Bitcoin Forum
May 24, 2018, 10:21:35 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Hosting CoinTerra @home  (Read 1027 times)
Hiroaki
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 399
Merit: 270



View Profile
February 28, 2014, 04:13:21 PM
 #1

Hi,
How can I host (safely) several Cointerra units at home, without overstaining my electricity circuit ?
They consume between 1900W and 2100W.

I would be willing to make some adjustments (if price is reasonable).

Thanks for your help !


Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527157295
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527157295

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527157295
Reply with quote  #2

1527157295
Report to moderator
1527157295
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527157295

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527157295
Reply with quote  #2

1527157295
Report to moderator
1527157295
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527157295

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527157295
Reply with quote  #2

1527157295
Report to moderator
bobsag3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500

Owner, Minersource.net


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 04:33:43 PM
 #2

Hi,
How can I host (safely) several Cointerra units at home, without overstaining my electricity circuit ?
They consume between 1900W and 2100W.

I would be willing to make some adjustments (if price is reasonable).

Thanks for your help !



Several? Your going to have issues, A single CT needs 2 separate 15A 120v breakers to function, unless you have spare 20/30A breakers for stove/dryer etc.
Colin Miner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
February 28, 2014, 04:38:13 PM
 #3

Hi,
How can I host (safely) several Cointerra units at home, without overstaining my electricity circuit ?
They consume between 1900W and 2100W.

Put one on each ring?

FREE Namecoins (NMC), Devcoins (DVC) and IxCoins (iXC) while you mine Bitcoins (BTC) on the pool, in the cloud or both. Free to join, click here to Sign Up and mine your free coins.
Cheap VPS Hosting here or budget conscious Free cPanel hosting here. Buy BTC the safe and easy way at Localbitcoins.com (US and UK).
 "I'm no longer as confident as I was this morning." - xkeyscore89.  My Addie.cc.
more Free: BTC, LTC, FTC, TIPS, WDC, EAC & IFC
GigaWave
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 244
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 04:49:08 PM
 #4

Your are likely going to need two 240V 45AMP circuits installed. A whole house surge protector is recommended also, as 240V surge protectors for high AMP devices are much more expensive than using a single whole house protector. You would likely need 200AMP mains service to support this along with your normal needs, which not all house have.  Best bet is going to be calling up a electrician and them come out to give a quote.
Hiroaki
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 399
Merit: 270



View Profile
February 28, 2014, 04:49:58 PM
 #5

Quote
Several? Your going to have issues, A single CT needs 2 separate 15A 120v breakers to function, unless you have spare 20/30A breakers for stove/dryer etc.

I thought this is gonna happen, I hope i do not have to convince my friends to babysit the miners.
Do you think it would be very difficult /expensive to install the right breakers ? Obviously done by an "electricity expert".


GigaWave
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 244
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 04:51:22 PM
 #6

Since you are asking these question, I would call a electrician. If you screw up you can burn down your house.
Hiroaki
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 399
Merit: 270



View Profile
February 28, 2014, 04:52:36 PM
 #7

Quote
Your are going to likely go to need two 240V 45AMP circuits installed. A whole house surge protector is recommended also, as 240V surge protectors for high AMP devices are much more expensive than using a single whole house protector. You would likely need 200AMP mains service to support this along with your normal needs, which not all house have.  Best bet is going to be calling up a electrician and them come out to give a quote.

That sounds like the best solution. I will give a few calls to some electricians and let you guys know what the outcome will be.
Anyone an idea what this could cost  ?

Dalkore
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1000


ASIC Miner Hosting: www.bitcoinasichosting.com


View Profile WWW
February 28, 2014, 05:01:47 PM
 #8

PMed you. I will send you a hosting quote.  These units eat a ton of juice and need good cooling.

Cheers,
Dalkore

Hosting: Low as $85.00 per KW - Link
Transaction List: jayson3 +5 - ColdHardMetal +3 - Nolo +2 - CoinHoarder +1 - Elxiliath +1 - tymm0 +1 - Johnniewalker +1 - Oscer +1 - Davidj411 +1 - BitCoiner2012 +1 - dstruct2k +1 - Philj +1 - camolist +1 - exahash +1 - Littleshop +1 - Severian +1 - DebitMe +1 - lepenguin +1 - StringTheory +1 - amagimetals +1 - jcoin200 +1 - serp +1 - klintay +1 - -droid- +1 - FlutterPie +1
GigaWave
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 244
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 05:25:44 PM
 #9

PMed you. I will send you a hosting quote.  These units eat a ton of juice and need good cooling.

Cheers,
Dalkore

$68 month for $7 your cost in electricity? No thank you.  That's like a 900% mark up, I am in the wrong business.

Is my math wrong? That seems a bit steep.
Hiroaki
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 399
Merit: 270



View Profile
February 28, 2014, 05:30:07 PM
 #10

Quote
$68 month for $7 your cost in electricity? No thank you.

Is my math wrong? That seems a bit steep.

I think it is: $295.64/month

http://bitcoinasichosting.com/pricing

GigaWave
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 244
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 05:34:50 PM
 #11

Quote
$68 month for $7 your cost in electricity? No thank you.

Is my math wrong? That seems a bit steep.

I think it is: $295.64/month

http://bitcoinasichosting.com/pricing

I took the calculation form the BFL Single SC #.

The Terraminer IV is a much better deal. Only about 10-15% markup. Maybe this is due to the rack mount nature of TMIV.
JoseSan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 05:45:05 PM
 #12

Quote
Your are going to likely go to need two 240V 45AMP circuits installed. A whole house surge protector is recommended also, as 240V surge protectors for high AMP devices are much more expensive than using a single whole house protector. You would likely need 200AMP mains service to support this along with your normal needs, which not all house have.  Best bet is going to be calling up a electrician and them come out to give a quote.

That sounds like the best solution. I will give a few calls to some electricians and let you guys know what the outcome will be.
Anyone an idea what this could cost  ?

A liberal estimate (using a *good* electrician) would be about $2000.
Hiroaki
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 399
Merit: 270



View Profile
February 28, 2014, 05:51:35 PM
 #13

Quote
A liberal estimate (using a *good* electrician) would be about $2000.

Thanks. Dalkore's offer sounds as well interesting  Smiley

volosator
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 28, 2014, 06:42:02 PM
 #14

I got 4x 20A circuits installed for $200, including parts.
Dalkore
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1000


ASIC Miner Hosting: www.bitcoinasichosting.com


View Profile WWW
February 28, 2014, 07:14:03 PM
 #15

PMed you. I will send you a hosting quote.  These units eat a ton of juice and need good cooling.

Cheers,
Dalkore

$68 month for $7 your cost in electricity? No thank you.  That's like a 900% mark up, I am in the wrong business.

Is my math wrong? That seems a bit steep.

Sure the power is cheap but the redundant power infrastructure, large commercial HVAC, redundant fiber connection, 24 hour monitoring and tech support (they do have issues) is not $7.    You need the low power cost to keep everything else cheaper.  I will be doing a video tour soon and that will help people see what it entails.  Thank you for your question. 

Hosting: Low as $85.00 per KW - Link
Transaction List: jayson3 +5 - ColdHardMetal +3 - Nolo +2 - CoinHoarder +1 - Elxiliath +1 - tymm0 +1 - Johnniewalker +1 - Oscer +1 - Davidj411 +1 - BitCoiner2012 +1 - dstruct2k +1 - Philj +1 - camolist +1 - exahash +1 - Littleshop +1 - Severian +1 - DebitMe +1 - lepenguin +1 - StringTheory +1 - amagimetals +1 - jcoin200 +1 - serp +1 - klintay +1 - -droid- +1 - FlutterPie +1
psycho-pass
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 07:14:35 PM
 #16

I got 4x 20A circuits installed for $200, including parts.


0.o here in uk its 32A 230v, whats ur V rating
Dalkore
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1000


ASIC Miner Hosting: www.bitcoinasichosting.com


View Profile WWW
February 28, 2014, 07:20:08 PM
 #17

I got 4x 20A circuits installed for $200, including parts.


Don't forget your cooling.   75 degrees or less is where you need to keep the room for optimal hashing.


Hosting: Low as $85.00 per KW - Link
Transaction List: jayson3 +5 - ColdHardMetal +3 - Nolo +2 - CoinHoarder +1 - Elxiliath +1 - tymm0 +1 - Johnniewalker +1 - Oscer +1 - Davidj411 +1 - BitCoiner2012 +1 - dstruct2k +1 - Philj +1 - camolist +1 - exahash +1 - Littleshop +1 - Severian +1 - DebitMe +1 - lepenguin +1 - StringTheory +1 - amagimetals +1 - jcoin200 +1 - serp +1 - klintay +1 - -droid- +1 - FlutterPie +1
volosator
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 28, 2014, 07:30:37 PM
 #18

I got 4x 20A circuits installed for $200, including parts.


Don't forget your cooling.   75 degrees or less is where you need to keep the room for optimal hashing.



It's in a cold basement. 37F is ambient temp.
iglasses
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 07:46:10 PM
 #19

Since you are asking these question, I would call a electrician. If you screw up you can burn down your house. destroy your miner

I only have a signature because I'm allowed.
StringTheory
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10


Making Sense of Things


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 07:48:17 PM
 #20

Quote
Several? Your going to have issues, A single CT needs 2 separate 15A 120v breakers to function, unless you have spare 20/30A breakers for stove/dryer etc.

I thought this is gonna happen, I hope i do not have to convince my friends to babysit the miners.
Do you think it would be very difficult /expensive to install the right breakers ? Obviously done by an "electricity expert".



Hey Hiroaki, I'm Dalkore's business partner and another owner at www.bitcoinasichosting.com

Something I need to stress is making sure you calculate the total cost of everything required to do an electrical upgrade to a residential unit.  Permitting, wiring, paneling, and installation of A/C are the things that come immediately to mind.  Also, unless you are the owner of the house, doing extensive power upgrades that will be left at the house might be something to consider.  Last thing is simply the noise and the heat.  These Cointerras are LOUD, expect to hear one from 2-3 rooms away in a residential setting.

Hope you find the best solution for your mining needs!

StringTheory

PS. Don't run 3 or more in a small house unless you love nonstop Dubstep   Tongue

Successful Transactions: jayson3 +1
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!