Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 06:50:39 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New to BTC and Mining CGMiner issues  (Read 797 times)
bds62
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 01:37:23 PM
 #1

Hey everyone,

So I heard about Bitcoin in 2009 when it came out and just passed on learning anything about it, I guess in hindsight that was a little dumb on my part.

So anyways I'm redesigning my record label's website that is currently run in Joomla to DreamWeaver and I thought to myself, how cool would it be to become the first record label in history to accept Bitcoin? Even if we're only indie I feel it's still pretty innovative.

In anycase, I installed home brew, got CGMiner installed, joined both slush's pool and BTC Guild. I tested out Slush's yesterday and let it run overnight (Korea night, USA day) I had an issue so I decided to try out BTC Guild connection and I get the same thing.

(5s):0.000 (avg):0.000h.s

Here's a screen shot, just got the interrupted connection while typing this.
http://imageshack.com/a/img836/2246/xiz4.png/img]Along with system info[img]http://imageshack.com/a/img197/2307/wdug.png

I'm not really interested in other miners as they've shot my temp up to 216F nor other cryptocurrency as none is as well known and used as BTC (from my understanding) as I said I'd like to incorporate BTC payment on my label's site using BitPay which I just got approved for.

Thanks guys.
1513536639
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513536639

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513536639
Reply with quote  #2

1513536639
Report to moderator
1513536639
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513536639

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513536639
Reply with quote  #2

1513536639
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513536639
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513536639

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513536639
Reply with quote  #2

1513536639
Report to moderator
1513536639
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513536639

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513536639
Reply with quote  #2

1513536639
Report to moderator
1513536639
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513536639

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513536639
Reply with quote  #2

1513536639
Report to moderator
bds62
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 01:46:09 PM
 #2

For w/e reason it removed one of 2 pics and some text

Here is my CGMiner
http://imageshack.com/a/img836/2246/xiz4.png

(text that was removed)

And here is my system info:

Image in OP.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2014, 08:08:01 PM
 #3

You don't have any mining equipment so it eventually disconnects you since you're not actually doing anything. cgminer now only mines on dedicated ASIC bitcoin mining hardware, not CPUs or GPUs.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bds62
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 03:11:49 AM
 #4

First and foremost thank you for taking the time to reply.

I wasn't aware CGMiner doesn't cpu mine either. I read that they did away with GPU mining.

I used GuiMiner when I was having issues installing CGMiner but it shot my Mac temp to around 212 216 so I stopped it.

Any suggestions on a miner I could use without temp problems? I'm thinking about building my own computer with these:

Rosewill PATRIOT Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Rosewill Stallion Series RD700 700W ATX12V V2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Power Supply
Seagate Barracuda ST500DM002 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive
AMD FX-8350 Vishera 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W Eight-Core Desktop Processor FD8350FRHKBOX
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler with 120 mm PWM Fan
HIS IceQ Boost Clock H795QC3G2M Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
ASUS M5A97 R2.0 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS
Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 Desktop Memory Model KHX16C10B1RK2/16

Felt that'd be a pretty decent setup for a dedicated mining rig to start with. I feel in the long run mining on one of my macbook pro's will hold me back.

-B
Sonny
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 03:40:37 AM
 #5

At the current bitcoin mining difficulty, you can hardly make any progress with CPU and GPU (even high-end ones).
However, you can mine those scrypt-based coins using GPU.
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
January 29, 2014, 09:52:33 AM
 #6

It's gonna be hard to CPU/GPU mine without a temperature problem, but you can turn the intensity down - bfgminer still supports GPU mining - I compile it if you want to grab it quickly from http://fabulouspanda.co.uk/commandline/

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!