Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 10:53:41 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin x64 for Windows  (Read 25849 times)
knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2010, 02:47:05 AM
 #21

Testing with the 32bit client, your build 32bit client build crashes sad to say on a stock system (Windows XP) anyway. Going to later test on Vista, 7, etc and report back.

1480935221
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480935221

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480935221
Reply with quote  #2

1480935221
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480935221
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480935221

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480935221
Reply with quote  #2

1480935221
Report to moderator
1480935221
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480935221

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480935221
Reply with quote  #2

1480935221
Report to moderator
1480935221
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480935221

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480935221
Reply with quote  #2

1480935221
Report to moderator
Olipro
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 21, 2010, 02:52:40 AM
 #22

Testing with the 32bit client, your build 32bit client build crashes sad to say on a stock system (Windows XP) anyway. Going to later test on Vista, 7, etc and report back.
]

do you have the Visual C++ 2010 runtime installed? if not, that's why.
Vasiliev
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
July 21, 2010, 02:55:09 AM
 #23

I recommend getting the redist from the official source:

x64 here: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=bd2a6171-e2d6-4230-b809-9a8d7548c1b6
Your link is wrong; it's for the 2008 redist, not the 2010.

2010 x64: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?displaylang=en&FamilyID=bd512d9e-43c8-4655-81bf-9350143d5867

1DiaPwjDV6rLB2KrBA7gzitzSWCJmXnESy
knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2010, 02:56:45 AM
 #24

Does that apply for the x86 one also, since that's what I was using to test the 32bit build he had?

[edit] I just checked, it was good for the 32bit  Roll Eyes

Olipro
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 21, 2010, 02:57:55 AM
 #25

no, that's definitely correct.

there is another possibility however... what processor is in your XP machine? if it doesn't support SSE2, it'll crash.
knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2010, 02:59:09 AM
 #26

Testing with the 32bit client, your build 32bit client build crashes sad to say on a stock system (Windows XP) anyway. Going to later test on Vista, 7, etc and report back.
]

do you have the Visual C++ 2010 runtime installed? if not, that's why.
Yes, straight from the download link on the previous page for x86.

I looked through the error log a little, didn't spot anything that stood out.

knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2010, 02:59:45 AM
 #27

no, that's definitely correct.

there is another possibility however... what processor is in your XP machine? if it doesn't support SSE2, it'll crash.

Tested it a Celeron machine (1.1 GHz)

Good point, I'll see what the others do.

jimbobway
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1380



View Profile
July 21, 2010, 04:14:34 AM
 #28

How do we know this is not a scam?  Give us your IP to donate with or something so we can make sure you are reputable.  I am scared to install it, it might steal my bitcoins.

If I were scamming, what incentive would I have to ask for donations knowing that those who used it would have their account emptied anyway. Frankly though, my username is far more of a verification of my authenticity than my IP would ever be Smiley

I can assure you the code is 100% clean.


Sorry to be so skeptical, but there was a victim on this site when someone claimed to have compiled a CUDA client that used the graphics processor to hash.  One guy fell for it and lost some bitcoins.

But yes, if I get a chance I will look at the dlls I suppose before running it.

Or, maybe you can release the project files and we can compile it ourselves?

░░░░░░░░░██████░░░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄
░░███░░██████░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄░░██
░░███░░█████████████
░░░░░░░░██████▀▀██████████
░░░░░░░░██████░░░░░██████████
░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░░░███████
░░░░░██████░░░███░░░░███████
░░░░░██████░░░███
░░░░░███████▄▄▄▄▄████████
░░░░░████████████████████
░░▄▄▄▄▄░░█████░░░░█████████
█████░░█████░░░░█████████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░░█████████

START GETTING PAID FOR YOUR ATTENTION!
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
JUSTICE IN THE WORLD OF ONLINE ADVERTISING!

BUY MASS COIN 】【 ICO PROSPECTUS
VISIT OUR WEBSITE
TWITTER 】【 FACEBOOK 】【 TELEGRAM

knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2010, 04:52:36 AM
 #29

How do we know this is not a scam?  Give us your IP to donate with or something so we can make sure you are reputable.  I am scared to install it, it might steal my bitcoins.

If I were scamming, what incentive would I have to ask for donations knowing that those who used it would have their account emptied anyway. Frankly though, my username is far more of a verification of my authenticity than my IP would ever be Smiley

I can assure you the code is 100% clean.


Sorry to be so skeptical, but there was a victim on this site when someone claimed to have compiled a CUDA client that used the graphics processor to hash.  One guy fell for it and lost some bitcoins.

But yes, if I get a chance I will look at the dlls I suppose before running it.

Or, maybe you can release the project files and we can compile it ourselves?
Point well taken, but the CUDA never materialized, this one actually does what he said it does. So if it is a scam, it sure is taking a lot of effort.  Smiley

knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2010, 05:04:00 AM
 #30

I think he should really present to this devs to get credit for it and some BC because I'm going to send some to him for raising my khash/s up and beyond the already insane levels that I have.  Grin

knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2010, 05:24:12 AM
 #31

For 32bit clients, this makes a huge speed increase (if your PC supports it)

I was using a little netbook to test with, it could manage about 185 khash/s but his compile does 238 khash/s so over a 28% increase (what I saw in the 64 bit clients), so another thumbs up for this build. (Exe size is smaller too  Wink )

Ground Loop
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 21, 2010, 05:40:30 PM
 #32

Here's a weird question.. has anyone actually generated a block with this faster version?

I have a few machines that used to regularly generate, and since switching to this version -- zip.  I know these things are subject to random variation, and it could be a dry spell, and the difficulty is going up, but... could it be a bug?

Bitcoin accepted here: 1HrAmQk9EuH3Ak6ugsw3qi3g23DG6YUNPq
ichi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 21, 2010, 06:16:32 PM
 #33

Don't worry, getting BTC now requires supercomputers, clusters and/or botnets  Wink

Counterexamples, with Khash/s noted, welcome  Smiley
Quantumplation
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
July 21, 2010, 06:17:35 PM
 #34

Ichi: I got 2 blocks in a row back when I was running 1200khash.  I'm up to 2500 now, as per the update, so we'll see if I get some more blocks. =)

Against my better judgement... 1ADjszXMSRuAUjyy3ShFRy54SyRVrNDgDc
dkaparis
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile
July 21, 2010, 06:50:30 PM
 #35

I did the same thing with VC++ 2008: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=453.0
As I wrote there, the results were slower than stock.

Haven't yet tried x64 or 2010 because rebuilding the dependencies/setting up is a hassle. Your builds give improvement over stock on my system though.

Curious.

It should be the sha.cpp module that matters. Did you modify the source in any way, or specify any special defines?
Bitquux
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117



View Profile
July 21, 2010, 07:07:15 PM
 #36

Hey, I just made this improvement that will vastly improve your khash/s!

In main.cpp, ~2751, change:
   string strStatus = strprintf("    %.0f khash/s", dHashesPerSec/1000.0);
to:
   string strStatus = strprintf("    %.0f khash/s", dHashesPerSec/300.0);

Then on ~2758, change:
  printf("hashmeter %3d CPUs %6.0f khash/s\n", vnThreadsRunning[3], dHashesPerSec/1000.0);
to:
  printf("hashmeter %3d CPUs %6.0f khash/s\n", vnThreadsRunning[3], dHashesPerSec/300.0);


(DISCLAIMER: THIS IS A JOKE.)
Bitcoiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 21, 2010, 07:09:30 PM
 #37

Don't worry, getting BTC now requires supercomputers, clusters and/or botnets  Wink

Counterexamples, with Khash/s noted, welcome  Smiley

Regular old BTC client running on ubuntu (2150-2500 khash/sec) managed to produce a block last night Wink

My 300 khash laptop got lucky and produced one the first day I used Bitcoin.

Want to thank me for this post? Donate here! Flip your coins over to: 13Cq8AmdrqewatRxEyU2xNuMvegbaLCvEe  Smiley
ichi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 21, 2010, 07:15:28 PM
 #38

Regular old BTC client running on ubuntu (2150-2500 khash/sec) managed to produce a block last night Wink

My 300 khash laptop got lucky and produced one the first day I used Bitcoin.
That's good news.  Thanks  Smiley
Bitquux
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117



View Profile
July 21, 2010, 07:24:55 PM
 #39

Regular old BTC client running on ubuntu (2150-2500 khash/sec) managed to produce a block last night Wink

My 300 khash laptop got lucky and produced one the first day I used Bitcoin.

I grabbed one on a 480-500 khash/sec machine last night too, so it's still doable. Also, that same machine is in the 530-550 range with this new build (32 bit). Sending some bit-love to Olipro right now. The effort's gotta be worth something. Nice work.
Ground Loop
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 21, 2010, 08:19:55 PM
 #40

So --- Bitquux, that was Olipro's binary that found the coin?

Bitcoin accepted here: 1HrAmQk9EuH3Ak6ugsw3qi3g23DG6YUNPq
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!