Bitcoin Forum
September 29, 2023, 11:25:18 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 25.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: BUG Report: Rounding glitch  (Read 8261 times)
The Madhatter (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 509


My avatar pic says it all


View Profile
July 17, 2010, 02:10:03 PM
 #1

Check this out...

I just installed 0.3.1 on two different machines and moved one bitpenny (0.01):

-= Before the transfer =-

[bitcoind@box1 ~]$ ~/bin/bitcoind getinfo
{
    "balance" : 1.150000000000,
    "blocks" : 68717,
    "connections" : 6,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 181.5432893640505
}

[bitcoind@box2 ~]$ ~/bin/bitcoind getinfo
{
    "balance" : 0.000000000000,
    "blocks" : 68717,
    "connections" : 22,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 181.5432893640505
}

-= AFTER the transfer =-

[bitcoind@box1 ~]$ ~/bin/bitcoind getinfo
{
    "balance" : 1.139999999999,
    "blocks" : 68717,
    "connections" : 10,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 181.5432893640505
}

[bitcoind@box2 ~]$ ~/bin/bitcoind getinfo
{
    "balance" : 0.010000000000,
    "blocks" : 68717,
    "connections" : 20,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 181.5432893640505
}

I personally think it is a display problem, but I can't be sure.. strange, no?

Both machines are running FreeBSD 7.2/amd64.
Unlike traditional banking where clients have only a few account numbers, with Bitcoin people can create an unlimited number of accounts (addresses). This can be used to easily track payments, and it improves anonymity.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1695986718
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1695986718

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1695986718
Reply with quote  #2

1695986718
Report to moderator
1695986718
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1695986718

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1695986718
Reply with quote  #2

1695986718
Report to moderator
satoshi
Founder
Sr. Member
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 5998


View Profile
July 17, 2010, 04:06:12 PM
 #2

It must be a rounding error when getinfo converts to floating point to return the JSON-RPC result.  The only place where it uses floating point to represent money is returning a value in JSON-RPC.

1.139999999999 is longer than bitcoin can internally represent.

internally, it could only be:
1.13999999 or
1.14000000

1.139999999999 is much much closer to 1.14000000 than 1.13999999, so it must be 1.14000000.

The code is this:
(double)GetBalance() / (double)COIN.

(I can't think of an easy way to fix it at the moment)
The Madhatter (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 509


My avatar pic says it all


View Profile
July 17, 2010, 05:05:40 PM
 #3

I figured it was a bug with the display. I spent the bitpenny back the other direction and the balance on the first box returned to its initial state. Tongue
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!