Bitcoin Forum
October 14, 2019, 12:14:02 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Small QOL change to consider  (Read 164 times)
subSTRATA
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1043


:^)


View Profile
October 07, 2018, 01:39:55 PM
Merited by suchmoon (4), vapourminer (1)
 #1

Could we possibly get a bigger text box on the report page as opposed to the 1 liner size one we have right now? Not exactly a pressing issue, but it'd be nice to be able to see what I type when writing up some larger reports or have to include multiple links and such.

Like this

or something like that.

there's nothing here. message me if you want to put something here.
1571012042
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571012042

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571012042
Reply with quote  #2

1571012042
Report to moderator
1571012042
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571012042

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571012042
Reply with quote  #2

1571012042
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571012042
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571012042

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571012042
Reply with quote  #2

1571012042
Report to moderator
BitCoinDream
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1014

The revolution will be digital


View Profile
October 07, 2018, 01:44:23 PM
 #2

Existing database will require a field alteration.

subSTRATA
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1043


:^)


View Profile
October 07, 2018, 02:44:03 PM
 #3

Existing database will require a field alteration.
ah is that so? darn shame. wouldve been nice, but it's not a big deal.

there's nothing here. message me if you want to put something here.
suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 4079


Pedal-powered plaguebot


View Profile
October 07, 2018, 02:52:31 PM
Merited by subSTRATA (5)
 #4

I created a small browser extension for FireFox / Tor Browser that basically does this:

Code:
if (window.location.href.startsWith("https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=reporttm")) {
    document.getElementsByName("comment")[0].style.width = "80%";
}

Looks like this:



It's still one line but good enough for me. Replacing it with a multiline text area could be done with createElement/replaceChild.

Would be nice to have a proper solution though.

Existing database will require a field alteration.

I don't think so. You can type a lot into that poor little textbox - the field size in the DB seems to be fairly large.

subSTRATA
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1043


:^)


View Profile
October 07, 2018, 03:08:52 PM
 #5

-
dunno if the exact code will work on chrome, but i guess it's a simple matter of writing a few lines. would be nice to actually have the code changed, but i guess this'll do for now.

there's nothing here. message me if you want to put something here.
suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 4079


Pedal-powered plaguebot


View Profile
October 07, 2018, 04:25:25 PM
 #6

-
dunno if the exact code will work on chrome, but i guess it's a simple matter of writing a few lines. would be nice to actually have the code changed, but i guess this'll do for now.

I think it should work. You can either google a "hello world" example of how to create a browser extension, or use something like Tampermonkey to inject javascript into the page. Or use Stylebot to change the width of the box. I didn't want any third-party extensions in my Tor Browser so I rolled my own.

ETFbitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 2048

Use SegWit and enjoy lower fees.


View Profile WWW
October 07, 2018, 05:31:10 PM
 #7

Existing database will require a field alteration.

There's an ugly solution which is storing enter as "\n" on comment field.
Also, we actually don't know the field type and perhaps it already supports enter.

suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 4079


Pedal-powered plaguebot


View Profile
October 07, 2018, 05:36:29 PM
 #8

Existing database will require a field alteration.

There's an ugly solution which is storing enter as "\n" on comment field.
Also, we actually don't know the field type and perhaps it already supports enter.

It's a matter of how moderators see it. I think it comes over as a PM, so newlines and perhaps even bbcode could work.

Quickseller
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1759



View Profile WWW
October 07, 2018, 08:58:25 PM
 #9

Existing database will require a field alteration.
I am not expert, however I would think this would be a simple display issue.

Find the fire hydrant in my Avatar for a prize.
subSTRATA
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1043


:^)


View Profile
October 08, 2018, 02:06:14 AM
 #10

Existing database will require a field alteration.

There's an ugly solution which is storing enter as "\n" on comment field.
Also, we actually don't know the field type and perhaps it already supports enter.

It's a matter of how moderators see it. I think it comes over as a PM, so newlines and perhaps even bbcode could work.
iirc i've been told in the past that the mods have a page where they view reports, not via pm.

there's nothing here. message me if you want to put something here.
suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 4079


Pedal-powered plaguebot


View Profile
October 08, 2018, 02:17:45 AM
 #11

iirc i've been told in the past that the mods have a page where they view reports, not via pm.

Yeah that would make more sense...

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!