Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 12:00:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Newbie that is confused about my Ant Miner. Which mining program can I use?  (Read 3212 times)
ccualumni
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 04:29:01 PM
 #1

I am just now learning about mining and am a complete newbie.

I was mining using my GPU and a block eruptor. I purchased an Ant Miner hoping to just add it into my Multiminer or Bitminter software and to get it going. What I liked about multiminer is that I can run the eruptor and my GPU at the same time. It will also switch the coin it is mining.

The problem is that Ant Miner only works with some of the mining software. When I tried to change to a different miner, I could not get them to run.

What mining software should I try to use with an antminer? I am hoping to find one that will also use the eruptor and possibly mine with my GPU all at the same time.

I am hoping to mine dogecoin, BTC and LTC (and will mine whatever else I can).

I typically use Slush's pool and the Bitminter pool. I am not at home, so I forgot which dogecoin pool I am using.

Thanks
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513555201
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513555201

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513555201
Reply with quote  #2

1513555201
Report to moderator
PotatoMcGruff
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 05:56:33 PM
 #2

If you're referring to the S1 it comes with linux built in running cgminer... just log in to the miner by web browser to change pools etc...

You can also SSH into the miner (using putty or something similar)
vpasic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 06:12:42 PM
 #3

Antminer is standalone unit.
Also you can't mine ltc and dogecoin with antminer. It is sha-256 mining only!

Tips: 1Ejj8eANy2PLZVwrWUczkbQ8kQY2JhKqp6
21coin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 482


Sarthak's a dumb girl


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 06:44:21 PM
 #4

try cgminer
ccualumni
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 02:54:48 AM
 #5

I was not clear enough on my first post... sorry.

I bought the ant miner USB.

The instructions that came with it say to use cgminer, but I could not get cgminer to work.

I am using mutliminer as I can mine BTC and dogecoin/LTC at the same time.

I was hoping there is an easy to use miner that can utilize my gpu for mining as well as the antminer and the eruptor for BTC.

Thanks
Altoidnerd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


http://altoidnerd.com


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2014, 06:46:56 AM
 #6

http://altoidnerd.com/2014/01/27/antminer-usb-block-erupter-miner-set-up-guide-in-windows-and-ubuntu/

Use BFGminer ... I did not get these to work with cgminer.

I tested two at once and wrote the guide, now I am done with them if you wanna buy em and make a "rig"

Do you even mine?
http://altoidnerd.com 
12gKRdrz7yy7erg5apUvSRGemypTUvBRuJ
ccualumni
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 04:34:08 PM
 #7

http://altoidnerd.com/2014/01/27/antminer-usb-block-erupter-miner-set-up-guide-in-windows-and-ubuntu/

Use BFGminer ... I did not get these to work with cgminer.

I tested two at once and wrote the guide, now I am done with them if you wanna buy em and make a "rig"

You are selling two antminers? How much are you selling them for?
PaintShopPro6
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 05:42:01 PM
 #8

If you're running Antminer U1's, follow my BFGMiner tutorial. http://www.rubicite.com/Tutorials/AntminerU1Tutorial.aspx

CGMiner is terrible for U1's
Altoidnerd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


http://altoidnerd.com


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2014, 10:03:12 PM
 #9

I don't know how much do you wanna pay? Maybe I should keep them for testing hardware.

Do you even mine?
http://altoidnerd.com 
12gKRdrz7yy7erg5apUvSRGemypTUvBRuJ
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2014, 10:50:27 PM
 #10

The first official cgminer version supporting U1s was only released yesterday.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
itsunderstood
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


American1973


View Profile
February 26, 2014, 11:21:48 PM
 #11

JonesGear sent me a free antminer yay!  What nice people.

So I haven't run one yet but am now using bfgminer and getting around 1.4gh out the box.  Works fine/

What other altcoin pools can i mine with it?

edit

I am mining benjamins: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=444543.0

But yeah as for my ant it works great, but I am running it at the out of the box speed (1.6gh approx) because it is still damn hot to the touch and I need a fan setup.

What's the best fan setup for this?  I would like to run a fan off USB as I have a USB octopus thing that'll provide volts for a small fan, I guess all PC fans have the same voltage rating.

Pretty cool little device this ant.  Right out of the box and I already have almost 1 benjamin in < 12 hours.

Check out my prescient ATS thread from 2008: "Windows XP: End the Cyberwar, Open the Code Now!" http://www.abovetopsecret.com/forum/thread411978/pg1
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!