Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2021, 12:43:30 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [Guide] Dogie's Comprehensive Power Supply Analysis  (Read 23076 times)
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1134


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2014, 05:42:35 PM
 #121

Personally, I'm shocked at your rating of the EVGA 1000W PSU.  I also noticed that you didn't differentiate between the G2 and the P2.

I run a 1000W P2 myself.  It actually has a 0db noise level at most loads, thanks to the eco switch on the back of it that only runs the fan when it's needed.  Sure, the cost is higher than some others, but it's a lower rating than I'd expect.  Also, the price of the 1300W has gone down a lot recently, and EVGA just released a 1200W P2.

The 10-year warranty doesn't seem to factor in to your calculations either.

Yes it does. The larger units simply don't compete in the rating due to their $/W.

I'm not saying it needs to have the highest rating, but I'm just saying it's a off. 
For example, you rate the Corsair RM 1000W a 77.7.  This unit has nearly identical specs to the 1000W EVGA, except it's less efficient, and has half the warranty.  In light of this, I think the EVGA 1000W needs to be at least a 78.  I imagine that this rating was done when the EVGA 100W was closer to the $300 range and never recalculated.

You should also differentiate between EVGA's gold and platinum series in your ratings.

No it actually has a lower rating because its 1000W is a strict 1000W rating. Corsair's 1000W rating is 1000W 24/7, and is really 1100W by the same modicum. Both were snapshotted at the same ~$200 price.

1638405810
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638405810

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638405810
Reply with quote  #2

1638405810
Report to moderator
1638405810
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638405810

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638405810
Reply with quote  #2

1638405810
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638405810
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638405810

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638405810
Reply with quote  #2

1638405810
Report to moderator
1638405810
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638405810

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638405810
Reply with quote  #2

1638405810
Report to moderator
pokeyjones
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 23, 2014, 10:23:21 PM
 #122

very important!!

anybody got a couple paperclips i can borrow?!?! shocking the amount of junk i have, yet not a single paper clip to be found. very anxious to get 3 more online tonight and 3 more tomorrow. the current machines i'm very pleased with, hashing away like hippies in a drum circle.
cat2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 12, 2014, 08:02:17 PM
 #123

Hi, great guide. Takes care of digging up how many pcie connectors a psu has.
Could you add Corsair HX1000w I just bought one on ebay and don't know anything about it.
Thanks

><((((º>·.·..><((((º>
..·..><((((º>
yxt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3164
Merit: 1063



View Profile
September 12, 2014, 08:09:41 PM
 #124

Personally, I'm shocked at your rating of the EVGA 1000W PSU.  I also noticed that you didn't differentiate between the G2 and the P2.

I run a 1000W P2 myself.  It actually has a 0db noise level at most loads, thanks to the eco switch on the back of it that only runs the fan when it's needed.  Sure, the cost is higher than some others, but it's a lower rating than I'd expect.  Also, the price of the 1300W has gone down a lot recently, and EVGA just released a 1200W P2.

The 10-year warranty doesn't seem to factor in to your calculations either.

Yes it does. The larger units simply don't compete in the rating due to their $/W.

I'm not saying it needs to have the highest rating, but I'm just saying it's a off. 
For example, you rate the Corsair RM 1000W a 77.7.  This unit has nearly identical specs to the 1000W EVGA, except it's less efficient, and has half the warranty.  In light of this, I think the EVGA 1000W needs to be at least a 78.  I imagine that this rating was done when the EVGA 100W was closer to the $300 range and never recalculated.

You should also differentiate between EVGA's gold and platinum series in your ratings.

No it actually has a lower rating because its 1000W is a strict 1000W rating. Corsair's 1000W rating is 1000W 24/7, and is really 1100W by the same modicum. Both were snapshotted at the same ~$200 price.

The EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 has arrived! This power supply is 80 Plus Gold Rated, offers 1000W of continuous power, exceptional efficiency and is fully modular.

BTCKano Pool██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██
██
██
██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
   ██
   ██
   ██
   ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
██ ██
   ██
   ██
   ██
   ██
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1134


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
September 13, 2014, 11:44:26 PM
 #125

Changelog 09/14/2014
  • Fixed corsair links

Ill see if this can get some love this week

Taugeran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


CCNA: There i fixed the internet.


View Profile
September 16, 2014, 12:41:12 AM
 #126

Scanned the thread for suggestions and couldn't find the corsair cs series mentioned.

80PLUS Gold

Semi modular
450-850W

Bitfury HW & Habañero : 1.625Th/s
tips/Donations: 1NoS89H3Mr6U5CmP4VwWzU2318JEMxHL1
Come join Coinbase
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1134


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
September 16, 2014, 11:52:33 AM
 #127

Scanned the thread for suggestions and couldn't find the corsair cs series mentioned.

80PLUS Gold

Semi modular
450-850W

Added CS, just waiting on Theymos to inject me some additional posts as I'm at the character cap.

Taugeran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


CCNA: There i fixed the internet.


View Profile
September 16, 2014, 05:33:13 PM
 #128

Scanned the thread for suggestions and couldn't find the corsair cs series mentioned.

80PLUS Gold

Semi modular
450-850W

Added CS, just waiting on Theymos to inject me some additional posts as I'm at the character cap.

Sweet
What r your thoughts on the 750 and cs850

Bitfury HW & Habañero : 1.625Th/s
tips/Donations: 1NoS89H3Mr6U5CmP4VwWzU2318JEMxHL1
Come join Coinbase
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1134


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
September 16, 2014, 05:53:18 PM
 #129

Scanned the thread for suggestions and couldn't find the corsair cs series mentioned.

80PLUS Gold

Semi modular
450-850W

Added CS, just waiting on Theymos to inject me some additional posts as I'm at the character cap.

Sweet
What r your thoughts on the 750 and cs850

Doesn't seem to be a justification for the price premium over the CXMs. Yes its a higher efficiency but that's about it.

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1134


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
September 22, 2014, 03:49:02 AM
 #130

Changelog 09/22/2014
  • List now spreads across two pages due to post character limit
  • Removed some unnecessary decimal places
  • Fixed some prices
  • Fixed column spacing

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3668
Merit: 1555


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 06, 2014, 10:56:25 PM
 #131

Glad I can't see the Seasonic 1200W Platinum on there.

I have 2 and they are expensive, but the cables are cheapo.

Firstly, they are 18 gauge ribbon cables, which I was surprised to find, after having good 16 gauge cables on my 2 older ~$100 cheaper OCZ 1250Ws
Secondly, the plastic cable to PSU connectors on the cables/PSU are difficult to plug together properly.

I couldn't get any of the Seasonic 1000s when I needed the 2, so I got the 1200s Sad
No idea if the 1000s have these same issues.

Pool: https://kano.is - lowest fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1134


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
October 06, 2014, 11:26:16 PM
 #132

Glad I can't see the Seasonic 1200W Platinum on there.

I have 2 and they are expensive, but the cables are cheapo.

Firstly, they are 18 gauge ribbon cables, which I was surprised to find, after having good 16 gauge cables on my 2 older ~$100 cheaper OCZ 1250Ws
Secondly, the plastic cable to PSU connectors on the cables/PSU are difficult to plug together properly.

I couldn't get any of the Seasonic 1000s when I needed the 2, so I got the 1200s Sad
No idea if the 1000s have these same issues.

I would say 18AWG is pretty standard over most PSUs, but yes @ 1200W that's a bit unusual.

loszhor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 369
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 21, 2014, 09:00:24 AM
 #133

I've got a noobish question to ask a product warning to share.

If I am using a 750w PSU for an S1 that is only using 360w am I still paying the the remaining power? As in, am I still paying for 750w even if I am currently only 360w to mine?

-

Beware of the Sentey brand of PSUs. The prices are indeed too good to be true. This one in particular keep losing power and within a day caught on fire. I will always read the low ratings first before buying something from now on.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JEJZ1MA/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

16wQCVFXYuSp4AYsBqV9Uqa2dd1V4YXvJ5
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1134


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
October 21, 2014, 01:08:15 PM
 #134

I've got a noobish question to ask a product warning to share.

If I am using a 750w PSU for an S1 that is only using 360w am I still paying the the remaining power? As in, am I still paying for 750w even if I am currently only 360w to mine?

No, the PSU has a 750W capacity, but will only use 360W + a bit for inefficiencies.

loszhor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 369
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 09:10:29 AM
 #135

I've got a noobish question to ask a product warning to share.

If I am using a 750w PSU for an S1 that is only using 360w am I still paying the the remaining power? As in, am I still paying for 750w even if I am currently only 360w to mine?

No, the PSU has a 750W capacity, but will only use 360W + a bit for inefficiencies.

OK, thank you for the information.

16wQCVFXYuSp4AYsBqV9Uqa2dd1V4YXvJ5
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!