Bitcoin Forum
June 19, 2018, 09:34:35 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: BUG Report: Rounding glitch  (Read 1234 times)
The Madhatter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500


My avatar pic says it all


View Profile
July 17, 2010, 02:10:03 PM
 #1

Check this out...

I just installed 0.3.1 on two different machines and moved one bitpenny (0.01):

-= Before the transfer =-

[bitcoind@box1 ~]$ ~/bin/bitcoind getinfo
{
    "balance" : 1.150000000000,
    "blocks" : 68717,
    "connections" : 6,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 181.5432893640505
}

[bitcoind@box2 ~]$ ~/bin/bitcoind getinfo
{
    "balance" : 0.000000000000,
    "blocks" : 68717,
    "connections" : 22,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 181.5432893640505
}

-= AFTER the transfer =-

[bitcoind@box1 ~]$ ~/bin/bitcoind getinfo
{
    "balance" : 1.139999999999,
    "blocks" : 68717,
    "connections" : 10,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 181.5432893640505
}

[bitcoind@box2 ~]$ ~/bin/bitcoind getinfo
{
    "balance" : 0.010000000000,
    "blocks" : 68717,
    "connections" : 20,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 181.5432893640505
}

I personally think it is a display problem, but I can't be sure.. strange, no?

Both machines are running FreeBSD 7.2/amd64.
1529400875
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529400875

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529400875
Reply with quote  #2

1529400875
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529400875
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529400875

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529400875
Reply with quote  #2

1529400875
Report to moderator
1529400875
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529400875

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529400875
Reply with quote  #2

1529400875
Report to moderator
satoshi
Founder
Sr. Member
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 1283


View Profile
July 17, 2010, 04:06:12 PM
 #2

It must be a rounding error when getinfo converts to floating point to return the JSON-RPC result.  The only place where it uses floating point to represent money is returning a value in JSON-RPC.

1.139999999999 is longer than bitcoin can internally represent.

internally, it could only be:
1.13999999 or
1.14000000

1.139999999999 is much much closer to 1.14000000 than 1.13999999, so it must be 1.14000000.

The code is this:
(double)GetBalance() / (double)COIN.

(I can't think of an easy way to fix it at the moment)
The Madhatter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500


My avatar pic says it all


View Profile
July 17, 2010, 05:05:40 PM
 #3

I figured it was a bug with the display. I spent the bitpenny back the other direction and the balance on the first box returned to its initial state. Tongue
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!