Bitcoin Forum
September 17, 2019, 03:28:23 AM *
News: If you like a topic and you see an orange "bump" link, click it. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Pangolin Whatsminer M10 - 33TH at 2145W  (Read 18925 times)
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1327


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
March 19, 2019, 08:28:06 PM
Last edit: March 20, 2019, 12:36:05 AM by NotFuzzyWarm
 #181

Try a CGMiner restart. After waiting for a 1/2 hour between restarts my sorta gimpy #4 miner usually 2x restarts, sometimes 3 to get up to full speed. For me SM0 is the problem child in Normal mode, Low-power mode is a no-go as SM0 and SM1 fail on the final reboot after tuning is done..

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1568690903
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568690903

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568690903
Reply with quote  #2

1568690903
Report to moderator
1568690903
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568690903

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568690903
Reply with quote  #2

1568690903
Report to moderator
1568690903
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568690903

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568690903
Reply with quote  #2

1568690903
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1890



View Profile
March 19, 2019, 09:17:35 PM
Last edit: March 20, 2019, 03:44:34 AM by frodocooper
 #182

I can only hope! Hopefully that what they want me to do as part of troubleshooting.

Unfortunately, I still cannot get this M10 to hash at 31TH/s. Last night I was seeing 31.1TH/s, now its hovering at 28.8TH/s.

Freq:
451-505-442

105 eff. chips per chain.

Oh the telegram people should show in 4 hours to help about psu.

yeah this one on monday  I got is good in fact it is the coolest running one I have ever owned


I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Yrth
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 102
Merit: 8


View Profile
March 20, 2019, 06:40:44 PM
Last edit: March 21, 2019, 12:13:49 AM by frodocooper
 #183

The one I ordered arrived at my hosting facility with dead fans and 1 bad board. Grrrrrr.....
sarcheer
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 329
Merit: 91


View Profile
March 20, 2019, 07:18:03 PM
 #184

Quick update: Telegram support recommended trying downgrading to January FW to see if that would fix the low hashrate problem that appeared after the PSU problem. As my M10 is not run at home I had to wait to come in this morning to give the downgrade a try and, unfortunately, it has not helped. No change in hashrate, still only ~28.5 TH/s.

Will get back in contact with support over telegram tonight to see about next steps.

Miners:
Avalon 1041, Whatsminer M10, Antminer T15 x 2, DragonMint T1 x 3, Innosilicon T2T, R4 x 2
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1890



View Profile
March 20, 2019, 07:52:50 PM
 #185

My stats are 8 m10s 7 were good and have mined with no issues .

1 needed a 1 wire to 3 slot bridge replaced.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 145


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
March 21, 2019, 03:21:12 AM
 #186

We've had zero warranty/returns even with the m10s.

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1061



View Profile
March 21, 2019, 12:48:38 PM
 #187

Quick update: Telegram support recommended trying downgrading to January FW to see if that would fix the low hashrate problem that appeared after the PSU problem. As my M10 is not run at home I had to wait to come in this morning to give the downgrade a try and, unfortunately, it has not helped. No change in hashrate, still only ~28.5 TH/s.

Will get back in contact with support over telegram tonight to see about next steps.

Where is this FW available?

Mine at pools that pay transaction fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
sarcheer
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 329
Merit: 91


View Profile
March 21, 2019, 02:04:02 PM
Last edit: March 22, 2019, 10:23:31 AM by frodocooper
 #188

Where is this FW available?

It was provided directly from Pangolin support.

Update on my M10:

Unfortunately, it would appear I am at an impasse with Pangolin support after hours of communication on telegram. They are denying anything is wrong with the PSU on my M10 (despite not asking me to send them pics or remove it) and are now claiming two things:

1.) The input voltage of 208V is low and that 220V is ideal.

2.) The hash rate is within normal variance as relayed by their engineers of +/- 5%, despite being 8.1% off of spec at 28.5TH/s.

At a loss of where to go from here.

Miners:
Avalon 1041, Whatsminer M10, Antminer T15 x 2, DragonMint T1 x 3, Innosilicon T2T, R4 x 2
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1890



View Profile
March 21, 2019, 03:18:49 PM
Last edit: March 22, 2019, 10:24:12 AM by frodocooper
 #189

It was provided directly from Pangolin support.

Update on my M10:

Unfortunately, it would appear I am at an impasse with Pangolin support after hours of communication on telegram. They are denying anything is wrong with the PSU on my M10 (despite not asking me to send them pics or remove it) and are now claiming two things:

1.) The input voltage of 208V is low and that 220V is ideal.

2.) The hash rate is within normal variance as relayed by their engineers of +/- 5%, despite being 8.1% off of spec at 28.5TH/s.

At a loss of where to go from here.

I have pm'd you

here are my m10 numbers

My oldest m10  drops a board on and off it is out of warranty

m10one16 is the oldest one

mten7 is the one  I needed a repair part

they all are a little better then yours  but I have 227 volts input

my newest is in the garage it gets 239 volts and is doing 31,387  with really good temps of 66-67-72


I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sarcheer
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 329
Merit: 91


View Profile
March 21, 2019, 04:54:44 PM
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #190

So Phil is going out on a limb and is sending me his replacement PSU to determine whether or not my PSU is damaged. This is a very generous gesture from him and ill do whatever is necessary to make sure he is made whole when this is settled.

I'm quite convinced its the PSU given the events that precipitated the reduction of hash rate, namely the pop, flash of sparks, and puff of smoke from the PSU. Combined with the stated specs for the PSU (below), I'm struggling to believe that the input voltage difference between 208V and 220V is what is hamstring the hash rate. I will add that the autotune function is not raising the avg board freq to what it was prior the PSU incident. Current board freq: 445-499-434 resulting in 28.5TH/s. I can only hope the boards were not damaged.

Model:
P10-12.5-2250-V1
Input:
176-264VAC 50/60Hz 25A Max
Output:
12.5V 180A
12V 10A

Miners:
Avalon 1041, Whatsminer M10, Antminer T15 x 2, DragonMint T1 x 3, Innosilicon T2T, R4 x 2
Artemis3
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 612


★777Coin.com★ Fun BTC Casino!


View Profile WWW
March 21, 2019, 05:59:47 PM
Last edit: March 22, 2019, 10:25:36 AM by frodocooper
 #191

I have created a support ticket and will update going forward with how Pango resolves this issue.

From what I recall, the pop originated from the PSU and was loud enough to make me jump back. The PDU's are still being used right now without issue.

Edit: After giving it about 4 hours now, I just plugged it back in and everything is working... Very suspicious and will be sitting within view of this guy for the rest of the day with my fire extinguisher close by. Will still go through the support process with Pango to see what they have to say about what may have happened.

The only thing that crosses my mind is that a roach or bug crawling inside short-circuited something, but now that it popped and dried the unit would go back to work. Normally when something pops and trips a breaker or such i won't even try powering it again, at least without taking a look inside...

What a curious gamble you made by powering it again, wanted to see if flames would come out or something?

edonkey
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1150
Merit: 1004



View Profile
March 21, 2019, 05:59:58 PM
 #192

Combined with the stated specs for the PSU (below), I'm struggling to believe that the input voltage difference between 208V and 220V is what is hamstring the hash rate.

I agree. This might be anecdotal, but I'm running my M10 on 208 volts and it's been consistently hashing at the expected rate since I installed it a week ago.

Very nice of Phil to help you out. I hope it works.

Was I helpful?   BTC: 37HQFRi9qCPaWKmaD4R5F5kbLqHA1yuQyV
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1890



View Profile
March 21, 2019, 07:38:23 PM
Last edit: March 22, 2019, 10:26:28 AM by frodocooper
Merited by Steamtyme (2), NotFuzzyWarm (1), frodocooper (1)
 #193

I agree. This might be anecdotal, but I'm running my M10 on 208 volts and it's been consistently hashing at the expected rate since I installed it a week ago.

Very nice of Phil to help you out. I hope it works.

well we get to do a good test.

if the psu I sent him  gives him 29.5 to 31th  it is not the 208 volts.

The solid buss bars neg and pos   are closely spaced so I think a  bug or a spec of something made the pop

and was fried. it may have damaged the 1 wire to 3 slot bridge as that is really close to the  buss bars.

this part

https://pangolinminer.com/product/miner-adapter-board-m10-m10s-d1/  

could be the issue  that is the part I had go bad on me I never did better then 30th and the boards dropped out.   when replaced I now do 30.6th

sarcheer lives close to me .

VA and NJ are same shipping zone for usps regional flat rate box b  so it was easy to ship the spare to him.

Us miners have to stick together  Grin

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sarcheer
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 329
Merit: 91


View Profile
March 22, 2019, 01:24:49 AM
 #194

When I remove the PSU to swap it for the replacement one Phil is sending me, I'll make sure to dismantle further than that and provide pics of everything I can.

Miners:
Avalon 1041, Whatsminer M10, Antminer T15 x 2, DragonMint T1 x 3, Innosilicon T2T, R4 x 2
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1061



View Profile
March 22, 2019, 03:09:36 PM
 #195

I've got one board that's only running at 283 Freq, the others are at 550 or so. Means that effectively its almost in spec.

Mine at pools that pay transaction fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1890



View Profile
March 23, 2019, 01:03:16 PM
 #196

I've got one board that's only running at 283 Freq, the others are at 550 or so. Means that effectively its almost in spec.

yeah of my eight units some boards are lower then others.

Once warrantees are done I will cherry pick and match the boards.

of my eight units one board of 24 is a bit flakey so 23/24 good boards and one that drops in and out.

@ sarcheer psu should arrive today

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sarcheer
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 329
Merit: 91


View Profile
March 23, 2019, 05:53:12 PM
Last edit: March 25, 2019, 12:54:20 AM by frodocooper
Merited by philipma1957 (3), frodocooper (3)
 #197

Well great news! There can be no doubt, the PSU was damaged and was limiting the freq achievable by the boards. Having swapped the PSU with the replacement Philipma1957 sent me, the freq are now:
491-524-478

Previously, it was the rarest of tunes that allowed for the middle board to scratch 500, with the others hovering in the 440 range. Hashrate is now 31.1TH/s.

Pics will be added later on today for those with more EE experience to dissect to see if there is any visible damage. I will say that the black sheeting within separating the top of the PSU from the bottom appeared to have been separated from the force of the pop, with only a tiny section of the adhesive holding it closed. The replacement from Phil, even from the exterior, was clearly closed.

Thank you so much Phil, your willingness to experiment for this community is a resource we all benefit from greatly.

Edit for Photos:




Miners:
Avalon 1041, Whatsminer M10, Antminer T15 x 2, DragonMint T1 x 3, Innosilicon T2T, R4 x 2
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1890



View Profile
March 23, 2019, 06:39:41 PM
Last edit: March 25, 2019, 12:55:12 AM by frodocooper
 #198

Photos TIA
Photos
screen shots TIA
screen shots

Kudos to the post office $8.05  to ship psu NJ to VA In under 48 hours.

It is nice that it works better.

@ Pangolin  Please fix this for sarcheer   Grin

I am ordering the 72th to test for community so please continue to be helpful to us.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1327


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
March 24, 2019, 01:53:26 AM
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #199

Those last few pics show the area that shorted as evidenced by the blast marks and residue left behind. Whatever caused the short seems to have been easily vaporized since the PSU still mostly worked nonetheless but at reduced power output.

If one pours through the API report as the miners start up you will see that there is massive amounts of testing going on and the results are there in the log. I do believe that PSU voltage is one of the things that is reported for each series of tests so maybe problems with it could show up there?

Aside from that: Damn they like using that white glue. Hopefully it is a hard epoxy to not hold too much heat vs a rubbery glue...

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1890



View Profile
March 24, 2019, 04:27:12 AM
 #200

I hope they fix this now.

I really what to use them as they have been pretty good so far.

I am looking to get at least 10 new m20's if the demo works well,

maybe 20 new ones down the road.

Having a second company with good gear at a decent price helps. 

At the moment they seem to compete with bitmain gear.

I can work direct with pangolin. use btc and bank transfer.
I can work with pangolin and minefarmbuy to order with PayPal.

I can not seem to order with PayPal and offordscott.

I am waiting for a reply on the m20 72th from pangolin.
I hope helping out with this psu has not ruffled feathers.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!