Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2016, 02:00:21 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.0 (New!) [Torrent]. Make sure you verify it.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin x64 for Windows  (Read 25470 times)
andy_3_913
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
July 27, 2010, 08:19:42 PM
 #121

ran great for me the first 18hrs then crashed, has been crashing since every once in a while. I am using the script posted to keep it up and running. I have not generated any coins either but, the difficulty per block has jump again recently.

the script works fine.
only one problem, when bc crashes, windows puts up a box asking do i want to close the program and search for a solution online, or just close the program.
is there any way of bypassing this? because the script comes to a halt while this box is waiting for input from me.

172Yrvwi9xn25Ss17fZMNk56iu8FvcvtLS
1474768821
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474768821

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474768821
Reply with quote  #2

1474768821
Report to moderator
1474768821
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474768821

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474768821
Reply with quote  #2

1474768821
Report to moderator
1474768821
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474768821

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474768821
Reply with quote  #2

1474768821
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2010, 08:33:37 PM
 #122

ran great for me the first 18hrs then crashed, has been crashing since every once in a while. I am using the script posted to keep it up and running. I have not generated any coins either but, the difficulty per block has jump again recently.

the script works fine.
only one problem, when bc crashes, windows puts up a box asking do i want to close the program and search for a solution online, or just close the program.
is there any way of bypassing this? because the script comes to a halt while this box is waiting for input from me.

I've never seen that on mine, it blows up silently. I think it's because I have the "error reporting service" disabled so that the box never comes on my servers.

Olipro
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 27, 2010, 08:57:13 PM
 #123

the bug is some sort of threading issue, I'm trying to figure it out.

new build based on Satoshi's latest SVN commits coming soon.

Bitcoins accepted to 18em7jEuKe1W74ChAZMFShUuqmwudWmpgu Smiley
ledskof
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
July 28, 2010, 07:38:34 AM
 #124

the script works fine.
only one problem, when bc crashes, windows puts up a box asking do i want to close the program and search for a solution online, or just close the program.
is there any way of bypassing this? because the script comes to a halt while this box is waiting for input from me.

If you're using Windows 7:

Control Panel
(If your Control Panel is in noob Category mode, go to System and Security)
Action Center
Change Action Center settings
Problem reporting Settings
Never Check for solutions (not recommended)

otherwise, go google it with your OS + "disable error reporting"

13ThJTiHF3BvW6TTWtdN5nCEZrrNrnb9o4
andy_3_913
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
July 28, 2010, 02:21:17 PM
 #125

the script works fine.
only one problem, when bc crashes, windows puts up a box asking do i want to close the program and search for a solution online, or just close the program.
is there any way of bypassing this? because the script comes to a halt while this box is waiting for input from me.

If you're using Windows 7:

Control Panel
(If your Control Panel is in noob Category mode, go to System and Security)
Action Center
Change Action Center settings
Problem reporting Settings
Never Check for solutions (not recommended)

otherwise, go google it with your OS + "disable error reporting"

had tried that.
damn thing had turned back on again!
see if it stays off this time Smiley

edit:
will try the solution/s in this thread:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=580.0

172Yrvwi9xn25Ss17fZMNk56iu8FvcvtLS
andy_3_913
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
July 28, 2010, 02:54:25 PM
 #126

if the unofficial bitcoin crashes, does it lose any progress it has made and have to restart from the beginning of whatever it was working on?

yes, i'm a bit of a thickie, still not quite sure of the internal workings  Roll Eyes

172Yrvwi9xn25Ss17fZMNk56iu8FvcvtLS
knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2010, 03:21:37 PM
 #127

if the unofficial bitcoin crashes, does it lose any progress it has made and have to restart from the beginning of whatever it was working on?

yes, i'm a bit of a thickie, still not quite sure of the internal workings  Roll Eyes
You won't lose your balance, but it will have to start over. It already starts over each time a new block is found, so at most you'll lose a few minutes spent on the previous block.

andy_3_913
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
July 28, 2010, 03:24:30 PM
 #128

if the unofficial bitcoin crashes, does it lose any progress it has made and have to restart from the beginning of whatever it was working on?

yes, i'm a bit of a thickie, still not quite sure of the internal workings  Roll Eyes
You won't lose your balance, but it will have to start over. It already starts over each time a new block is found, so at most you'll lose a few minutes spent on the previous block.

thanks.
that's a relief Cheesy

172Yrvwi9xn25Ss17fZMNk56iu8FvcvtLS
ichi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 28, 2010, 08:31:35 PM
 #129

Also, in my experience, one can switch from one build to another and use the same wallet etc.
knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2010, 08:42:28 PM
 #130

Also, in my experience, one can switch from one build to another and use the same wallet etc.
Same experience for me, plus I've generated coin with these builds, never had any trouble transferring it around or spending it, so the experimental builds are following the Bit Coin protocol properly like the rest of the *release* clients out there.

Olipro
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 29, 2010, 04:10:19 PM
 #131

OK, finally got around to doing the builds, thanks to the fact Satoshi is now using the crypto++ stuff I've been able to build it with VS without there being any performance difference between it and the Intel compiler, so with any luck we should have good stability.

Please note that the x86 and x64 builds are not equal; the x64 version uses the full x64 SHA256 ASM code.

I'm getting close to 5000khash/s on the x64 build and about 200k less on the x86 build (so no doubt the more cores you have the more you'll notice the difference)

Link Updated, I removed the pointless ByteReverse operations and I've broken over 5000khash/s

anyway, grab it here

Bitcoins accepted to 18em7jEuKe1W74ChAZMFShUuqmwudWmpgu Smiley
kosovito
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
July 29, 2010, 04:25:45 PM
 #132

From 3800 (the last realease x64) to 4300 (actual realease).

Now i hope more stability

Thanks

Please sir, give me any coin Smiley  135T7F27z7Mtvwffz359BE1zSfYgT1oJ8S
knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
July 29, 2010, 04:45:06 PM
 #133

Yeah, works well. I'll let it run on a few servers for a while to see how stable it is.

At this rate, we'll all double the difficult again just because we keep getting clients that double up over and over on the khash/s   Grin

These builds now out-pace my linux machines on similar hardware, very impressive!

andy_3_913
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
July 29, 2010, 04:52:31 PM
 #134

OK, finally got around to doing the builds, thanks to the fact Satoshi is now using the crypto++ stuff I've been able to build it with VS without there being any performance difference between it and the Intel compiler, so with any luck we should have good stability.

Please note that the x86 and x64 builds are not equal; the x64 version uses the full x64 SHA256 ASM code.

I'm getting close to 5000khash/s on the x64 build and about 200k less on the x86 build (so no doubt the more cores you have the more you'll notice the difference)

anyway, grab it here

excellent work you're doing!
when (if) i manage to generate some coins, i'll make sure to pass some your way  Grin

172Yrvwi9xn25Ss17fZMNk56iu8FvcvtLS
ledskof
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
July 29, 2010, 05:01:47 PM
 #135

running the new 64bit build
my Core i7 720QM Win7 work laptop, while running all kinds of work tools, is getting about 2500 khash/s
my Core i7 965 with Win7 at home gets about 5100 khash/s (oops I lied, I haven't ran this one at home yet.  Running the previous version, will update tonight)

13ThJTiHF3BvW6TTWtdN5nCEZrrNrnb9o4
Olipro
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 29, 2010, 05:13:00 PM
 #136

Forgot to add an optimization for x64 that gets rid of the ByteReverse operations; due to the the x64 asm all the reversed bytes get unreversed when passed to the algorithm which is quite a waste so I've removed it and it's building now.

Bitcoins accepted to 18em7jEuKe1W74ChAZMFShUuqmwudWmpgu Smiley
Olipro
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 29, 2010, 05:20:30 PM
 #137

and with that addition, I've broken over 5000khash/s for the first time.

I've updated the link above, so just redownload.

Bitcoins accepted to 18em7jEuKe1W74ChAZMFShUuqmwudWmpgu Smiley
kosovito
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
July 29, 2010, 05:24:21 PM
 #138

and with that addition, I've broken over 5000khash/s for the first time.

I've updated the link above, so just redownload.

New Link please

Please sir, give me any coin Smiley  135T7F27z7Mtvwffz359BE1zSfYgT1oJ8S
andy_3_913
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
July 29, 2010, 05:30:42 PM
 #139

and with that addition, I've broken over 5000khash/s for the first time.

I've updated the link above, so just redownload.

New Link please

just click on the link he provided before.
it's been updated Smiley

172Yrvwi9xn25Ss17fZMNk56iu8FvcvtLS
Olipro
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 29, 2010, 05:32:38 PM
 #140

done, grab it, everyone who sees this should redownload, I had to correct an optimization on the result hash reversal so that it correctly rotated the values after doing a 64 bit byteswap (yes, you don't have to byteswap the input but you still have to reverse the result)

Bitcoins accepted to 18em7jEuKe1W74ChAZMFShUuqmwudWmpgu Smiley
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!