Bitcoin Forum
April 20, 2018, 07:01:04 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Hosting CoinTerra @home  (Read 1027 times)
Entropy-uc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 501


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 07:55:52 PM
 #21

They are far too loud for a residential setup.

And at $300 per month for hosting, you will lose money each month shortly.  The ASIC gold rush is over.
1524250864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524250864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524250864
Reply with quote  #2

1524250864
Report to moderator
Whoever mines the block which ends up containing your transaction will get its fee.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524250864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524250864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524250864
Reply with quote  #2

1524250864
Report to moderator
aerobatic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 702
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 09:37:40 PM
 #22

Your are likely going to need two 240V 45AMP circuits installed. A whole house surge protector is recommended also, as 240V surge protectors for high AMP devices are much more expensive than using a single whole house protector. You would likely need 200AMP mains service to support this along with your normal needs, which not all house have.  Best bet is going to be calling up a electrician and them come out to give a quote.

why do you need two 45 amp circuits?

2100 watts at 240 volts is 9 amps... you won't need two circuits... one will do.

however, if you're using 120 volts... then you'll need two circuits, because 18 Amps continuous draw is higher than the average household breaker.
volosator
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 28, 2014, 10:31:51 PM
 #23

Another idea - get one of APC power strips - they can run 240V off 2 phases.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!