Bitcoin Forum
February 23, 2019, 12:00:16 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitmain will be releasing S15 and T15 on 8/11/2018  (Read 11995 times)
Steamy27
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 6


View Profile
February 05, 2019, 03:47:32 PM
Last edit: February 06, 2019, 12:03:40 AM by frodocooper
 #241

Is anyone having this issue (240v PSU failure) with S11's? T15's?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1550880016
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550880016

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550880016
Reply with quote  #2

1550880016
Report to moderator
1550880016
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550880016

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550880016
Reply with quote  #2

1550880016
Report to moderator
1550880016
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550880016

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550880016
Reply with quote  #2

1550880016
Report to moderator
ConnerM
Jr. Member
*
Online Online

Activity: 55
Merit: 14


View Profile
February 05, 2019, 03:55:32 PM
Last edit: February 06, 2019, 12:04:18 AM by frodocooper
 #242

I did test it  and it appears to cost 1.5%  in power. About 25 watts at high speed.
I also took it apart to figure if it really is 5000 va and 22.7 amps constant run.
I estimate it will do 1 unit at 1550 watts 24/7/365  with zero issues.
So  for 1 unit in a garage it is okay it should protect the gear and last  but it won't last doing the 2 units it is rated for.

Keeping the unit low spec will also minimize the power loss factor. 1.5% is excellent, and the price is right as well.

The Larson transformer I was looking at was 11KVa (TX2402081P11KVA) 240v to 208v (max 53 amps) and costs about $600. I could run about 5 S15 off it with a solid safety margin but it would require extensive rewiring of my circuits.  Not worth doing for a couple months of heat at the house.

"Buying up the shovels as fast as possible..."
My Little Farm -or- How I learned to Stop Worrying and Spend All My Time --> https://imgur.com/a/T1z8q
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1546


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
February 05, 2019, 04:34:31 PM
Last edit: February 06, 2019, 12:59:30 AM by philipma1957
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #243

So running these on 240v is a bad idea?

One guy had two psu fails.

ConnerM

He was doing just over 240 volts.



@Phil, since you opened the regulator to look at it, does it use relays to change taps or is it solid-state (SCR's/Triacs)?
Long ago I tried a el-cheapo regulator like this one and found it unusable because of too-small transformer and the relay switching times. Every time it would make an adjustment the momentary v drop as the relays switched would cause the miner to go offline. My solution was to use a programmable dual-conversion UPS like the TrippLite SU6000RT4UHV—6kVA that is always on-line and has zero transfer time. It's in/out eff is pretty good at a measured 97%.

Ah this is complicated but here goes. I am color blind so I never was able to do formal training in electronics.  But I have a decent knowledge of parts and gear.  They took one leg of the 240 in and run it directly to the outlets.  So if you have a hot 240 like I do one leg is not altered at all.

The other leg goes into a torrid transformer a 110 to 100 volt.

So this means a 122 leg goes in and it is not touched.
The other 122 jet goes in and is dropped by the transformer to 100
It then feeds into some relays and parts that drop to 98 and the 98 plus 122 = 220.

So the legs are not even but they sum close to 220 vs 238-243
And only one leg runs into the transformer.

Also they lift the ground which is not exactly how I would do it.

I cut the two prong plug 🔌  and put a three prong plug. I still lifted ground but I think I will add back ground.

The design does allow for a lessor transformer .  But looking at wires gauge and other parts I think it won’t do two units.

Since only one s15 user has had the psu burn (two of 15 to be exact) .  Maybe it was just a couple of shitty psu's. Meaning these regulators are not needed at all.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sarcheer
Copper Member
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 260
Merit: 61


View Profile
February 06, 2019, 07:21:08 PM
 #244

BM site is saying coupons up to $230 can be used for both the S15 and T15, has this always been the case?

Miners:
Antminer T15, DragonMint T1 x 3, Innosilicon T2T, R4 x 2, Avalon 821 x 6, Avalon 741 x 16, Innosilicon A4+, L3+ x 3
Steamtyme
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 560
Merit: 591


Blokforge Affiliate- see profile


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2019, 01:45:55 AM
 #245

Yes I believe you could always use those coupons.

I was looking to buy some as i was on the fence between an S15/T15 with a coupon, or the M10. So at least going back to around the 12th of January.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1546


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
February 11, 2019, 03:54:35 AM
 #246

The T15  with a good coupon is not that bad a deal.    It is 710 + 102 to ship to usa

it beats the tax.  as it is under 800 for the gear.

it nets to 812.  so a 230 coupon drops it to 582   that works when compared to the old m10 prices

and is better then the new m10 price.

I am not sure anyone has a 230 usd coupon for bitmain the may have expired.

If I could get a few of these  with a could coupon it may be worth it.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
minefarmbuy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 88

We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2019, 02:14:45 PM
 #247

T15 in LPM beats m10 stock. Best unit to import to the US imo.

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
bitsolutions
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261
Merit: 256



View Profile
February 12, 2019, 08:00:20 AM
Merited by frodocooper (1), Artemis3 (1)
 #248

I found an exploit that can be used to enable SSH https://twitter.com/james_hilliard/status/1095225270011781120.

Mining Software Developer.
minefarmbuy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 88

We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2019, 05:19:41 PM
 #249

I found an exploit that can be used to enable SSH https://twitter.com/james_hilliard/status/1095225270011781120.

Yea just saw the twitter posts.

Only accessible with poor network security correct?

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1546


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
February 15, 2019, 05:04:42 AM
Last edit: February 15, 2019, 09:57:38 AM by frodocooper
 #250

Anyone tested with S11 LPM ? It's suitable for home mining?

I doubt it.

It uses same psu as the s15

It uses 1024 watts on lowest setting

the s15 uses less watts on the lowest settings.  like 900

Here are the s15 soundproofing videos I have done

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=auakWENgP8w

notice it fires into  a cushion  placed 2 feet away

this one the sound meters more accurate

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P8MwWwctWVw

I am pretty sure the s15 is better for noise

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Steamtyme
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 560
Merit: 591


Blokforge Affiliate- see profile


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2019, 08:01:40 AM
 #251

Have there been any more reports of issues with the PSU's. I'm kicking around the idea of an S15/T15 not to sure yet. I'll have to do some more more testing but I believe I've seen my lines hit above 240 when testing after installs.

I did have to have a check back to see what there APW7's were rated at to see if I felt like risking it, but they were rated up to 264V.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1546


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
February 20, 2019, 12:08:30 PM
 #252

Have there been any more reports of issues with the PSU's. I'm kicking around the idea of an S15/T15 not to sure yet. I'll have to do some more more testing but I believe I've seen my lines hit above 240 when testing after installs.

I did have to have a check back to see what there APW7's were rated at to see if I felt like risking it, but they were rated up to 264V.

so far just the one guy.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!