Bitcoin Forum
March 05, 2021, 01:03:27 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: New firmware for antminer S9 - less power consumption  (Read 24995 times)
big_daddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 550


xUSD - The PRIVATE stable coin - Haven Protocol


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2018, 02:44:19 PM
Last edit: November 28, 2018, 08:57:47 PM by frodocooper
 #221

if you have the C5 boards on your Antminer the firmware is not compatible with your machine    Undecided Undecided Undecided

https://i.imgur.com/tCeP9pc.jpg

so, my results are just the same as yesterday  Cry Cry Cry

update on this models:

with this firmware Antminer-S9-LPM-20181102.tar I'm getting a stable 13,6 TH/s on 1.250 W from the wall and temp chips from 66 to 69 C°

1614949407
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614949407

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614949407
Reply with quote  #2

1614949407
Report to moderator
1614949407
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614949407

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614949407
Reply with quote  #2

1614949407
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1614949407
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614949407

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614949407
Reply with quote  #2

1614949407
Report to moderator
1614949407
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1614949407

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1614949407
Reply with quote  #2

1614949407
Report to moderator
SidSlobber
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 29


View Profile
November 28, 2018, 02:58:06 PM
Last edit: November 29, 2018, 11:57:52 AM by SidSlobber
Merited by frodocooper (3)
 #222

After yesterday's two failures, I've just tried the new 27/11/2018 S9i FW on a 3rd miner - a S9i 13.5Th/s.   Same result - certainly it reduced power consumption (roughly from the PDU meter by around 1 to 2 amps at 230v) but it also reduced the hashrate by 5 Th/s.  Angry

It's hopeless - it's as if Bitmain didn't even test it on a single miner, let alone many.  I've tested it with LPM ticked and unticked - no difference.

It sets the voltage to 8v on all boards rather the higher different voltages depending on each board's quality.  It also takes longer to boot because it goes through the game of setting the voltages starting at 9.40v and decrements 0.1v at a time as below - it does this sequence twice at reboot (before and after it sets the chain freq).  Complete waste of time - as it is always going to be the same answer i.e. 8.00v.  This new firmware is terrible code.

Code:
Chain[J7] has lpm backup chain_voltage=800

setting to working voltage...
chain[5] set voltage to 930
chain[6] set voltage to 930
chain[7] set voltage to 930
chain[5] set voltage to 920
chain[6] set voltage to 920
chain[7] set voltage to 920
chain[5] set voltage to 910
chain[6] set voltage to 910
chain[7] set voltage to 910
chain[5] set voltage to 900
chain[6] set voltage to 900
chain[7] set voltage to 900
chain[5] set voltage to 890
chain[6] set voltage to 890
chain[7] set voltage to 890
chain[5] set voltage to 880
chain[6] set voltage to 880
chain[7] set voltage to 880
chain[5] set voltage to 870
chain[6] set voltage to 870
chain[7] set voltage to 870
chain[5] set voltage to 860
chain[6] set voltage to 860
chain[7] set voltage to 860
chain[5] set voltage to 850
chain[6] set voltage to 850
chain[7] set voltage to 850
chain[5] set voltage to 840
chain[6] set voltage to 840
chain[7] set voltage to 840
chain[5] set voltage to 830
chain[6] set voltage to 830
chain[7] set voltage to 830
chain[5] set voltage to 820
chain[6] set voltage to 820
chain[7] set voltage to 820
chain[5] set voltage to 810
chain[6] set voltage to 810
chain[7] set voltage to 810
chain[5] set voltage to 800
chain[6] set voltage to 800
chain[7] set voltage to 800

It then sets the board freq much lower than it's base.  This is the best board - the other two got even lower 4nn speeds.

Code:
Chain:6 base freq=650
Asic[ 0]:500 Asic[ 1]:500 Asic[ 2]:500 Asic[ 3]:500 Asic[ 4]:500 Asic[ 5]:500 Asic[ 6]:500 Asic[ 7]:500
Asic[ 8]:500 Asic[ 9]:500 Asic[10]:500 Asic[11]:500 Asic[12]:500 Asic[13]:500 Asic[14]:500 Asic[15]:500
Asic[16]:500 Asic[17]:500 Asic[18]:500 Asic[19]:500 Asic[20]:500 Asic[21]:500 Asic[22]:500 Asic[23]:500
Asic[24]:500 Asic[25]:500 Asic[26]:500 Asic[27]:500 Asic[28]:500 Asic[29]:500 Asic[30]:500 Asic[31]:500
Asic[32]:500 Asic[33]:500 Asic[34]:500 Asic[35]:500 Asic[36]:500 Asic[37]:500 Asic[38]:500 Asic[39]:500
Asic[40]:500 Asic[41]:500 Asic[42]:500 Asic[43]:500 Asic[44]:500 Asic[45]:500 Asic[46]:500 Asic[47]:500
Asic[48]:500 Asic[49]:500 Asic[50]:500 Asic[51]:500 Asic[52]:500 Asic[53]:500 Asic[54]:500 Asic[55]:500
Asic[56]:500 Asic[57]:500 Asic[58]:500 Asic[59]:500 Asic[60]:500 Asic[61]:500 Asic[62]:500
Chain:6 max freq=500
Chain:6 min freq=500

You can see the low hashrate compared to the other miners on the earlier asicboost FW in the image below.  Also as you can see every 5 or 10 minutes all the 189 chips disappear.   The HW error rate is also much higher than the 4 identical S9i's underneath it in the table. Shocked

There is one advantage to this FW - temps are 10 degrees less and the fans should last a long time - they're barely moving.  Cheesy

https://imgur.com/mrewNnm

Finally now the HW errors shown next to each board no longer add up to the total.  According to this FW 8+1=111  Huh Huh  See image below.

https://imgur.com/8c9TbMS
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2478
Merit: 1154



View Profile
November 28, 2018, 04:09:43 PM
Last edit: November 28, 2018, 08:59:55 PM by frodocooper
 #223

update on this models:

with this firmware Antminer-S9-LPM-20181102.tar I'm getting a stable 13,6 TH/s on 1.250 W from the wall and temp chips from 66 to 69 C°

How did you know you had a C5 board? All the old s9's with C5 boards I've tried the firmware on refuse to run the firmware.

Mine @ pools that pay Tx fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
Should bitmain create LPM for all models?
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
thierry4wd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 329
Merit: 255



View Profile
November 28, 2018, 09:43:16 PM
 #224

I thinks work for just copy Bmminer at miner by SSH Wink .... But just try
big_daddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 550


xUSD - The PRIVATE stable coin - Haven Protocol


View Profile WWW
November 29, 2018, 11:38:21 AM
Last edit: November 29, 2018, 12:09:41 PM by frodocooper
 #225

How did you know you had a C5 board? All the old s9's with C5 boards I've tried the firmware on refuse to run the firmware.

simple, I have looked at the board and read that is a C5 board
and from yesterday on the firmware is up and running stable

xxxABJxxx
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 15


View Profile
November 30, 2018, 11:45:55 AM
Last edit: December 01, 2018, 10:30:43 AM by frodocooper
 #226

Antminer S9j 14 Th/s with older Firmware:

Hashrate: 14 Th/s
Wattage: 1350 Watt / 230 V

Tested new Firmware 27/11/2018 S9j:

Hasrate: 10,5 Th/s
Wattage: 850 Watt / 230 V

The new Firmware reduce the power but also the hasrate.

I save this firmware. Maybe it is interessted for a hot summer to reduce the power to reduce the temperature. The Hashrate is ok for this power consumption.
Norm MacDonald
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 20


View Profile
November 30, 2018, 01:34:00 PM
 #227

I'm not having this experience. I DL'd this Firm Ware on several S9I's and S9's and Hashing power has stayed the same to very marginally lower. I've not had the chance to measure power as i am remote. Why would this work for some and not others? Are you sure you used the correct version?
SidSlobber
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 29


View Profile
November 30, 2018, 05:40:35 PM
Last edit: December 01, 2018, 10:31:58 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (3)
 #228

Are you sure you used the correct version?

That's an important question.   There are a number of earlier posts that have inadvertently caused confusion by stating that "everything was fine on the latest firmware" etc with the posters not realizing that Bitmain had released a newer version or just simply they were using different firmware to the poster asking the question.  Also some of the posts responding to overclocking and FW update procedure questions are again giving inaccurate or generalized  information e.g. suggesting procedures for the S9i or j that are only applicable to the S9.

To easily avoid this confusion, I suggest that we explicitly post either the full FW file name or at least the miner type and FW release date e.g.  "S9j 20181127" rather than using "it" or "this firmware" which could potentially refer to any of the 11 current valid firmware versions for the 3 models in the S9 family which are still available for download on the Bitmain Support website.

DL'd this Firm Ware on several S9I's and S9's"

The recent posts about significantly reduced power and hash-rate are referring to the new firmware Bitmain released a few days ago (27/11/2018) only for the S9i and S9j, so by mentioning you downloaded this to S9s are you actually referring to the earlier asicboost firmware?   No firmware for the S9 variant has been released since the 2nd November 2018.  So did you load the new 27112018 S9i/j firmware onto an S9?
Norm MacDonald
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 20


View Profile
November 30, 2018, 06:58:43 PM
Last edit: December 01, 2018, 10:32:26 AM by frodocooper
 #229

[...]

Excellent point. Here is what I am referring to in my situation;

S9i - Antminer-S9i-all-201811071119-autofreq-user-Update2UBI-NF.tar.gz
S9 - Antminer-S9-LPM-20181102%20(3).tar.gz
SidSlobber
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 29


View Profile
November 30, 2018, 07:35:17 PM
Last edit: December 01, 2018, 10:32:45 AM by frodocooper
 #230

Excellent point. Here is what I am referring to in my situation;
S9i - Antminer-S9i-all-201811071119-autofreq-user-Update2UBI-NF.tar.gz

Great - thanks - so that confirms you are actually running the previous S9i 7th November firmware - which I think everyone agrees works fine as per your experience.   It is the newest 27th November Antminer-S9i-xilinx-201811271554-autofreq-user-Update2UBI-NF.tar.gz firmware that is causing huge hash-rate reductions.   So unless you are happy to reduce your S9i power draw and hashrate by around 30 to 40%, don't load the new S9i firmware.
Norm MacDonald
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 20


View Profile
December 01, 2018, 12:26:19 AM
 #231

This is very good to know. Thank you!
PeaMine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 907
Merit: 507



View Profile
December 03, 2018, 04:22:11 PM
Last edit: December 04, 2018, 10:25:10 AM by frodocooper
 #232

Antminer S9j 14 Th/s with older Firmware:

Hashrate: 14 Th/s
Wattage: 1350 Watt / 230 V

Tested new Firmware 27/11/2018 S9j:

Hasrate: 10,5 Th/s
Wattage: 850 Watt / 230 V

The new Firmware reduce the power but also the hasrate.

I save this firmware. Maybe it is interessted for a hot summer to reduce the power to reduce the temperature. The Hashrate is ok for this power consumption.

I get the same results as well, though I haven't checked the power consumption 100% with the new firmware.
Is this as intended I wonder?
38% power reduction and 25% hash reduction, so I would assume asicboost makes up 15% of that change, then 13% lower power from the 25% hashrate reduction which seems to be overall a bad deal compared to the Nov 7th version.
Are my numbers off or is this simply a bad firmware?

Datacenter Technician and Electrician.  If you have any questions feel free to ask me as I am generally bored looking at logs and happy to help during free time.
Artemis3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1044


upgrade PERFORMANCE


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2018, 06:23:43 PM
Last edit: February 06, 2019, 03:43:54 AM by Artemis3
 #233



Does anyone knows what Low Power Mode and Low Power Enhanced Mode are for? They come enabled by default, but the only result I could see was, a very high reject rate at Bitmain's pool btc.com, around 70%. On viabtc pool it reports a very low hashrate instead (about 30% of what the miner shows).

For the time being, I left them disabled and the hashrate reported by the pool is fine.

Using: Antminer-S9-all-201812051512-autofreq-user-Update2UBI-NF.tar.gz on 12.93TH S9s.

██████
███████
███████
████████
BRAIINS OS+|AUTOTUNING
MINING FIRMWARE
|
Increase hashrate on your Bitcoin ASICs,
improve efficiency as much as 25%, and
get 0% pool fees on Slush Pool
Shad0wSmurf
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 16, 2018, 07:44:03 PM
Last edit: December 17, 2018, 03:20:59 AM by frodocooper
 #234

Try switching to antpool and see if bitmain has something enabled on their stratum server. And then we should be able to query it and see
Apprentice
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 500
Merit: 105


View Profile
December 20, 2018, 06:32:48 PM
 #235

thinking to give the firmware a try.

does the fans spin slower?
core
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 561
Merit: 515



View Profile
December 25, 2018, 08:44:36 PM
Merited by OgNasty (1)
 #236

9.5TH @ 750W with this firmware. Temp: 50-60 °C.
Artemis3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1044


upgrade PERFORMANCE


View Profile WWW
December 26, 2018, 01:11:08 PM
 #237

9.5TH @ 750W with this firmware. Temp: 50-60 °C.

You are only running two boards?

██████
███████
███████
████████
BRAIINS OS+|AUTOTUNING
MINING FIRMWARE
|
Increase hashrate on your Bitcoin ASICs,
improve efficiency as much as 25%, and
get 0% pool fees on Slush Pool
dutchlincoln
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 30


View Profile
December 26, 2018, 09:38:28 PM
 #238

well, this fw only works well on a hadful of pools. All the other pools, even claiming to support asicboost, get 30% less hashrate from these miners with lpm firmware.
Meant to me that it sucks, and is not well tested anyways.
core
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 561
Merit: 515



View Profile
December 27, 2018, 01:47:07 AM
 #239

You are only running two boards?

No, three boards. This is an excellent result, because efficiency is more important! For understanding, I will give a calculation for my electricity cost $0.06 / kWh.
13.5TH @ 1400W:
Rev. $2.63
Profit $0.61
9.5TH @ 750W:
Rev. $1.84
Profit $0.76

9.5TH @ 750W more profitable, more reliable and less heat and wear. 
Shad0wSmurf
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 28, 2018, 01:37:33 AM
Last edit: December 28, 2018, 04:13:25 PM by Shad0wSmurf
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #240

FWIW
The 12-5 auto s9 fw, just drops the max voltages and usage of cores..


EDIT: Thanks for the code quotes, I was on mobile and it kept getting messed up while pasting!

Code:
origin: 0 : 125 : 0 : 71 : 0 : 71 : 4
update: 0 : 125 : 0 : 26 : 0 : 26 : 4
Detect: use voltage limit rules on single board!
Detect: S9_63 use voltage level=1 : 1
Chain[J6] has backup chain_voltage=830
Check chain[5] PIC fw version=0x03
chain[6]: [63:255] [63:255] [63:255] [63:255] [63:255] [63:255] [63:255] [63:255]
origin: 0 : 125 : 0 : 73 : 0 : 73 : 4
update: 0 : 125 : 0 : 28 : 0 : 28 : 4
Detect: use voltage limit rules on single board!
Detect: S9_63 use voltage level=1 : 1
Chain[J7] has backup chain_voltage=830
Check chain[6] PIC fw version=0x03
chain[7]: [63:255] [63:255] [63:255] [63:255] [63:255] [63:255] [63:255] [63:255]
origin: 0 : 125 : 0 : 71 : 0 : 71 : 4
update: 0 : 125 : 0 : 26 : 0 : 26 : 4
Detect: use voltage limit rules on single board!
Detect: S9_63 use voltage level=1 : 1
Chain[J8] has backup chain_voltage=830
Check chain[7] PIC fw version=0x03
Chain[J6] orignal chain_voltage_pic=91 value=890
Chain[J6] will use backup chain_voltage_pic=830 [193]
Chain[J6] get working chain_voltage_pic=193
Chain[J7] orignal chain_voltage_pic=91 value=890
Chain[J7] will use backup chain_voltage_pic=830 [193]
Chain[J7] get working chain_voltage_pic=193
Chain[J8] orignal chain_voltage_pic=91 value=890
Chain[J8] will use backup chain_voltage_pic=830 [193]
Chain[J8] get working chain_voltage_pic=193
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!