Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 01:53:37 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Lowering mem clock to idle speeds SPEEDS UP Mh/s  (Read 37397 times)
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 10:00:31 AM
 #81

So I did the tweaks to afterburner cfg file, and was able to lower my mem clock from 1000Mhz to 500Mhz, but the slider will not allow for more.

I see several of you posting going down to the 200, 300 and 400Mhz range.  How?

I have a 5830 under Win7 64bit.  Thx.

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
1481464417
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481464417

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481464417
Reply with quote  #2

1481464417
Report to moderator
1481464417
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481464417

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481464417
Reply with quote  #2

1481464417
Report to moderator
1481464417
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481464417

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481464417
Reply with quote  #2

1481464417
Report to moderator
Every time a block is mined, a certain amount of BTC (called the subsidy) is created out of thin air and given to the miner. The subsidy halves every four years and will reach 0 in about 130 years.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
EpicBacon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 10:02:22 AM
 #82

So I did the tweaks to afterburner cfg file, and was able to lower my mem clock from 1000Mhz to 500Mhz, but the slider will not allow for more.

I see several of you posting going down to the 200, 300 and 400Mhz range.  How?

I have a 5830 under Win7 64bit.  Thx.
Slide it to 500, hit apply, close msi afterburner. Then when you open msi again it should let you go down lower.
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 10:19:13 AM
 #83

So I did the tweaks to afterburner cfg file, and was able to lower my mem clock from 1000Mhz to 500Mhz, but the slider will not allow for more.

I see several of you posting going down to the 200, 300 and 400Mhz range.  How?

I have a 5830 under Win7 64bit.  Thx.
Slide it to 500, hit apply, close msi afterburner. Then when you open msi again it should let you go down lower.

+1

So far, i can't able to find a direct way to go 1038 & 360 directly.
The only way is to apply, restart & change.
So, you can't just start mining rig & go away. you have to change mem clk & after you can leave mining rig, until, it restarts again. 
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 11:30:24 AM
 #84

Cool.  Gained about 2-3M hashes by dropping it down to 339.  341 and 339 give me the same.  Anything slightly higher or lower give me like 1M less.

This also decreased my card power by 20W, and temperature by about 5C!  Grin

Currently running a single 5830 @ 920Mhz.  Agression is at 7.  At 11 I will gain a few more M hashes.  I get 264Mhash/sec now.

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 11:42:46 AM
 #85

Cool.  Gained about 2-3M hashes by dropping it down to 339.  341 and 339 give me the same.  Anything slightly higher or lower give me like 1M less.

This also decreased my card power by 20W, and temperature by about 5C!  Grin

Currently running a single 5830 @ 920Mhz.  Agression is at 7.  At 11 I will gain a few more M hashes.  I get 264Mhash/sec now.
Please try mem clk at this speed, 920/3 + 14, that's 320.66= 320 mhz & post how much Mhash/s u get.
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 08:56:16 PM
 #86

Cool.  Gained about 2-3M hashes by dropping it down to 339.  341 and 339 give me the same.  Anything slightly higher or lower give me like 1M less.

This also decreased my card power by 20W, and temperature by about 5C!  Grin

Currently running a single 5830 @ 920Mhz.  Agression is at 7.  At 11 I will gain a few more M hashes.  I get 264Mhash/sec now.
Please try mem clk at this speed, 920/3 + 14, that's 320.66= 320 mhz & post how much Mhash/s u get.

At 920/320 I get 263-264.

At 925/324 I get 265-266.

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
slurch
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile WWW
May 06, 2011, 09:01:15 PM
 #87

Cool.  Gained about 2-3M hashes by dropping it down to 339.  341 and 339 give me the same.  Anything slightly higher or lower give me like 1M less.

This also decreased my card power by 20W, and temperature by about 5C!  Grin

Currently running a single 5830 @ 920Mhz.  Agression is at 7.  At 11 I will gain a few more M hashes.  I get 264Mhash/sec now.
Please try mem clk at this speed, 920/3 + 14, that's 320.66= 320 mhz & post how much Mhash/s u get.

At 920/320 I get 263-264.

At 925/324 I get 265-266.

You might be able to OC that all the way up to 960. Hell, I saw Frankiebits say he had his at 1000 for a while...though I couldn't tell you how he did that. I run mine at 960, and I seem to have one of the most unstable systems on the forum in terms of getting the speeds everyone else is. 960 is damn stable, though. Tongue I get around 290 or so while using the computer, but I can't get my memory clock as low as I'd like. I'd say edge the core clock up by 5 and just keep an eye on it for a bit. Sometimes I'll launch like 3 Firefox tabs with YouTube videos just to make sure the system is stable before I OC it more.

Edit: If you do this, keep an eye on the temp. I use a tool called GPU Observer...it's a Windows sidebar gadget. Too lazy to link. Tongue

Donations accepted at: 1AXKzVc1tTmfC6VkWwBNSzKqThqhwsC5mY
For what, I have no idea...
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 11:11:59 PM
 #88

Cool.  Gained about 2-3M hashes by dropping it down to 339.  341 and 339 give me the same.  Anything slightly higher or lower give me like 1M less.

This also decreased my card power by 20W, and temperature by about 5C!  Grin

Currently running a single 5830 @ 920Mhz.  Agression is at 7.  At 11 I will gain a few more M hashes.  I get 264Mhash/sec now.
Please try mem clk at this speed, 920/3 + 14, that's 320.66= 320 mhz & post how much Mhash/s u get.

At 920/320 I get 263-264.

At 925/324 I get 265-266.

You might be able to OC that all the way up to 960. Hell, I saw Frankiebits say he had his at 1000 for a while...though I couldn't tell you how he did that. I run mine at 960, and I seem to have one of the most unstable systems on the forum in terms of getting the speeds everyone else is. 960 is damn stable, though. Tongue I get around 290 or so while using the computer, but I can't get my memory clock as low as I'd like. I'd say edge the core clock up by 5 and just keep an eye on it for a bit. Sometimes I'll launch like 3 Firefox tabs with YouTube videos just to make sure the system is stable before I OC it more.

Edit: If you do this, keep an eye on the temp. I use a tool called GPU Observer...it's a Windows sidebar gadget. Too lazy to link. Tongue

Wow... 960 seems kind of high. I may try it though.  I use MSI afterburner to monitor temps (dual monitors).  @ 925/324 @ 60% fan speed, I run at 61C.

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 05:34:52 AM
 #89

Man, how are you getting 290 Mhash/s with a 5830 @ 960Mhz.

I'm at 960Mhz now and averaging 275Mhash/s....

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 07, 2011, 05:40:59 AM
 #90

Man, how are you getting 290 Mhash/s with a 5830 @ 960Mhz.

I'm at 960Mhz now and averaging 275Mhash/s....

whats your mem? are you using pheonix 1.4 or the newest poclbm?

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 08:28:54 AM
 #91

Man, how are you getting 290 Mhash/s with a 5830 @ 960Mhz.

I'm at 960Mhz now and averaging 275Mhash/s....

whats your mem? are you using pheonix 1.4 or the newest poclbm?

1.4.  Also, I forgot to mention I was using aggression = 7.  Now with Agression = 11 I'm at about 285Mhash/s.

Whats strange is I've run into a wall.  I can increase my core to 970 or 975 and get Zero increase in performance over 965.  Strange...

I'm now at 965/185 running strong @ 62C @ 60% fan.

Also, I'm running Win7 64bit with Stream SDK 2.4.  I read some people say 2.1 is better and I'll get better results?

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 08, 2011, 03:38:22 AM
 #92

Man, how are you getting 290 Mhash/s with a 5830 @ 960Mhz.

I'm at 960Mhz now and averaging 275Mhash/s....

whats your mem? are you using pheonix 1.4 or the newest poclbm?

1.4.  Also, I forgot to mention I was using aggression = 7.  Now with Agression = 11 I'm at about 285Mhash/s.

Whats strange is I've run into a wall.  I can increase my core to 970 or 975 and get Zero increase in performance over 965.  Strange...

I'm now at 965/185 running strong @ 62C @ 60% fan.

Also, I'm running Win7 64bit with Stream SDK 2.4.  I read some people say 2.1 is better and I'll get better results?

yup with the 5XXX series, there is a specific sdk (2.1) and a Cat version (10.something) that is best

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 09, 2011, 11:17:20 AM
 #93

After some more tweaking, my best for core 1020 is 344 on my 6870

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 12:26:54 PM
 #94

After some more tweaking, my best for core 1020 is 344 on my 6870
Impressive. Can you share that?
I am on win 7 32, with new poclbm or phoenix 1.4 ,in 6870,  only able to get 296 Mhash/s with 1029/359 or 301 Mhash/s with 1038/360.
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 10, 2011, 01:18:05 AM
 #95

I meant 1020 core and 344 mem is my sweetspot lol

I only get 301~302 Mh/s

312 with phatk

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
PcChip
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
May 18, 2011, 04:59:41 PM
 #96

I didn't read the last 2 pages but I wanted to give my opinion of what is happening, it's either:

1. Ram Latency is being reduced (as was already mentioned)

2. Clock dividers being used between core and memory are hitting a favorable divider at the "sweet spot", favorable meaning most efficient


This kind of thing used to happen for example on p35 chipsets, there were some bus frequencies that while lower, were faster due to "memory latches" (latencies used) and ram dividers

All rates with Phoenix 1.50 / PhatK
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5850 - 400 MH/s  |  5850 - 355 MH/s | 5830 - 310 MH/s  |  GTX570 - 115 MH/s | 5770 - 210 MH/s | 5770 - 200 MH/s
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 19, 2011, 04:05:01 PM
 #97

I didn't read the last 2 pages but I wanted to give my opinion of what is happening, it's either:

1. Ram Latency is being reduced (as was already mentioned)

2. Clock dividers being used between core and memory are hitting a favorable divider at the "sweet spot", favorable meaning most efficient


This kind of thing used to happen for example on p35 chipsets, there were some bus frequencies that while lower, were faster due to "memory latches" (latencies used) and ram dividers

I think it is number 2, as between 344 and 343 or 344 and 345, I lose ~2Mh/s

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
pokermon919
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 07:29:09 AM
 #98

I can't seem to edit the msiafterburner file. It won't let me save. I tried to uninstall Catalyst but anything that will install drivers for my card always has catalyst in it. Can one of you kind souls please link me to driver only without catalyst along with the package? Thank you very much in advance!
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 08:25:33 AM
 #99

for how long do you measure your hashrate? with -a 64 mine is still jumping arround randomly more than the difference a small change to the memclock makes.

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 08:26:14 AM
 #100

for how long do you measure your hashrate? with -a 64 mine is still jumping arround randomly more than the difference a small change to the memclock makes.

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!