Bitcoin Forum
May 06, 2024, 02:12:52 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Heavycoin CPU Cloud Mining Guide | HVC VPS  (Read 4980 times)
instacalm (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 07, 2014, 10:55:16 AM
Last edit: March 17, 2014, 11:58:05 AM by instacash
 #1

Heavycoin CPU Cloud Mining

Heavycoin is an innovative CPU-only (HEFTY1 hash function), Ultra-Secure Cryptocurrency that features Temporal Retargeting and Decentralized Block Reward Voting. Learn more about HVC.


Status:  GPU miners availabe, CPU cloud mining hence not recommended.

Readme: Please make sure that you create only one account at Digital Ocean. Multiple accounts violate their ToS.  Usually you will be limited to maximum 3 instances if you’re mining cryptocurrencies. Should you run into issues with your account please don't hesitate to contact DO's support team (staff is excellent).


0. Preparation:
   •   Windows: Download PuTTY (putty.exe) in order to be able to connect to your VPS via SSH.
   •   Mac/Linux Users: simply use your built-in Terminal

(!) Please note that this guide runs your mining droplet as root

1. Sign Up for an SSD cloud server or log in if you already have an account. You may use Digital Ocean, Amazon AWS, Azure or any other VPS cloud hosting provider. The core of this guide works well on all providers, but the guide was written with DO in mind.

2. Fund your account with credit ($15+ recommended).

3. Click 'Create Droplet' to get your instance running.

4. Select the specifications you wish to mine on as well as the latest Ubuntu x64 image. I personally use 8 threads with the 8 Core plan. You can also consider creating several smaller ones, e.g. 4x 2 Core. Or just use one, decide as you wish. The more CPUs the more power you have.

5. Your username and password will be emailed to you within 55 seconds.

6. Log in to your droplet via SSH.

7. Change your root password.
Code:
passwd

8. Relocate into the home directory.
Code:
cd ~

9. Create a swap file.
Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=64M count=16
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile

10a. Install dependencies
Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install automake build-essential libcurl4-openssl-dev libjansson-dev git zip

10b. Download the 1GH Heavycoin forked cpuminer, configure and compile:
Code:
cd
git clone https://github.com/1gh/cpuminer-heavycoin
cd cpuminer-heavycoin
chmod a+x autogen.sh
./autogen.sh
./configure CFLAGS="-O3"
make

10c. Now head over to a Pool and follow the instructions posted, for instance:

Code:
./minerd -a heavy -v 1 -o stratum+tcp://hvcpool.1gh.com:5333 -u HHH1HUGmYrY1f4T7CJgGgYu2ReUqqxZbeo -p x
-v XX = your vote;  do not forget to use your wallet address instead of the example.

---> Congratulations, your HVC mining operations started.

11. If you want to mine at Heavycoinpool, you'll need the official heavycoin minerd (beta. this thread was updated on 13th March, please check the heavycoinpool site for updates and download accordingly)

Code:
wget https://heavycoinpool.com/downloads/linux-miner-beta-heavycoinpool-v0.1.tar.gz
tar xvfz linux-miner-beta-heavycoinpool-v0.1.tar.gz
cd linux-miner-beta-heavycoinpool-v0.1
Fire up your minerd:
Code:
./minerd -a heavy -v 1 -o stratum+tcp://stratum01.heavycoinpool.com:4333 -u user.worker -p workerpassword
-v XX = your vote;  do not forget to enter your worker configuration instead of the example.

---> Congratulations, your HVC mining operations started.

Please note that it can take time until blocks are confirmed and coins payed out.

If you wish to run this process in the background so it doesn't close once you drop the SSH connection, go ahead and use screen. When a screen session is detached, the processes that were running inside it are not stopped.

Launch screen
Code:
screen
hit space, then launch your minerd as configured earlier:
Code:
./minerd xxxxxx
ctrl+d detatches the current screen sessions and brings you back to the normal terminal,
you can re-attach your detached session by typing
Code:
screen -r

All done, have fun!

POOLS



Hope you have a good one, be well.
1714961572
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714961572

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714961572
Reply with quote  #2

1714961572
Report to moderator
"If you don't want people to know you're a scumbag then don't be a scumbag." -- margaritahuyan
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714961572
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714961572

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714961572
Reply with quote  #2

1714961572
Report to moderator
instacalm (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 08, 2014, 09:13:48 AM
 #2

Once you have configured your droplet, you may halt it in order not to burn credits and re-launch it after launch (8th March, 12:00 UTC). Here's how you do this:


1. Navigate to https://cloud.digitalocean.com and choose your particular droplet by clicking on its name. First switch it off by heading to "Power off".

2. After it is powered off, go to "Snapshots" and create a Snapshot of your droplet. Enter any name you wish and click "take snapshot".  Wait until its processing is finished.

3. Destroy your droplet. Don't worry, you have a snapshot of it.

4. At any later time (before launch in this case) come back to https://cloud.digitalocean.com[/i]]https://cloud.digitalocean.com and create a new droplet. When creating, choose the snapshot you created earlier under "My Images", it is waiting there for you.  This will create a new droplet with the exact same configuration as the one you built earlier.


PS. Using this procedure you can also easily clone your droplets and create several ones!
ntz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 08, 2014, 03:36:48 PM
 #3

where to mine ?
Rainer4256
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100

For the benefit of medical research


View Profile
March 09, 2014, 03:24:56 PM
 #4

minderd doesn't work with ubuntu 13.10. I got "Stratum connection failed: Failed connect to stratum01.heavycoinpool.com:3333; Connection refused"
My command line was "sudo ./minerd -a heavy -v 512 -o stratum+tcp://stratum01.heavycoinpool.com:3333 -u Rainer4256.Rainer4256_1 -p xxxxx"
Any ideas? Thank you!

ReserveShare - 100% Free and Fair. New source code. Proof Of Reserve
CureCoin: B78ozT6ChVMxiB5dMaY9d5rdzZ5GZvn9hT -- A giant leap for mankind! -- Start folding proteins now.
BitcoinDark: RF4asDkANqyb65yHaoEX8X896ek8eKrLhL -- Unprecedented! Check it out.
wayniac30
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 09, 2014, 11:01:21 PM
 #5

i get this?
mv -f .deps/minerd-scrypt-x64.Tpo .deps/minerd-scrypt-x64.Po
gcc -std=gnu99  -O3 -pthread  -o minerd minerd-cpu-miner.o minerd-util.o minerd-sha2.o minerd-scrypt.o minerd-keccak.o minerd-groestl.o minerd-blake.o minerd-hefty1.o minerd-heavy.o  minerd-sha2-x64.o minerd-scrypt-x64.o  -L/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu -lcurl compat/jansson/libjansson.a -lpthread  -lssl -lcrypto
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/cpuminer-heavycoin'
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/cpuminer-heavycoin'
root@wayniac30:~/cpuminer-heavycoin# minerd.exe -a heavy -v 512 -o stratum+tcp://hvcpool.1gh.com:5333 -u HLsEc74a4taUZvj15VJnhcyJjFgyR4uFWr -p x
minerd.exe: command not found
Rainer4256
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100

For the benefit of medical research


View Profile
March 10, 2014, 12:40:21 AM
 #6

i get this?
mv -f .deps/minerd-scrypt-x64.Tpo .deps/minerd-scrypt-x64.Po
gcc -std=gnu99  -O3 -pthread  -o minerd minerd-cpu-miner.o minerd-util.o minerd-sha2.o minerd-scrypt.o minerd-keccak.o minerd-groestl.o minerd-blake.o minerd-hefty1.o minerd-heavy.o  minerd-sha2-x64.o minerd-scrypt-x64.o  -L/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu -lcurl compat/jansson/libjansson.a -lpthread  -lssl -lcrypto
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/cpuminer-heavycoin'
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/cpuminer-heavycoin'
root@wayniac30:~/cpuminer-heavycoin# minerd.exe -a heavy -v 512 -o stratum+tcp://hvcpool.1gh.com:5333 -u HLsEc74a4taUZvj15VJnhcyJjFgyR4uFWr -p x
minerd.exe: command not found


Just try it without ".exe". That's Windows.
Code:
root@wayniac30:~/cpuminer-heavycoin# ./minerd -a heavy -v 512 -o stratum+tcp://hvcpool.1gh.com:5333 -u HLsEc74a4taUZvj15VJnhcyJjFgyR4uFWr -p x

ReserveShare - 100% Free and Fair. New source code. Proof Of Reserve
CureCoin: B78ozT6ChVMxiB5dMaY9d5rdzZ5GZvn9hT -- A giant leap for mankind! -- Start folding proteins now.
BitcoinDark: RF4asDkANqyb65yHaoEX8X896ek8eKrLhL -- Unprecedented! Check it out.
djek31
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 12, 2014, 07:03:36 PM
 #7

@instacash
Can you please tell me what kind of hashing speed you are getting from the 8 core plans. Thanks
ae86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 13, 2014, 02:47:39 AM
 #8

I am getting zero accepted and the Warning: Your block reward vote exceeds the maxvote reported by the pool no matter what number i put in

I am using ubunto 13.1 x64 on Digital ocean

Any suggestions?
ae86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 13, 2014, 03:01:57 AM
 #9

I am getting zero accepted and the Warning: Your block reward vote exceeds the maxvote reported by the pool no matter what number i put in

I am using ubunto 13.1 x64 on Digital ocean

Any suggestions?

Fixed it, i pulled the wrong git repo needed  git clone https://github.com/1gh/cpuminer-heavycoin.git
flaminius
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 13, 2014, 06:06:02 AM
 #10

@instacash
Can you please tell me what kind of hashing speed you are getting from the 8 core plans. Thanks

I'm wondering this too please... my two rigs have only a Core 2 Quad Q6600 and a Celeron G1620, and they seem pretty useless for mining, so was thinking about trying some cloud mining. I may upgrade my CPU's (or build my next rig or two using dual CPU server/workstation boards), but would want to make sure it is worthwhile before doing so.

Any info is much appreciated...  Thanks!
djek31
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 13, 2014, 01:46:59 PM
 #11

Is anyone mining heavycoin with an FX 9590 black edition? and if so could you please post your mining speeds. Thanks

Currently I am mining with a 3570k running at 4.0ghz and an intel G1820 running at stock giving me 0.113 Total MH/s on 1Gh.com with an average of 40 coins a day.
would be nice to see what speeds other people are getting out there!
steveo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 13, 2014, 06:57:17 PM
 #12

I'm mining with 2 E5450 and making around 57 heavy coins a day.
arafat14
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 08:59:20 PM
 #13

Hi everyone,

I have a question. I've got an eight core DigitalOcean VPS with Ubuntu 13.10 installed.

On heavycoinpool.com I'm getting 70kh/s on average. But Only got 0.9 HVC in 12 hour run so far.

Am I doing anything wrong? Or should I just wait more?

Is anyone using DigitalOcean VPS? how's the result?

Thanks in advance for replying. I appreciate your help.
instacalm (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 14, 2014, 11:26:14 PM
 #14

I have a question. I've got an eight core DigitalOcean VPS with Ubuntu 13.10 installed. On heavycoinpool.com I'm getting 70kh/s on average.

An 8 core droplet (NY1) should yield you 190-200 khash/s on 1GH, depending on the particular droplet's performance.

Code:
[2014-03-14 19:24:46] accepted: 16/23 (69.57%), 193.49 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2014-03-14 19:24:52] accepted: 17/24 (70.83%), 192.72 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2014-03-14 19:24:57] accepted: 18/25 (72.00%), 203.06 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2014-03-14 19:24:59] accepted: 19/26 (73.08%), 204.18 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2014-03-14 19:25:12] accepted: 21/28 (75.00%), 197.83 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2014-03-14 19:25:13] accepted: 22/29 (75.86%), 199.68 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2014-03-14 19:25:15] accepted: 23/30 (76.67%), 201.87 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2014-03-14 19:25:15] accepted: 24/31 (77.42%), 199.14 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2014-03-14 19:25:15] accepted: 25/32 (78.12%), 199.12 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2014-03-14 19:25:22] accepted: 27/34 (79.41%), 204.64 khash/s (yay!!!)
[2014-03-14 19:25:22] accepted: 28/35 (80.00%), 204.64 khash/s (yay!!!)
arafat14
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 08:02:15 AM
 #15

I have a question. I've got an eight core DigitalOcean VPS with Ubuntu 13.10 installed. On heavycoinpool.com I'm getting 70kh/s on average.

An 8 core droplet (NY1) should yield you 190-200 khash/s on 1GH, depending on the particular droplet's performance.


Thanks for replying. I'll try 1gh on this droplet then. And when I created this droplet NY1 was not available so selected NY2. If it underperforms with 1GH too will destroy this droplet and create a new one.
Wipeout2097
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 255


SportsIcon - Connect With Your Sports Heroes


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 12:28:58 PM
 #16

A cc2x8large HVM Amazon EC2 spot instance, will yield 700 Kh/s and costs $0.26 / hour

███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██▀       ▀█       ▀████████████        ▀█         █▀       ▀██
██   ▀██▄▄▄█   ██   ████████████   ███   ████   ████   ▀██▄▄▄██
███▄     ▀██       ▄████████████       ▄█████   █████▄     ▀███
██▀▀▀██▄   █   █████████████████   █▄  ▀█████   ████▀▀▀██▄   ██
██▄       ▄█   █████████████████   ██▄  ▀████   ████▄       ▄██
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██       ██▀      ▀█████████████    ▀██   █████████████████████
████   ███   ▄██▄   ████████████     ▀█   █████████████████████
████   ███   ████████   ████   █   ▄  ▀   █████████████████████
████   ███   ▀██▀   █   ████   █   █▄     █████████████████████
██       ██▄      ▄███        ██   ██▄    █████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████                                                             ████████████████████████████████████████████████
.
.
.

████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████          ████████████████                                 ██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██████████████
███████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████
███████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████
►►  Powered by
BOUNTY
DETECTIVE
bittick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 506


Cryptocasino.com


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 02:12:51 PM
 #17

can anyone here set up a mining pool for hvc for me?

instacalm (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 17, 2014, 11:57:29 AM
 #18

Cloud mining HVC is not recommended anymore as GPU miners are available. Thread updated.
iwantcoins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2014, 03:54:31 AM
 #19

If anyone is looking for a Good Video Guide on how to Mine Heavycoin with either a CPU or GPU the checkout

http://www.reviewoutlaw.com/mine-heavycoin-gui-friendly-simple-way-mining-heavy-coin/

http://i2.wp.com/www.reviewoutlaw.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/heavyCoinPoolLogo.png
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!