Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:30:14 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Magnet Link?  (Read 3032 times)
tiberiandusk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 580


The North Remembers


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2011, 09:11:22 AM
 #1

Is it possible to add magnet link support similar to those used by bittorrent sites to the Bitcoin program so you could make a magnet link of your Wallet address? That way people with Bitcoin installed could just click a link and have an easy way to donate or pay for stuff.

Bitcoin Auction House http://www.BitBid.net BTC - 1EwfBVC6BwA6YeqcYZmm3htwykK3MStW6N | LTC - LdBpJJHj4WSAsUqaTbwyJQFiG1tVjo4Uys Don't get Goxed.
1481229014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229014
Reply with quote  #2

1481229014
Report to moderator
1481229014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229014
Reply with quote  #2

1481229014
Report to moderator
1481229014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229014
Reply with quote  #2

1481229014
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481229014
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229014

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229014
Reply with quote  #2

1481229014
Report to moderator
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
March 26, 2011, 08:41:25 PM
 #2

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/URI_Scheme

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
ryepdx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile WWW
March 26, 2011, 08:44:34 PM
 #3


Someone needs to write a Firefox/Chrome/IE extension to support that scheme.
ThiagoCMC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!


View Profile WWW
July 14, 2011, 02:30:18 AM
 #4

Let's do it?!?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magnet_URI_scheme
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uniform_Resource_Name

Mercado Forex acessível para todos os Brasileiros que tenham Bitcoins! Cadastre-se hoje mesmo! Bastar acessar aqui: https://1broker.com/m/r.php?i=8879
cande
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


https://bt.cx


View Profile WWW
July 22, 2012, 09:07:47 PM
 #5

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/BIP_0021

BTCX "more Private than Swiss banking"
https://bt.cx
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
July 22, 2012, 11:52:54 PM
 #6


Someone needs to write a Firefox/Chrome/IE extension to support that scheme.

what would an extension do? if the client program doesn't register the URI scheme you can't really do anything and most people would do
Code:
<a href="bitcoin:175tWpb8K1S7NmH4Zx6rewF9WQrcZv245W">Donate HERE</a>
anyway

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
Dice
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 06:54:21 PM
 #7

Quote
Someone needs to write a Firefox/Chrome/IE extension to support that scheme.

Based on this reply i think it can be done in a hackish nature for Chrome:

http://stackoverflow.com/a/2337525/1219907

gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2012, 07:01:06 PM
 #8

Quote
Someone needs to write a Firefox/Chrome/IE extension to support that scheme.

Based on this reply i think it can be done in a hackish nature for Chrome:

http://stackoverflow.com/a/2337525/1219907

if you read the top, it says that it needs to be registered to the OS, bitcoin-qt isn't registered to the OS as a handler for the bitcoin URI.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2012, 07:04:58 PM
 #9

These URIs should all work "out-of-the-box" if your Bitcoin application does its job correctly (and registers itself with your OS).  Unfortunately, Bitcoin-Qt does not do this, for reasons I haven't fully understood yet (perhaps bugginess of implementation).  However, most of the alternative clients do this, and simply installing and/or running those programs once will then make "bitcoin:" links clickable from any browser without the user having to setup anything.

Armory checks for the currently-registered application on load and asks if you want to make Armory default.  Multibit and Electrum, I believe they register themselves as the "bitcoin:" handler when you install them.  I think some pressure should be applied to the core Bitcoin-Qt dev team to do something like this too.  It's a tremendously valuable feature for Bitcoin users, especially new ones, to not have to copy and paste information all over the place to send money.  

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Dice
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 07:06:27 PM
 #10

Quote
Someone needs to write a Firefox/Chrome/IE extension to support that scheme.

Based on this reply i think it can be done in a hackish nature for Chrome:

http://stackoverflow.com/a/2337525/1219907

if you read the top, it says that it needs to be registered to the OS, bitcoin-qt isn't registered to the OS as a handler for the bitcoin URI.
I see, yup just read up on it and it can be achieved i believe from bitcoin-qt by coding up the following:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa767914%28v=vs.85%29.aspx

gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2012, 07:16:02 PM
 #11

Quote
Someone needs to write a Firefox/Chrome/IE extension to support that scheme.

Based on this reply i think it can be done in a hackish nature for Chrome:

http://stackoverflow.com/a/2337525/1219907

if you read the top, it says that it needs to be registered to the OS, bitcoin-qt isn't registered to the OS as a handler for the bitcoin URI.
I see, yup just read up on it and it can be achieved i believe from bitcoin-qt by coding up the following:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa767914%28v=vs.85%29.aspx

Read etotheipi what says about bitcoin-qt, it doesn't support the bitcoin URI as of now, and plus if you could send the URI to bitcoin-qt it will not parse it or accept it. So getting bitcoin-qt to work would take you coding it yourself.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 07:19:00 PM
 #12

I thought the installer for bitcoin-qt took care of the URI registration, but the standalone won't do it. It's an NSIS installer, so it would be easy to extract the code and create a patcher that updates the registry without doing anything else.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2012, 07:20:18 PM
 #13

I thought the installer for bitcoin-qt took care of the URI registration, but the standalone won't do it. It's an NSIS installer, so it would be easy to extract the code and create a patcher that updates the registry without doing anything else.

only bad thing that is only for windows not Mac Sad

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 07:59:33 PM
 #14

I thought the installer for bitcoin-qt took care of the URI registration, but the standalone won't do it. It's an NSIS installer, so it would be easy to extract the code and create a patcher that updates the registry without doing anything else.

only bad thing that is only for windows not Mac Sad
I tried it just for fun, but for some reason the string doesn't get passed properly, or else Bitcoin-qt doesn't yet know how to handle URIs. This is the code I used:

Code:
OutFile bitcoin-register-URI.exe
InstallDir $PROGRAMFILES\Bitcoin

Section Main SEC0000
WriteRegStr HKCR "bitcoin" "URL Protocol" ""
WriteRegStr HKCR "bitcoin" "" "URL:Bitcoin"
WriteRegStr HKCR "bitcoin\DefaultIcon" "" $INSTDIR\bitcoin-qt.exe
WriteRegStr HKCR "bitcoin\shell\open\command" "" '"$INSTDIR\bitcoin-qt.exe" "$$1"'
SectionEnd

It works, except that when you click a link bitcoin-qt complains that it is already running and then exits.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Foxpup
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile
July 23, 2012, 08:04:46 PM
 #15

Read etotheipi what says about bitcoin-qt, it doesn't support the bitcoin URI as of now, and plus if you could send the URI to bitcoin-qt it will not parse it or accept it. So getting bitcoin-qt to work would take you coding it yourself.
Bitcoin-Qt does fully support bitcoin URIs, and has since version 0.6.0, it just doesn't doesn't automatically register itself as a URI handler. You can register it manually if you want, and even if you don't, you can still pass bitcoin URIs to it as a command-line argument or drag-and-drop bitcoin URI links onto the Bitcoin-Qt window.

I tried it just for fun, but for some reason the string doesn't get passed properly, or else Bitcoin-qt doesn't yet know how to handle URIs. This is the code I used:

Code:
Name "Bitcoin Standalone URI Registration"
SetCompressor /SOLID lzma

OutFile bitcoin-register-URI.exe
InstallDir $PROGRAMFILES\Bitcoin
CRCCheck on

Section -Main SEC0000
WriteRegStr HKCR "bitcoin" "URL Protocol" ""
WriteRegStr HKCR "bitcoin" "" "URL:Bitcoin"
WriteRegStr HKCR "bitcoin\DefaultIcon" "" $INSTDIR\bitcoin-qt.exe
WriteRegStr HKCR "bitcoin\shell\open\command" "" '"$INSTDIR\bitcoin-qt.exe" "$$1"'
SectionEnd

It works, except that when you click a link bitcoin-qt complains that it is already running and then exits.
What version of Bitcoin-Qt are you using?

Will pretend to do unverifiable things (while actually eating an enchilada-style burrito) for bitcoins: 1K6d1EviQKX3SVKjPYmJGyWBb1avbmCFM4
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 08:07:50 PM
 #16

What version of Bitcoin-Qt are you using?
0.6.3

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2012, 08:08:43 PM
 #17

Not directed towards any particular person/group, I created a walk-thru based on my experience implementing URI support in Armory.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=79010.0

It shows how to do it in windows with the registry (non-admin, like Firefox/Chrome/IE setting your default browser), and for a couple of Ubuntu/Gnome variants (because it's fairly straightforward in Gnome, but Ubuntu 11.04+ switched to Unity and this kind of registration doesn't work anymore).


Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2012, 08:10:53 PM
 #18

I did testing it doesn't work at all and I am on Mac OSX 10.7.4 and using 6.3

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
Foxpup
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile
July 23, 2012, 08:13:05 PM
 #19

What version of Bitcoin-Qt are you using?
0.6.3
What happens if you just run "bitcoin-qt bitcoin:somerandomaddress" from the command line (while Bitcoin-Qt is already running)?

Will pretend to do unverifiable things (while actually eating an enchilada-style burrito) for bitcoins: 1K6d1EviQKX3SVKjPYmJGyWBb1avbmCFM4
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 08:18:11 PM
 #20

What version of Bitcoin-Qt are you using?
0.6.3
What happens if you just run "bitcoin-qt bitcoin:somerandomaddress" from the command line (while Bitcoin-Qt is already running)?
I get the same error:

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!