Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2021, 01:22:39 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [Guide] Dogie's Comprehensive Power Supply Analysis  (Read 23076 times)
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1134


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 01, 2014, 11:11:34 AM
 #101

Dogie i see you gave best score to:

Corsair CX750M ( i have 2 of this psu, 1 for each S3).

And 2 more S3 coming, so i thought i could buy a Corsair RM850M, i see you gave it also a very good score, so i can run 2 S3 with this PSu, right??

thanks!

edit: sorry you just posted. so you say its better 1x AX 1200i instead of 1x CorsairRM850M? Why 1200W for 2 S3??(2 s3 even 3with OC im getting 725W together). So with corsair RM850M enough, right?? or not??  Grin

that 1200 corsair its so expensive for just running 2 S3, or can i run 3 s3 with that psu?

You can run 3 on the AXi, yes. And just about 2 on the 750, but it gets very close.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638580959
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638580959

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638580959
Reply with quote  #2

1638580959
Report to moderator
1638580959
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638580959

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638580959
Reply with quote  #2

1638580959
Report to moderator
1638580959
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638580959

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638580959
Reply with quote  #2

1638580959
Report to moderator
oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 251


View Profile
August 01, 2014, 11:53:11 AM
 #102

Dogie i see you gave best score to:

Corsair CX750M ( i have 2 of this psu, 1 for each S3).

And 2 more S3 coming, so i thought i could buy a Corsair RM850M, i see you gave it also a very good score, so i can run 2 S3 with this PSu, right??

thanks!

edit: sorry you just posted. so you say its better 1x AX 1200i instead of 1x CorsairRM850M? Why 1200W for 2 S3??(2 s3 even 3with OC im getting 725W together). So with corsair RM850M enough, right?? or not??  Grin

that 1200 corsair its so expensive for just running 2 S3, or can i run 3 s3 with that psu?

You can run 3 on the AXi, yes. And just about 2 on the 750, but it gets very close.

but its safe to run 2 S3 with 1 CX750M? I get 725W with 2 S3
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1134


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 01, 2014, 12:06:45 PM
 #103

Dogie i see you gave best score to:

Corsair CX750M ( i have 2 of this psu, 1 for each S3).

And 2 more S3 coming, so i thought i could buy a Corsair RM850M, i see you gave it also a very good score, so i can run 2 S3 with this PSu, right??

thanks!

edit: sorry you just posted. so you say its better 1x AX 1200i instead of 1x CorsairRM850M? Why 1200W for 2 S3??(2 s3 even 3with OC im getting 725W together). So with corsair RM850M enough, right?? or not??  Grin

that 1200 corsair its so expensive for just running 2 S3, or can i run 3 s3 with that psu?

You can run 3 on the AXi, yes. And just about 2 on the 750, but it gets very close.

but its safe to run 2 S3 with 1 CX750M? I get 725W with 2 S3
Yes

oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 251


View Profile
August 01, 2014, 12:12:33 PM
 #104

Dogie i see you gave best score to:

Corsair CX750M ( i have 2 of this psu, 1 for each S3).

And 2 more S3 coming, so i thought i could buy a Corsair RM850M, i see you gave it also a very good score, so i can run 2 S3 with this PSu, right??

thanks!

edit: sorry you just posted. so you say its better 1x AX 1200i instead of 1x CorsairRM850M? Why 1200W for 2 S3??(2 s3 even 3with OC im getting 725W together). So with corsair RM850M enough, right?? or not??  Grin

that 1200 corsair its so expensive for just running 2 S3, or can i run 3 s3 with that psu?

You can run 3 on the AXi, yes. And just about 2 on the 750, but it gets very close.

but its safe to run 2 S3 with 1 CX750M? I get 725W with 2 S3
Yes

oh ok. i read in other topic someone saying that if you get 725W for example with 2 S3, its so risky to just use a 750W because PSU´s always have a little less than the total 750W they say they have, and better to have a little more extra W than just "20W" more
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1134


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 01, 2014, 12:39:15 PM
 #105

Dogie i see you gave best score to:

Corsair CX750M ( i have 2 of this psu, 1 for each S3).

And 2 more S3 coming, so i thought i could buy a Corsair RM850M, i see you gave it also a very good score, so i can run 2 S3 with this PSu, right??

thanks!

edit: sorry you just posted. so you say its better 1x AX 1200i instead of 1x CorsairRM850M? Why 1200W for 2 S3??(2 s3 even 3with OC im getting 725W together). So with corsair RM850M enough, right?? or not??  Grin

that 1200 corsair its so expensive for just running 2 S3, or can i run 3 s3 with that psu?

You can run 3 on the AXi, yes. And just about 2 on the 750, but it gets very close.

but its safe to run 2 S3 with 1 CX750M? I get 725W with 2 S3
Yes

oh ok. i read in other topic someone saying that if you get 725W for example with 2 S3, its so risky to just use a 750W because PSU´s always have a little less than the total 750W they say they have, and better to have a little more extra W than just "20W" more

Its the other way around on most corsair series. They have a peak which is 10% above rated, the rating being 24/7 stable.

oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 251


View Profile
August 01, 2014, 12:45:25 PM
 #106

Dogie i see you gave best score to:

Corsair CX750M ( i have 2 of this psu, 1 for each S3).

And 2 more S3 coming, so i thought i could buy a Corsair RM850M, i see you gave it also a very good score, so i can run 2 S3 with this PSu, right??

thanks!

edit: sorry you just posted. so you say its better 1x AX 1200i instead of 1x CorsairRM850M? Why 1200W for 2 S3??(2 s3 even 3with OC im getting 725W together). So with corsair RM850M enough, right?? or not??  Grin

that 1200 corsair its so expensive for just running 2 S3, or can i run 3 s3 with that psu?

You can run 3 on the AXi, yes. And just about 2 on the 750, but it gets very close.

but its safe to run 2 S3 with 1 CX750M? I get 725W with 2 S3
Yes

oh ok. i read in other topic someone saying that if you get 725W for example with 2 S3, its so risky to just use a 750W because PSU´s always have a little less than the total 750W they say they have, and better to have a little more extra W than just "20W" more

Its the other way around on most corsair series. They have a peak which is 10% above rated, the rating being 24/7 stable.

oh ok then, you mean that peak of 850W for CX750M? But i suppose they dont have all the time those 850W, just from time to time or whatever. ok then i will try to run 2 S3 with just 1 CX750M lets see if it doesnt explode Grin
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 05, 2014, 05:17:22 AM
Last edit: August 05, 2014, 05:30:20 AM by allcoinminer
 #107

I have a Corsair 1200W Power supply. I used to load below 1000W on +12V rails.
Recently I noticed that one of the PCI-E power supply cable overheat a lot than all the other 5 PCI-E power cables.
I tried removing all other loads and justed tried with this overheating cable for various loads in this PSU.
Did what ever swapping and switchings I could do and found it as a cable problem.
I thoroughly inspected this faulty cable for any physical damages but couldn't find any.
This cable is only started using 2 months ago and its overheating from the first moment itself.
I suspect it as a clear case for warranty claim, looking for comments regarding this or your experience if any.
Update:
My PSU is Corsair AX1200 Modular.
http://www.corsair.com/en/professional-series-gold-ax1200-80-plus-gold-certified-fully-modular-power-supply
Hope some of you can guide me on the above.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1134


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 05, 2014, 11:44:16 AM
 #108

I have a Corsair 1200W Power supply. I used to load below 1000W on +12V rails.
Recently I noticed that one of the PCI-E power supply cable overheat a lot than all the other 5 PCI-E power cables.
I tried removing all other loads and justed tried with this overheating cable for various loads in this PSU.
Did what ever swapping and switchings I could do and found it as a cable problem.
I thoroughly inspected this faulty cable for any physical damages but couldn't find any.
This cable is only started using 2 months ago and its overheating from the first moment itself.
I suspect it as a clear case for warranty claim, looking for comments regarding this or your experience if any.
Update:
My PSU is Corsair AX1200 Modular.
http://www.corsair.com/en/professional-series-gold-ax1200-80-plus-gold-certified-fully-modular-power-supply
Hope some of you can guide me on the above.


It would only have taken 1 or two of the conductors to have broken for the load capacity to have gone way down, and so temperatures way up.

zulover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 583
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 09:47:47 PM
 #109

any way of using the eps8 pin  and atx 4pin cables on a psu to power an s3? have a 1500watt silverstone strider.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1134


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2014, 10:23:49 PM
 #110

any way of using the eps8 pin  and atx 4pin cables on a psu to power an s3? have a 1500watt silverstone strider.

Not that easy as they don't have screw terminals. You could use an interface board like the blackarrow power distribution board. So EPS 8 pin -> extender cut up -> distribution board -> PCI-E cable cut up -> S3. I don't know what the current limit on those things is.

KlatsBit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 15, 2014, 11:24:03 PM
 #111

What do you think about buying for example two corsair cxm 750W instead of buying one with 1200W? Disadvantages?
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1134


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2014, 11:40:53 PM
 #112

What do you think about buying for example two corsair cxm 750W instead of buying one with 1200W? Disadvantages?

Fine as long as you dont cross load.

zulover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 583
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 16, 2014, 07:07:51 AM
 #113

any way of using the eps8 pin  and atx 4pin cables on a psu to power an s3? have a 1500watt silverstone strider.

Not that easy as they don't have screw terminals. You could use an interface board like the blackarrow power distribution board. So EPS 8 pin -> extender cut up -> distribution board -> PCI-E cable cut up -> S3. I don't know what the current limit on those things is.

or if you could know which cables are which, just cut off the 8pin and 4pin atx and connect 6 pin pcie directly at the wire with crimps?
pokeyjones
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 21, 2014, 04:17:54 PM
 #114

Thankful for this forum!

You have 6x S1 miners. You have 3x CX750m and 2x TW750M.  how would you set that up and power the miners?
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1134


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 21, 2014, 05:35:36 PM
 #115

Thankful for this forum!

You have 6x S1 miners. You have 3x CX750m and 2x TW750M.  how would you set that up and power the miners?

TW750M?

pokeyjones
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 23, 2014, 06:22:25 AM
 #116

Thankful for this forum!

You have 6x S1 miners. You have 3x CX750m and 2x TW750M.  how would you set that up and power the miners?

TW750M?

My bad, not a tw it is an HX750W

So... to run 6x miners with:

3x CX750M
2x HX750W

??
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1134


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2014, 06:28:24 AM
 #117

Thankful for this forum!

You have 6x S1 miners. You have 3x CX750m and 2x TW750M.  how would you set that up and power the miners?

TW750M?

My bad, not a tw it is an HX750W

So... to run 6x miners with:

3x CX750M
2x HX750W

??

6 S1s = 12 blades,

3 on each PSU, ~620W load, only 4 PSUs required.

Count_Frackula
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2014, 04:19:25 PM
 #118

Personally, I'm shocked at your rating of the EVGA 1000W PSU.  I also noticed that you didn't differentiate between the G2 and the P2.

I run a 1000W P2 myself.  It actually has a 0db noise level at most loads, thanks to the eco switch on the back of it that only runs the fan when it's needed.  Sure, the cost is higher than some others, but it's a lower rating than I'd expect.  Also, the price of the 1300W has gone down a lot recently, and EVGA just released a 1200W P2.

The 10-year warranty doesn't seem to factor in to your calculations either.

Rent my SHA-256 rigs on Mining Rig Rentals.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1134


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2014, 04:33:47 PM
 #119

Personally, I'm shocked at your rating of the EVGA 1000W PSU.  I also noticed that you didn't differentiate between the G2 and the P2.

I run a 1000W P2 myself.  It actually has a 0db noise level at most loads, thanks to the eco switch on the back of it that only runs the fan when it's needed.  Sure, the cost is higher than some others, but it's a lower rating than I'd expect.  Also, the price of the 1300W has gone down a lot recently, and EVGA just released a 1200W P2.

The 10-year warranty doesn't seem to factor in to your calculations either.

Yes it does. The larger units simply don't compete in the rating due to their $/W.

Count_Frackula
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2014, 05:00:43 PM
Last edit: August 23, 2014, 05:36:10 PM by Count_Frackula
 #120

Personally, I'm shocked at your rating of the EVGA 1000W PSU.  I also noticed that you didn't differentiate between the G2 and the P2.

I run a 1000W P2 myself.  It actually has a 0db noise level at most loads, thanks to the eco switch on the back of it that only runs the fan when it's needed.  Sure, the cost is higher than some others, but it's a lower rating than I'd expect.  Also, the price of the 1300W has gone down a lot recently, and EVGA just released a 1200W P2.

The 10-year warranty doesn't seem to factor in to your calculations either.

Yes it does. The larger units simply don't compete in the rating due to their $/W.

I'm not saying it needs to have the highest rating, but I'm just saying it's a off.  
For example, you rate the Corsair RM 1000W a 77.7.  This unit has nearly identical specs to the 1000W EVGA, except it's less efficient, and has half the warranty.  In light of this, I think the EVGA 1000W needs to be at least a 78.  I imagine that this rating was done when the EVGA 100W was closer to the $300 range and never recalculated.

You should also differentiate between EVGA's gold and platinum series in your ratings.

Rent my SHA-256 rigs on Mining Rig Rentals.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!