Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:27:14 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Blocks stuck at 133950, going on 3 days now. No confirmations.  (Read 1274 times)
duckfeet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 08:18:46 AM
 #1

Windows XP, SP3
Microsoft Security Essentials

I downloaded and installed bitcoin to my Dell Latitude 2100 netbook, 3 days ago.  I've used bitcoins before with no problems, on other computer, linux and windows.  It seemed to be going alright.  I sent myself 25 btc from Trade Hill.  Started slowing down around 120000 blocks.  AFter 48 hrs I came on here, and started reading past threads.  Tried following suggestions: I went to block.explorer.com and put in my address, and it showed that the transaction had completed. I turned off MSE, then put bitcoin.exe in the exceptions in the settings, as instructed.  I also checked, to see if port 8333 was open...it was.  Right now have 19 connections.

Have another computer using same router, linux, and it's going along fine, in just 3 hours already at 143000 blocks.

Anything else I should do, at this point.  It started getting really slow around 24 hrs, but I still waited until it hit 48 hrs to start getting concerned.  My computer itself several times ran as slow as molasses, had to cntrl/alt/delete and I finally rebooted into Safe Mode and tried it there, but that wasn't the problem.

Computer is running o.k., and I'm sort of a malware fighter on other forums, so it's clean...I'm just kind of stupid about these bitcoins, apparently.  Thankyou in advance for any help.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481304434
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304434

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304434
Reply with quote  #2

1481304434
Report to moderator
1481304434
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304434

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304434
Reply with quote  #2

1481304434
Report to moderator
1481304434
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304434

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304434
Reply with quote  #2

1481304434
Report to moderator
Coinbuck @ BTCLot
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 541

The future begins today


View Profile WWW
October 08, 2011, 09:54:38 AM
 #2

Do you have enough space on your hard drive ?

Bitcoin is the future !
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 02:08:32 PM
 #3

Did you read the stickied thread? https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=323.0

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
duckfeet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 04:00:37 PM
 #4

Do you have enough space on your hard drive ?

Yes: i've 20gb left on a 30gb SSD.  That seems ok
duckfeet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 04:04:23 PM
 #5

Did you read the stickied thread? https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=323.0

Yes, I sure did: I do have MSE, and I set it up the way it says to set up, even turned it off, tried rebooting, everything it says: I don't think that's it, but I covered that anyway, and even disabled it...and double checked and made sure I had port 8333 open the way it says to: seems like all that is o.k.
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 04:12:48 PM
 #6

Did you read the stickied thread? https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=323.0

Yes, I sure did: I do have MSE, and I set it up the way it says to set up, even turned it off, tried rebooting, everything it says: I don't think that's it, but I covered that anyway, and even disabled it...and double checked and made sure I had port 8333 open the way it says to: seems like all that is o.k.

I have had my blockchain Totally stop downloading aswell, Only thing i could to to fix it was to delete the block chain and start it all over, Didnt stick this time, Working fine ever since.

Win7ultimateX64

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
duckfeet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 10:25:32 PM
 #7


I have had my blockchain Totally stop downloading aswell, Only thing i could to to fix it was to delete the block chain and start it all over, Didnt stick this time, Working fine ever since.

Win7ultimateX64


Yes, I've looked at other similar threads, and that appears to be what I need to do. Mine now has 30 connections, but still stuck where it was yesterday.  And when I check the bitcoin address at block explorer, it shows right up with 25btc, so I want to do this, and I'll research around to find out how...if you have any tips, I'd appreciate it.   This is the *only* transfer I've made to this address too, which should help.

Thankyou!

Edit: I did delete all the blocks, and started over, and it's loading, but going pretty slow at around 120000.  Isn't there a way, since my block is already in blockexplorer.com, to just download the blocks and install them in the bitcoin folder?  I'm researching on this, but if not, hopefully it'll speed up, and get this in the next 24 hrs or so...
Matt Corallo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 751


View Profile
October 09, 2011, 05:48:57 AM
 #8

Did anyone try just deleting addr.dat instead of the blockchain?

Bitcoin Ubuntu PPA maintainer - donate to me personally: 1JBMattRztKDF2KRS3vhjJXA7h47NEsn2c
http://bitcoinrelaynetwork.org maintainer
PGP ID: 07DF 3E57 A548 CCFB 7530  7091 89BB B866 3E2E65CE
duckfeet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
October 09, 2011, 05:57:56 AM
 #9

Did anyone try just deleting addr.dat instead of the blockchain?

No, I sure didn't...it was first time I had problems with bitcoins of this nature.  I'm thinking more and more it's just this slow little netbook I did it on...downloaded fine on my other computer....but it's going way too slow, and I'm thinking I should try starting with just my wallet.dat and download the blockchain...
duckfeet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
October 09, 2011, 05:28:27 PM
 #10

Since nothing else seemed to work, computer would just slow down and stop, whenever it would get around 100,000 blocks, so I tried downloading latest blockchain from http://eu1.bitcoincharts.com/blockchain/.

Went to my bitcoins folder, and deleted  everything but wallet.dat, and began extracting/opening the blockchain I'd downloaded to this folder...at 31% extracted, I got this message: data error in "blk0001.dat".  File is broken  Happened several times.  This was all done on same computer that's has been giving constant problems.

What I'm trying now, is:

1) Made copy of wallet.dat
2) Opened up debian(linux) computer, which is much faster.
3) Installed bitcoin, put original copy of wallet.dat in .bitcoin folder (Made sure, of course, bitcoin was off, and deleted anything but wallet.dat, then replaced wallet.dat with original version I'd copied here.
4) Started bitcoin app.  It's zipping along nicely, within an hour or so  I'm now at 111000 blocks.  Only 8 connections, which at this point is alright...perhaps I need to open a port on the firewall, but I'll research up on that...this is first time using btc on linux, and I'm going thru my usual 'learning curve' confusion, but sfsg ....

--Any advice/criticism is welcome and appreciated...this is all over 25 btc, but I also like the learning I'm doing...
2112
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile
October 09, 2011, 06:10:27 PM
 #11


Any advice/criticism is welcome and appreciated...
Test your disk drive thorougly. Watch the EventViewer for possible errors.

It appears that you have an SSD primary drive. Be aware that bitcoin hits SSDs in their weakest point: it creates large log files that are never read.

I would just back up the system, do a security erase of the SSD (the tools are on ArsTechnica or some other technology enthusiast site) which will recondition its wear leveller maps, then reinstall from the original Dell disks. an operating system with TRIM support. I'm assuming that your SSD supports TRIM. If not, then it probably not worth using for anything important, unless you know exactly the drive access patterns and how to monitor its block failure rate.



 

Please comment, critique, criticize or ridicule BIP 2112: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54382.0
Long-term mining prognosis: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=91101.0
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!