Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:18:35 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PCI SLOT  (Read 1336 times)
mu50stang
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162


View Profile
September 28, 2011, 09:29:45 PM
 #1

Can I run a gpu for bitcoin on a pci slot.  If so, what is needed.  Thanks.
1481149115
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149115

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149115
Reply with quote  #2

1481149115
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
SlaveInDebt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 702


Your Minion


View Profile
September 28, 2011, 10:46:19 PM
 #2

Unable to as far as I'm aware. All gpu's that are worth while/able to hash are pcie. There are pci to pcie adapters but I've not heard of anyone having success.

"A banker is a fellow who lends you his umbrella when the sun is shining, but wants it back the minute it begins to rain." - Mark Twain
Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554



View Profile
September 28, 2011, 11:59:29 PM
 #3

People have reported success with this. Basically you need a pci to pcie adapter and a riser with molex. Here is a recent thread about this.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=45243.0

Convery
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
September 29, 2011, 07:25:53 AM
 #4

Ye, I bought a PCI->PCIe x16 raiser a long time ago and there was no problems at all other than physical stability..

Though, I lost 5Mhash due to latency but I guess most modern BIOS can fine tune that.. (was using a 7 year old MoBo just to show that it worked)
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
September 30, 2011, 04:25:05 AM
 #5

Yeap, that was what I am doing buy a PCI to PCI-E convertor.  You can reuse the old systems you have.
Manko
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66


View Profile
September 30, 2011, 07:04:28 AM
 #6

Excellent, I did not know you could do this. I've got a few old PCs with M/Bs with just PCI slots. Just need the GPUs and extenders Smiley
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
September 30, 2011, 02:14:07 PM
 #7

PCI to PCI-E adaptors are available, I got some from Ebay but they really cost a bomb, it may be more cost effective to get a 2nd hand motherboard with a PCI-E 16x
AngelusWebDesign
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
September 30, 2011, 05:30:08 PM
 #8

Just be careful -- I bought a used MSI motherboard with an Opteron CPU and 2 PCI-E slots, but they didn't work with most modern video cards! Turned out they were PCI-E 1.1 instead of 2.0, and this particular mobo had problems with certain video cards -- such as ATI 5XXX and 6XXX series cards, that's all...

I spent way too much on that mobo. That experience completely soured me on buying cheap "older" mobos with PCI-E slots.

On the other hand, I got some old Dell mobos for $10 each that have (1) PCI-E slot -- I'm using one of those at the moment, but I used to have 2 of them set up.
The stupid things have (1) PCI slot as well, but when you have a card in the PCI-E slot it covers up the PCI slot! So I can't even use the PCI slot.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
September 30, 2011, 06:16:51 PM
 #9

Just be careful -- I bought a used MSI motherboard with an Opteron CPU and 2 PCI-E slots, but they didn't work with most modern video cards! Turned out they were PCI-E 1.1 instead of 2.0, and this particular mobo had problems with certain video cards -- such as ATI 5XXX and 6XXX series cards, that's all...

It must be something other than PCIe 1.1 that was causing issues.  PCIe is both forward and backwards compatible.

PCIe 1.1 card in 2.0 slot is fine.
PCIe 2.0 card in 1.1 slot is fine.

You are simply limited to bandwidth of the lesser protocol but then again a serial cable has more than enough bandwidth for a miner.
infofront
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile
September 30, 2011, 08:57:00 PM
 #10

Just be careful -- I bought a used MSI motherboard with an Opteron CPU and 2 PCI-E slots, but they didn't work with most modern video cards! Turned out they were PCI-E 1.1 instead of 2.0, and this particular mobo had problems with certain video cards -- such as ATI 5XXX and 6XXX series cards, that's all...

It must be something other than PCIe 1.1 that was causing issues.  PCIe is both forward and backwards compatible.

PCIe 1.1 card in 2.0 slot is fine.
PCIe 2.0 card in 1.1 slot is fine.

You are simply limited to bandwidth of the lesser protocol but then again a serial cable has more than enough bandwidth for a miner.


Indeed. I've got an old socket 940 SLI board running two ATI GPUs. The board only supports PCIe 1.1. As you go back in time, motherboards were less well made, and much more of a pain in the ass, so there are a lot of other potential issues.
Convery
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 02:22:15 PM
 #11

PCI to PCI-E adaptors are available, I got some from Ebay but they really cost a bomb, it may be more cost effective to get a 2nd hand motherboard with a PCI-E 16x

I bought mine for 20$ from China via Ebay, took like a week to get it though..
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
October 01, 2011, 02:56:19 PM
 #12

I got it at about 1/2 the price, also from China, I guess nearly everything in the world are somehow assembled or produced in China.

PCI to PCI-E adaptors are available, I got some from Ebay but they really cost a bomb, it may be more cost effective to get a 2nd hand motherboard with a PCI-E 16x

I bought mine for 20$ from China via Ebay, took like a week to get it though..
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!