Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 10:20:02 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Any reason my 890fx GD70 wont start when 3rd card inserted?  (Read 792 times)
Bitcoin Swami
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 21, 2011, 04:12:32 AM
 #1

Seems to work fine with 2 cards, when I add the 3rd one.. just kinda boots up to a black screen.  No option to enter bios or anything.

I've used 2 cards and mixed and matched them.  I've come to the conclusion its not the cards... I've mixed and matched the Pci-E wires.. they all seem to work. 

this has officially been the rig from hell for me.  At least I got 2 cards running right now.

Any ideas?
1480717202
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717202

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717202
Reply with quote  #2

1480717202
Report to moderator
1480717202
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717202

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717202
Reply with quote  #2

1480717202
Report to moderator
1480717202
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717202

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717202
Reply with quote  #2

1480717202
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480717202
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717202

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717202
Reply with quote  #2

1480717202
Report to moderator
ThiagoCMC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!


View Profile WWW
September 21, 2011, 04:19:31 AM
 #2

Try to install your third card and clear your BIOS... Setup all again...
Sometimes I spent hours to install more than 1 card at my MOBOs...
Each one have its own "behavior"...

Mercado Forex acessível para todos os Brasileiros que tenham Bitcoins! Cadastre-se hoje mesmo! Bastar acessar aqui: https://1broker.com/m/r.php?i=8879
Swishercutter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
September 21, 2011, 04:35:14 AM
 #3

I have 2 of the same mobo.
Not sure the problem with yours...I installed 5 cards all at once, installed drivers and ran it.

Maybe your PSU?  What OS? What driver version? Do you have ALL the MSI drivers installed?
Bitcoin Swami
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 21, 2011, 05:24:12 AM
 #4

I have 2 of the same mobo.
Not sure the problem with yours...I installed 5 cards all at once, installed drivers and ran it.

Maybe your PSU?  What OS? What driver version? Do you have ALL the MSI drivers installed?


Running linuxcoin.. Doesn't even get to that point though.  Can't enter bios with the 3rd card inserted.  PSU is a 1000w ocz.. I'm running 3 6870's should be more than enough wattage.
Swishercutter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
September 21, 2011, 07:09:05 AM
 #5

I have 2 of the same mobo.
Not sure the problem with yours...I installed 5 cards all at once, installed drivers and ran it.

Maybe your PSU?  What OS? What driver version? Do you have ALL the MSI drivers installed?


Running linuxcoin.. Doesn't even get to that point though.  Can't enter bios with the 3rd card inserted.  PSU is a 1000w ocz.. I'm running 3 6870's should be more than enough wattage.

I run Win7 but at the initial boot point it shouldn't matter.  Which slots are you using on the mobo?
Bitcoin Swami
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 21, 2011, 03:57:05 PM
 #6

I have 2 of the same mobo.
Not sure the problem with yours...I installed 5 cards all at once, installed drivers and ran it.

Maybe your PSU?  What OS? What driver version? Do you have ALL the MSI drivers installed?


Running linuxcoin.. Doesn't even get to that point though.  Can't enter bios with the 3rd card inserted.  PSU is a 1000w ocz.. I'm running 3 6870's should be more than enough wattage.

I run Win7 but at the initial boot point it shouldn't matter.  Which slots are you using on the mobo?

Hey man just did some switching and swapping still can't figure out whats wrong.  So apparently the third card doesn't even matter.  If the 2nd card isn't in the right slot it wont start either. 

I have a card in slot 1.. works.  Slot 3 works.   If I put another card in anything other than slot 3 it will boot up to a black screen with blinking cursor.  Got 2 running but I have another card sitting here and would love to get it running.  I'll never buy one of these motherboards again thats for sure.
Swishercutter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
September 22, 2011, 12:47:22 AM
 #7

I have 2 of the same mobo.
Not sure the problem with yours...I installed 5 cards all at once, installed drivers and ran it.

Maybe your PSU?  What OS? What driver version? Do you have ALL the MSI drivers installed?


Running linuxcoin.. Doesn't even get to that point though.  Can't enter bios with the 3rd card inserted.  PSU is a 1000w ocz.. I'm running 3 6870's should be more than enough wattage.

I run Win7 but at the initial boot point it shouldn't matter.  Which slots are you using on the mobo?

Hey man just did some switching and swapping still can't figure out whats wrong.  So apparently the third card doesn't even matter.  If the 2nd card isn't in the right slot it wont start either. 

I have a card in slot 1.. works.  Slot 3 works.   If I put another card in anything other than slot 3 it will boot up to a black screen with blinking cursor.  Got 2 running but I have another card sitting here and would love to get it running.  I'll never buy one of these motherboards again thats for sure.

Check the manual for the Mobo, do a BIOS reset, try to boot from scratch with all cards installed at the same time (slots 1-3-5).  If that doesn't work RMA the board or call MSI directly and see if the techs can help out.  I have 2 of those same boards and one of my friends has another one...I would say its one of the most widely used mining boards for 4+ GPU setups...you may just have got a bad one.
Bitcoin Swami
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 22, 2011, 02:23:43 AM
 #8

I have 2 of the same mobo.
Not sure the problem with yours...I installed 5 cards all at once, installed drivers and ran it.

Maybe your PSU?  What OS? What driver version? Do you have ALL the MSI drivers installed?


Running linuxcoin.. Doesn't even get to that point though.  Can't enter bios with the 3rd card inserted.  PSU is a 1000w ocz.. I'm running 3 6870's should be more than enough wattage.

I run Win7 but at the initial boot point it shouldn't matter.  Which slots are you using on the mobo?

Hey man just did some switching and swapping still can't figure out whats wrong.  So apparently the third card doesn't even matter.  If the 2nd card isn't in the right slot it wont start either. 

I have a card in slot 1.. works.  Slot 3 works.   If I put another card in anything other than slot 3 it will boot up to a black screen with blinking cursor.  Got 2 running but I have another card sitting here and would love to get it running.  I'll never buy one of these motherboards again thats for sure.

Check the manual for the Mobo, do a BIOS reset, try to boot from scratch with all cards installed at the same time (slots 1-3-5).  If that doesn't work RMA the board or call MSI directly and see if the techs can help out.  I have 2 of those same boards and one of my friends has another one...I would say its one of the most widely used mining boards for 4+ GPU setups...you may just have got a bad one.

I will try those things.. Hopefully I don't have to RMI the board, this is the replacement of the first one I RMI'd lol
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!