Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:59:29 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining with Catalyst 11.9rc  (Read 1616 times)
AjCazz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
September 12, 2011, 12:03:20 AM
 #1

After having the 100% cpu usage bug with 11.7 and 11.8 using poclbm/GUIMiner, the 11.9rc fixed that for me and gives a miniscule bump in performance with my HD6870. It's available at Guru3D.  Cheesy
1481108369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481108369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481108369
Reply with quote  #2

1481108369
Report to moderator
1481108369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481108369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481108369
Reply with quote  #2

1481108369
Report to moderator
1481108369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481108369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481108369
Reply with quote  #2

1481108369
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481108369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481108369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481108369
Reply with quote  #2

1481108369
Report to moderator
1481108369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481108369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481108369
Reply with quote  #2

1481108369
Report to moderator
1481108369
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481108369

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481108369
Reply with quote  #2

1481108369
Report to moderator
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
September 12, 2011, 12:53:19 AM
 #2

Mine hardly feels anything although the boot up seems a tad slow.
Jepito
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


Ever Wonder Why You Drop A call LOL


View Profile WWW
September 12, 2011, 04:53:24 AM
 #3

i installed it .... works great .. 3 more hashes for me  Cheesy
Bitcraft
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
September 12, 2011, 06:01:03 AM
 #4

I was able to get a few more hashes also. Pleased so far.
SuperTramp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


View Profile WWW
September 12, 2011, 06:41:50 AM
 #5

Does Catalyst 11.9rc allow for GPU's to be recognized by the miner w/o being hooked up to a monitor or dummy plugged?


MinCoinForum, Home Of The Best Peer2Peer Crypto-Commodity. http://mincoinforum.com/
Only 10million To Be Made. Find out more at http://mincoin.us/
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
September 12, 2011, 10:11:52 AM
 #6

Do other people confirm the no 100% cpu bug? I'm still with 11.6 cause of that bug
jwzguy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
September 12, 2011, 01:11:31 PM
 #7

I installed without uninstalling anything else. Runs fine, still has 100% CPU usage. Maybe a clean sweep is necessary...


19wXnWTeGuraN9g5UsMAi119sWzDCQcr7S
Bitcoin Logo shirts!
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
September 12, 2011, 03:11:23 PM
 #8

I just installed and mine not long ago, the CPU usage is in fact quite low.
infofront
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile
September 12, 2011, 05:42:56 PM
 #9

Has anyone tried 11.9rc with linux?
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
September 12, 2011, 05:51:03 PM
 #10

I installed without uninstalling anything else. Runs fine, still has 100% CPU usage. Maybe a clean sweep is necessary...



Usually yes, but I've used driver sweeper and registry cleaner, I still have this 100% core cpu bug on 11.9, few others have confirmed the same, the bug is still there.
FalconFour
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 176



View Profile WWW
September 12, 2011, 09:07:54 PM
 #11

Okay, I figure it's worth mentioning: those noting 100% CPU usage (an issue I originally thought was deep embedded in the miner program itself), you do realize that CPU usage is directly related to "aggression" sorts of setting, right? Some clients don't even offer aggression tweaking and will inherantly over-utilize the GPU, causing high CPU usage. Those using phatk variants, Phoenix, etc., with aggression settings, have you tried playing with those yet?

I'm going to give the 11.9 a try (currently using 11.6 with settings tweaked just on the very edge of provoking CPU usage), but I figure I should throw that out there.

edit: Mhm... well, I installed the 11.9, and I saw... well... precisely zero difference whatsoever. Still exactly the same 211Mhash/sec as always, and a dead-cold 0% CPU usage. I wonder if I can push up the aggression factor a bit without increasing CPU usage, though... but hey, this is still better than the 100% CPU usage others have whined about. Although I do wonder if that, itself, was related to pushing aggression up too high... =P

edit: Ooh, shiny! Managed to push it up from 8 to 9 with 0% CPU, but 9 to 10 sparked a 10% utilization. Going from 8 to 9 boosted Mhash/sec from 211 to teetering on 213 (bouncing between the two), so hey, it's a start! 9 to 10 with 10% CPU had it bouncing on 213-214 pretty steady, but the additional power consumption would probably negate that benefit - I closed down TeamViewer just to see if it was affecting it, and it didn't make a difference: 10% steady. So it's back down to 9 for me, but still a good boost. Yay, progress!

feed the bird: 187CXEVzakbzcANsyhpAAoF2k6KJsc55P1 (BTC) / LiRzzXnwamFCHoNnWqEkZk9HknRmjNT7nU (LTC)
AjCazz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
September 12, 2011, 09:54:01 PM
 #12

Something else I've noticed, on 11.6 while mining and watching flash videos, my gpu used to clock back from 1GHz to 300MHz. Now it only clocks down to 900MHz. This could've been done in .7 or .8 I guess, but I jumped them because of the 100% cpu. 
sapoleon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
September 14, 2011, 06:35:36 AM
 #13

Confirmed 100% CPU bug gone.
setup WIN7 64bit, single 5850@960/322 1.15V
also 1-2% more Mhash AND a little higher temps
As espected Afterburner shows an increse in GPU utilliasion from 97-98% to solid 99%.
i know "solid" is a burned word in bitcoin comunity. Roll Eyes lets burn our cards at 99% GPU and 0% CPU
 Grin
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
September 14, 2011, 06:46:21 AM
 #14

Okay, I figure it's worth mentioning: those noting 100% CPU usage (an issue I originally thought was deep embedded in the miner program itself), you do realize that CPU usage is directly related to "aggression" sorts of setting, right? Some clients don't even offer aggression tweaking and will inherantly over-utilize the GPU, causing high CPU usage. Those using phatk variants, Phoenix, etc., with aggression settings, have you tried playing with those yet?
This 11.9RC seems to be the first driver release that doesn't definitely have a CPU bug since 11.6 original. I'm only running single GPUs per machine, and one advisory that ATI had was for CPU usage with multiple GPUs, so it may be different on multi-GPU rigs.

The mining software seems to make a difference, for example, running phoenix source off of python 2.7 and the mix of libs I was using caused cpu usage around 5%, but running the exe and it's included python distribution is less than 1%.

Also to note - the XP install doesn't work correctly, after a driver wipe, reboot, and reinstall of the newest and another reboot, XP still came up with the VGA driver installed. I had to manually install VC++ 2010 and manually browse using device manager to the driver, and then it complained that a file was missing during install. Ignoring the missing file seems to have gotten everything going.

Good for another mhash/s.

calmindifference
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
September 14, 2011, 06:54:38 AM
 #15

I am getting mixed results:

Geting 100% on an AMD Athlon X2 3800 with 5770 and 5870.
On Intel Quad Q9550 with just a single 5750 it is back to almost zero.
simonk83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
September 14, 2011, 07:30:35 AM
 #16

Confirmed 100% CPU bug gone.
setup WIN7 64bit, single 5850@960/322 1.15V
also 1-2% more Mhash AND a little higher temps
As espected Afterburner shows an increse in GPU utilliasion from 97-98% to solid 99%.
i know "solid" is a burned word in bitcoin comunity. Roll Eyes lets burn our cards at 99% GPU and 0% CPU
 Grin

Confirmed 100% CPU bug gone.
setup WIN7 64bit, single 5850@960/322 1.15V
also 1-2% more Mhash AND a little higher temps
As espected Afterburner shows an increse in GPU utilliasion from 97-98% to solid 99%.
i know "solid" is a burned word in bitcoin comunity. Roll Eyes lets burn our cards at 99% GPU and 0% CPU
 Grin


No change at all here.  Still 100% CPU.   Win7 64bit.  4 cards.
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
September 14, 2011, 07:48:48 AM
 #17

What I think is going on, is, the bug is fixed for a single card setup, but a dual or + more cards, the bug remains.

I've got dual cards, the bug remains.
b1m2x3
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
September 15, 2011, 12:34:11 AM
 #18

mine still runs at 100% with 11.9  Undecided
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
September 20, 2011, 01:44:50 PM
 #19

I am running with 3 cards, no issues at all.
penix
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22



View Profile
September 20, 2011, 03:36:34 PM
 #20

I heard the 100% CPU bug wasn't actually a bug, but a feature. At high GPU usage, the card offsets some of the load to the CPU. I'm not claiming this as fact. This is just what I've heard.

Anyway, I just restrict all my GPU miners to a single CPU core and that keeps them from eating up all my resources. They still mine just as fast.

NeedyPoo's amazing rendition of RealSolid (NSFW) (http://i.imgur.com/5a9sJ.png)
They say Solidcoin is only good for one thing... (rendition by johnj) (http://i.imgur.com/QXBs3.png)
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!