Bitcoin Forum
February 24, 2019, 12:30:28 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitmain will be releasing S15 and T15 on 8/11/2018  (Read 12112 times)
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1546


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
January 24, 2019, 04:00:24 PM
Last edit: January 25, 2019, 12:47:16 AM by frodocooper
 #221

Looks like a price drop here. Coupons are still usable. If anyone here runs an order I'll give you my 2 $65 just send me your order number through us.

the s15 is still too high at 1020 is going to get taxed if shipped to usa.

so I am looking at  what price if I order one from you?

the website reads  1650 solo with custom support.

does this reflect the drop to 1020? pre tax pre shipping

and the 65 dollar coupon

I am guessing no.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
1550968228
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550968228

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550968228
Reply with quote  #2

1550968228
Report to moderator
1550968228
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550968228

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550968228
Reply with quote  #2

1550968228
Report to moderator
1550968228
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550968228

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550968228
Reply with quote  #2

1550968228
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1296


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
January 24, 2019, 05:55:47 PM
 #222

I now have the S15 running,
and as guessed, it is a noisy beast..!
Mostly because of the psu fans.

I'll write more about it later on,
but here is a quick video for noise reference.
Video: https://mega.nz/#!U1FkXIRS!Nb_xEO8yTeAvmYCwLdrwiE1xSCCnkD4ue2t32QNA12s

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1546


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
January 24, 2019, 08:30:09 PM
 #223

I now have the S15 running,
and as guessed, it is a noisy beast..!
Mostly because of the psu fans.

I'll write more about it later on,
but here is a quick video for noise reference.
Video: https://mega.nz/#!U1FkXIRS!Nb_xEO8yTeAvmYCwLdrwiE1xSCCnkD4ue2t32QNA12s

that is a nasty pitch

 I would hate to have 30 of them running

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
minefarmbuy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 89

We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
January 24, 2019, 09:36:16 PM
Last edit: January 25, 2019, 12:48:01 AM by frodocooper
 #224

the s15 is still too high at 1020 is going to get taxed if shipped to usa.

so I am looking at  what price if I order one from you?

the website reads  1650 solo with custom support.

does this reflect the drop to 1020? pre tax pre shipping

and the 65 dollar coupon

I am guessing no.

It's all projection with our model. Most to all clients get a return of surplus funds or we eat the cost from our commission.

I just have to get the order number to and give them the coupon to apply and then it's detailed out on the final invoice.

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1546


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
February 01, 2019, 01:45:00 PM
 #225

my used s15 arrives today.
from a forum member in finland.
usps.com says out for delivery.

based on reports of a few psu's burning out I will use a regulator and keep power at 220volts vs 240 volts.

I will post a few shots later today.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1296


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
February 01, 2019, 03:20:04 PM
 #226

^ That's great news! Wink

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1546


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
February 01, 2019, 03:45:45 PM
Last edit: February 02, 2019, 01:47:01 AM by frodocooper
 #227

^ That's great news! Wink

I will preheat unit with an s7ln

Edit

Since it arrived 5 min ago ice cold.

lots of  full sized shots

https://i.imgur.com/6sYcAcr.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/8i8VNfi.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/SCTAeHk.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/S9IOUFw.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/s7hQiod.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/GJD3B5t.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/G26L6zJ.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/30AzAsh.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/qY7IyxH.jpg

due to the cold weather today it arrived very chilled.
I am warming it up with s7ln heater/miner
I like to use this unit to warm and dry gear as it is very quiet and only 500 watts on the setting I use.  this allows the chilled unit to dry and warm up more slowly.
Note I will rotate the s15 so that it gets 15 minutes on all six sides.

Better safe then sorry


I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
fanatic26_
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 90


View Profile
February 01, 2019, 05:28:49 PM
 #228

Better safe then sorry

I must say electronics on carpet like that with the risk of static shock when touching the unit would kind of worry me. Id place an anti static mat under those personally if they had to be ran on carpet or a rug like that.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1546


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
February 01, 2019, 07:58:10 PM
Last edit: February 02, 2019, 01:48:10 AM by frodocooper
 #229

I must say electronics on carpet like that with the risk of static shock when touching the unit would kind of worry me. Id place an anti static mat under those personally if they had to be ran on carpet or a rug like that.

you are correct if you look at tv set shelf in the picture there is a grounding bar just at top center

I ground myself on it before I touch units.

I moved unit into garage for testing over the week end.

I did a you tube video.

it is not ready uploads are slow.

link:

Your video will be live at: https://youtu.be/auakWENgP8w

you will note unit is laying on fiberglass welding blanket in a sound proof setup for the testing it is shock protected.

Sound meter failed at end of video so I will do another one later today.

the gear works very well in garage and I certainly could run it

without pissing off my wife. Grin

1625 watts and 27200 gh =  59.7 watts a th

so if all s15's do 1625 watts and 27.2 th
and my m10's do 2200 watts and 31.2 th

both on full speed it will be a hard call as to which to pick.

s15's cost me  a lot more then m10's

maybe  1650 with trump tax. 1285 without tax

m10's are under 900 without the trump tax.

So far  My math shows me the s15 has to net to 1000usd  to equal an m10 at 875.00 usd

So If I expand I still favor m10's with the pricing I get.

m10 at 875 no tax
s15 at 1285 no tax

note running on mmpool there is no asdic boost
so the 1625 watts could be better on pool.ckpool.org
will make a new video on SAT testing other pool


I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
judypug1956
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 01, 2019, 09:37:00 PM
 #230

Did you post a newer video on youtube to show the corrected sound readings?

This is a secondary account .
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1546


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
February 01, 2019, 09:40:01 PM
 #231

Yes I did but slow uploading time again.

I also moved off mmpool.org a none asic boost pool  pulling 1621-1625 watts

to pool.ckpool.org an asic boost pool

1547 watts  same hash rate  and a 75 watt savings

video is not up won't be up for a while

Your video will be live at: https://youtu.be/P8MwWwctWVw

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
TheYankeesWin!
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 395
Merit: 253


View Profile
February 02, 2019, 06:54:03 PM
Last edit: February 03, 2019, 12:28:22 AM by frodocooper
 #232

SO the videos are up.

Runs pretty quiet Phil .

Did you buy a transformer to set power to 220 vs 238-243  you normally get?
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1546


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
February 02, 2019, 06:57:49 PM
Last edit: February 03, 2019, 12:29:39 AM by frodocooper
 #233

@ yankees.

I purchased this item  in theory it will put out 220v +/-  5%  so 209-231

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B071V5NXZV/

My input is 243.1 and my output is 220.7 on my hand held meter

the meter on the unit read 243 in and 220 out.

I am testing it with an old s7ln  before I put it on the s15

I will post a photo very soon.

Since it is the 5000va model  I think  it can do 2 units.

of course you need to feed 240 in to run 2 units.

I am using this to stabilize not step up 120 to 220  or step down 220 to 110
To be safe I am running a cheap piece of gear on it. Not the s15


I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Artemis3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 189


★777Coin.com★ Fun BTC Casino!


View Profile
February 02, 2019, 09:06:25 PM
Last edit: February 03, 2019, 12:30:07 AM by frodocooper
 #234

I have a similar device, but you can't feed mine with 120v, the min is like 180v or so.
I'm powering a quiet R4 at home with it, but it can power an S9 just fine.

From two phases (our residential service is like that in US for office buildings) i would theoretically get 208v, but... a tester shows 203v. Thanks to that device, the R4 is actually getting 220v just fine, and the electricity here sometimes fluctuates so it has kept the miner happy (its NOT using an APW5 mind you, but some hp server psu with an adapter).

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1546


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
February 03, 2019, 12:18:38 AM
Last edit: February 03, 2019, 12:30:34 AM by frodocooper
 #235

yeah  I can feed it 120 or 240

and make it send out 110 or 220

The cable  is 14 gauge  which can do 15 amps.  It is rated to do 22.7 amps continuous but with the cable they put on it   it is more like 12 or 13 amps 24/7/365

13 x 220 = 2860 watts  

which would be 1 s15 at low   and 1 s15 at high   say  2500-2600 watts 24/7/365

if I get in the mood I may  open it op and see if I can mode it to do 3500 watts 24.7.365

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ConnerM
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 14


View Profile
February 05, 2019, 11:48:29 AM
Last edit: February 06, 2019, 12:02:03 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (3)
 #236

My input is 243.1 and my output is 220.7 on my hand held meter
the meter on the unit read 243 in and 220 out.

I was looking at a Larson Buck transformer to change the 240 at my house to 220 or 208 so I could run a couple of S15's at home, but it's not really cost effective. Also, they show a 3-4% loss of efficiency in the windings due to heat loss. I don't think you can step down the voltage with any device and not experience a certain small loss in the process, so keep that in mind when calculating the cost to run an S15 vs say an M10. With a transformer an S15 might end of drawing 60 or more w/per TH. It would be great if Phil could test that on his device.

We now have 28 S15's running on the rack at the office now on 208v, and they are functioning perfectly. They are all 28TH units. The min to min hash rate variance is higher than spec, can be up to 15% either way, but the daily average of the units collectively is 783.9 TH which = 783.9 which is 27.96TH per machine on average, so they are running exactly within spec on our 208v supply. Power draw is averaging 1590w per unit. That's based on the total draw on our panel. I haven't measured individual units.  We're using Triplite 3' 12awg power cables from the PDU to the units. One miner per PDU circuit, 2 miners per PDU so the breaker on the PDU's become the power switches. The 12awg cables are to minimize loss more than anything else, I don't think we would have any trouble using 14awg cables for these as long as they are short. This is all equipment reused from the S9 farm.

Bitmain replaced our 2 units that failed on 240v+ for us under warranty. One of the replacement units came with the 'open power rail' design (which bothers me greatly). All the other have the power rail covers.

Oh, also, the DHCP network problem we had with the 2nd batch of arrivals was unique to that batch, 6 machines. We had to plug those into a small router and scan for the IP address, then change the settings to a static IP on our network. All of the new arrivals come up on our network fine at boot.

"Buying up the shovels as fast as possible..."
My Little Farm -or- How I learned to Stop Worrying and Spend All My Time --> https://imgur.com/a/T1z8q
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1546


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
February 05, 2019, 02:31:59 PM
Last edit: February 06, 2019, 12:02:37 AM by frodocooper
 #237

I did test it  and it appears to cost 1.5%  in power. About 25 watts at high speed.

 also took it apart to figure if it really is 5000 va and 22.7 amps constant run.

I estimate it will do 1 unit at 1550 watts 24/7/365  with zero issues.
I don't think it can do 2 units at 3100 watts. 24/7/365
I think  the torrid transformer will get too hot.
I also think the power cord is  14 gauge  not 12 gauge.
So  for 1 unit in a garage it is okay it should protect the gear and last  but it won't last doing the 2 units it is rated for.

It is now on sale on ebay

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Norstar-5000-Watt-Step-UP-and-Down-Voltatge-Regulator-Transformer-Converter/332955089461?

I bid 180 offer he took it.
and ebay is giving ebucks 10%  so 180 -18 = 162  and my paypal gives 2 % so 162 -3 = 159

for 159  it will give me some piece of mind.  but  if you have  10 or 20   s15's this costs too much.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
minefarmbuy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 89

We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
February 05, 2019, 03:12:31 PM
 #238

So running these on 240v is a bad idea?

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
ConnerM
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 14


View Profile
February 05, 2019, 03:43:22 PM
 #239

So running these on 240v is a bad idea?

I took 2 S15's home (to run for heat) on my 240 outlets and the PSU's on both units failed within 24 hours. Both PSU's got quite hot. I think my 240 outlets actual voltage may vary a little higher than that, maybe 242 or 243. They may have simply tripped a safety shutdown due to either voltage or temperature, but regardless, both ceased to function (no power) there was no way to reset them. Both units went to Bitmain and were replaced under warranty. I will not attempt to run anymore of these at or near 240v even though the spec says 200-240v. They seem to be happiest somewhere in between those numbers. I've had some units running nearly a month on our 208v rack with zero issues.

"Buying up the shovels as fast as possible..."
My Little Farm -or- How I learned to Stop Worrying and Spend All My Time --> https://imgur.com/a/T1z8q
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1180


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
February 05, 2019, 03:45:07 PM
Last edit: February 05, 2019, 04:37:05 PM by NotFuzzyWarm
 #240

@Phil, since you opened the regulator to look at it, does it use relays to change taps or is it solid-state (SCR's/Triacs)?
Long ago I tried a el-cheapo regulator like this one and found it unusable because of too-small transformer and the relay switching times. Every time it would make an adjustment the momentary v drop as the relays switched would cause the miner to go offline. My solution was to use a programmable dual-conversion UPS like the TrippLite SU6000RT4UHV—6kVA that is always on-line and has zero transfer time. It's in/out eff is reasonable at a measured 93% in dual-conversion mode and >96% in eco-mode.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!