperatures dropped by 10C.

Don't drop mem clock below 300 Mhz. If u increase it to 300 Mhz, u will see more gain.
my trick is to use core clock/3 + 14= mem clk gives maximum hash.

If your core clock is 990, then 990/3 + 14 = 344 gives u maximum hash/s &  of course 10 C drop in temp.

I remember you saying that when I first joined the forum a few weeks ago. No matter how hard I try, 960/390 is the best stable config I can get away with on my 5830. It drives me nuts. I can usually get it to run at 380 on Memory Clock for a bit, or 970 on Core, but it always just ends up freezing or crashing the drivers for the card. If I tried to drop my clock to 334 (per your equation), my computer would die outright. Win 7 64. What am I doing wrong? Tongue

If u installed catalyst control center uninstall it. It won't allow to go more & interfere.
Just install this 4 only for mining. Some times even VC++ not necessary.
ATI display driver, ATI catalyst install manager, APP 2.3 (or) SDK 2.1 & VC++

Still i am running at 1038/360 with 100% fan & temp <73C getting 298-300 Mhash/s
Windows 7 32 bit, Aero enabled.
Miner with -v -w128 -f10
If i run with -f1 some times system gets crashed, if i use youtube or accidentally open a site with flash...

I have the same issue with Flash...if you haven't, you can right click on a YouTube video, go to "Settings" and uncheck "Enable Hardware Configuration" on the Display tab (I know you know this, but lots prolly don't).

System specs for me:

Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit w/Aero and XFX 5380
Miner - Phoenix - running with -k poclbm VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP AGGRESSION=7 DEVICE=1
(no hashrate change with smaller worksize after BFI_INT)
Current stable config @ 960/360; current temp 77C (varies between 70 and 80 depending on room temperature)
Current hashrate ~ 288-290MH/s
Software looks good...no Catalyst Control Center lurking about. Currently running SDK 2.1 and 10.7 display driver.

I may be at my max with this here Windows box. Tongue I'd love to get a 970 or 980 stable config, tho...seems to get damn near 300 MH/s when I have it up that high.

Also may be what you get is maximum & can't go beyond.
Default core clk for 5830 is 800, while 5870 is 850 & 6870 is 900.

At current I can go up to 1040 in MSI...no idea if that's wise, but the slider goes over that far. Tongue

Donations accepted at: 1AXKzVc1tTmfC6VkWwBNSzKqThqhwsC5mY
For what, I have no idea...
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 03:42:53 AM
 #72

Instead of phoenix use poclbm new one.
Both give same hash only, but when i run phoenix, some times i FEEL some thing is wrong(don't know what it is)
Also [Tycho] mentioned that with his pool phoenix has some problem.
jarly
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 03:44:03 AM
 #73

I can get my memory clock on my 5750 down to 575 MHz after restarting Afterburner once, but I can't get it to go down any further. Got tips?

By the way, I was able to push my core clock all the way from 700 to 870, gain about 40 MHash/s, and lower my temps by almost 20 degrees Celsius Cheesy

Exit/close MSI afterburner completely
Open with notepad the following file
C:\Program Files\MSI Afterburner\MSIAfterburner.cfg

Go to end & u will see.
[ATIADLHAL]
blah, blah....
[NVAPIHAL]

Replace
[ATIADLHAL]
blah, blah....   with


[ATIADLHAL]
EnableUnofficialOverclocking   = 1
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 2
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod   = 0

Restart Afterburner, now u can move as u want in core, mem clk's

Tried that already, didn't work Undecided

Use Eligius? Want to see your stats? Head over to coin-control.appspot.com
Donate to 1DhFR2vR6w17BVzowKuySjzWXmP9ap29jA Smiley
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 05, 2011, 03:44:33 AM
 #74

I use Tycho's pool and phoenix and everything seems fine on my side

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 03:51:13 AM
 #75

I use Tycho's pool and phoenix and everything seems fine on my side
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3889.msg97330#msg97330
slurch
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile WWW
May 05, 2011, 03:53:16 AM
 #76

Instead of phoenix use poclbm new one.
Both give same hash only, but when i run phoenix, some times i FEEL some thing is wrong(don't know what it is)
Also [Tycho] mentioned that with his pool phoenix has some problem.

Can't hurt to try it, right? I used Kiv's GUI miner when I first started because my command line was super rusty (and still is, as evidenced by other replies I've made around here in an effort to be helpful). I think I can handle poclbm in the rough now. I'll let ya know. Smiley

Stales are reasonable on Phoenix with the newest version...no issues to report. The goal here is to squeeze some more MH out of this card, so I'll be back after I crash...errr...test my system.

If you guys see my sig at 0 MH/s, you'll know what happened. Tongue

Donations accepted at: 1AXKzVc1tTmfC6VkWwBNSzKqThqhwsC5mY
For what, I have no idea...
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 03:56:40 AM
 #77


Tried that already, didn't work Undecided

U sure, you installed only these 3 & removed catalyst control center?
ATI display driver, ATI catalyst install manager, APP 2.3 (or) SDK 2.1 & VC++
Some times even VC++ not necessary.

In Afterburner, after u set eula that u agree....
u will reduce mem clk to min 525, clk apply, exit afterburner & restart after burner.
Now u will see the mem clk is 525, but the slider will be in middle. Move it down further to mem clk u want & apply & minimize afterburner.
slurch
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile WWW
May 05, 2011, 04:49:24 AM
 #78

Didn't get much of an improvement over Phoenix with straight POCLBM, but I did manage to stabilize the system at 970/380, which is nice. Hashrate is slightly higher when I'm using the computer, which is always a plus. I may have to go back to 960/390 at some point if this crashes a lot, but I'm up and running for now. I did briefly see over 300 MHash/sec right before my system crashed. :-/

Donations accepted at: 1AXKzVc1tTmfC6VkWwBNSzKqThqhwsC5mY
For what, I have no idea...
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 06:28:37 AM
 #79

Didn't get much of an improvement over Phoenix with straight POCLBM, but I did manage to stabilize the system at 970/380, which is nice. Hashrate is slightly higher when I'm using the computer, which is always a plus. I may have to go back to 960/390 at some point if this crashes a lot, but I'm up and running for now. I did briefly see over 300 MHash/sec right before my system crashed. :-/

I have a suggestion, but it may be hilarious. Instead of 10.7 driver & 2.1 stream, Try the latest ATI.
Thats 11.4 driver & 2.4.595.10 APP.
Here's the link, http://www2.ati.com/drivers/11-4_vista64_win7_64_dd_ccc_ocl.exe
But before installing it uninstall all ati/amd graphics drivers completely using Driver sweeper from www.phyxion.net.
I wish that helps u reach stable 300+ MH/s
slurch
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile WWW
May 05, 2011, 06:56:08 AM
 #80

I laughed pretty hard when I read this...but I suppose it's worth a shot.

Strange development over the last few hours...was unable to stabilize that 970/380, so I'm back at the last known working config (960/390). Also, even running at the reduced core clock, I was seeing temps spiking at 82 and 83. Switched back to Phoenix...lost about 5 MHash/sec and the temps are back in the mid-70's. I've also got the big cooler running...the cats hate it, but they aren't making me any Bitcoins, last I checked. Tongue

Donations accepted at: 1AXKzVc1tTmfC6VkWwBNSzKqThqhwsC5mY
For what, I have no idea...
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!