Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2019, 03:28:50 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Need help for cooling ASIC-s  (Read 200 times)
Myl0sh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 08, 2019, 10:36:47 PM
Last edit: June 09, 2019, 11:25:14 AM by frodocooper
 #1

Hi,

I have 2 ASIC-s Whatminer M3X, and I have a problem with noise and cooling. The days are getting warmer and the noise is loud, the outdoor temperature is ~40C, and fun speed is 5000k.

I isolated with soundproofing box ASIC-s but the sound in intake pipe is too loud.

Is it a good idea to extract the air from the freezer? A freezer is soundproof box and has cold air Cheesy

This is the picture of what I thought: https://i.imgur.com/9lXbsIG.png.
1575991730
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575991730

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575991730
Reply with quote  #2

1575991730
Report to moderator
1575991730
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575991730

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575991730
Reply with quote  #2

1575991730
Report to moderator
1575991730
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575991730

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575991730
Reply with quote  #2

1575991730
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1575991730
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575991730

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575991730
Reply with quote  #2

1575991730
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 2009



View Profile
June 08, 2019, 10:47:11 PM
Last edit: June 09, 2019, 11:26:33 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (3), dbshck (2), carlfebz2 (1)
 #2

here is a very simple idea for you.



when sept 15 comes along plug them back in.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
NeuroticFish
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1372


There are no mistakes. Only opportunities wasted.


View Profile
June 08, 2019, 11:00:35 PM
Merited by dbshck (2)
 #3

There may be moisture in the air from the freezer.
There will be condensation because of the great difference in temperature.
And these may not be great for the ASICs.

I guess that AC is out of discussion because of the costs and I guess that there's no cold basement you could use (else you would have used it already).
So.. yeah, the best option for you may be indeed what @philipma1957 has suggested.

Raymond_B
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 69

Just Getting Started...


View Profile WWW
June 08, 2019, 11:33:13 PM
 #4

Those miners move too much air, all you'd be doing is restricting the intake side. The freezer could not cool the air fast enough as the miners ingest it. Also, who ever said a freezer is soundproof? When's the last time you put something noisy in there?

And yes, that's a possible Dexter question Smiley

Myl0sh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 08, 2019, 11:53:35 PM
Last edit: June 09, 2019, 11:28:28 AM by frodocooper
 #5

My ACIS-s are in old broken freezer and freezer is good soundproof box trust me I tested Cheesy

I need payback money for my ACIS-s and because of that I am not considering to turn off.

The intake pipe is 1m long but the exhaust pipe is 5m long, maybe poll funs do not have enough power to push warm air from ASIC?
Raymond_B
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 69

Just Getting Started...


View Profile WWW
June 09, 2019, 12:52:05 AM
Last edit: June 09, 2019, 11:28:55 AM by frodocooper
 #6

What diameter is your "piping"? That makes a big difference, but think about this. Most ASICS moves 200+ cubic feet of air per minute, how many cubic feet is that freezer? Fridges and freezers were never designed to instantly cool air. It takes them a while. A fridge or freezer will never, ever, keep up. Even if by some physics miracle you found one that could you have to pay the electric costs of cooling that air.

THE_BIGGEST_SINGLE_THING_IS_TO_KEEP_ASICS_FROM_INGESTING_THEIR_OWN_EXHAUST. People try to get clever and ignore that simple truth, you cannot.

ZimbaCardi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 121
Merit: 32


View Profile
June 09, 2019, 02:41:12 AM
 #7

https://minermaster.com/product/minermaster-pro-a-immersion-cooler-stock-without-immersion-oil/
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1278


Beware on fake ledger nano, trezor and electrum.


View Profile WWW
June 09, 2019, 07:21:55 PM
Last edit: June 10, 2019, 09:45:22 AM by frodocooper
 #8

My ACIS-s are in old broken freezer and freezer is good soundproof box trust me I tested Cheesy

If the freezer still releasing cold air it will end up like this



But if you just use it as a soundproof box it is safe to rust. Cold air may damage all parts due to humidity so keep them away in cold places.

Myl0sh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 09, 2019, 08:49:18 PM
 #9

freezer is broken, not work. i use just for soundproof box
mikeywith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 1640


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
June 11, 2019, 09:03:23 PM
Last edit: June 12, 2019, 11:18:48 AM by frodocooper
Merited by philipma1957 (1)
 #10

There is no way on planet earth that you will get your miner to run cool without noise in a 40 degree temp without an AC , your best shot in terms of controlling the temps would be setting the fan to 100% and getting red of the heat using the ducting which you already have.

ok I forgot, there is 1 way on earth, immersion cooling , but that will probably cost you more than turning them off for now till the weather gets better, if you decide to keep them no at least under-clock them , use the ELPM on bitmain's firmware or install Braiin's OS and set a very low freq and voltage until

By the way, temps here are just the same, they float between 30 and 45 , if you drop an egg on the road it will be instantly fried , I parked my car under the sun earlier, got my hand burned trying to open the door (no joke) , and for my miners, I use AC all the way and keep praying for


BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1278


Beware on fake ledger nano, trezor and electrum.


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2019, 11:31:05 PM
 #11

There is no way on planet earth that you will get your miner to run cool without noise in a 40 degree temp without an AC , your best shot in terms of controlling the temps would be setting the fan to 100% and getting red of the heat using the ducting which you already have.

If you set the fan 100% the fan will be much noisy so he should reduce the fan speed lower than 80% to reduce the fan noise and for the temp, I think adding exhaust fan in the exhaust duct is fine no need for AC.




@Myl0sh if you don't know how to set the fan speed manually you can follow this guide below.

- Solution for ANTMINER S9 FANS SPEED Up & Down every 20 Seconds.

mikeywith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 1640


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
June 13, 2019, 01:06:56 AM
 #12

I think adding exhaust fan in the exhaust duct is fine no need for AC.

Not true, not even close , i am not sure what science say about running a dozen chips on high frequency , generating a well over 1kw in heat , and using an air that has 40° on it to cool down such a beast.

But science aside, real life experience says this is NOT possible,  40° c is not just hot, it is HOT.

DebitMe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142
Merit: 1005


★Bitvest.io★ Play Plinko or Invest!


View Profile
June 13, 2019, 01:15:35 AM
 #13

You will burn out the condenser in the fridge if you try to use it to cool. They are not designed to be on for long spans of time. They are supposed to turn on, run for a few minutes, then turn off. The insulation in the freezer makes sure it doesn't have to run for long.

If you pull that cool air out, it will quickly burn the motor out.



.
.BIG WINNER!.
[15.00000000 BTC]


▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
██████████▀▀██████████
█████████░░░░█████████
██████████▄▄██████████
███████▀▀████▀▀███████
██████░░░░██░░░░██████
███████▄▄████▄▄███████
████▀▀████▀▀████▀▀████
███░░░░██░░░░██░░░░███
████▄▄████▄▄████▄▄████
██████████████████████

▀████████████████████▀
▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
█████▀▀█▀▀▀▀▀▀██▀▀████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░░████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░▄████
█████░░▄███▄░░░░██████
█████▄▄███▀░░░░▄██████
█████████░░░░░░███████
████████░░░░░░░███████
███████░░░░░░░░███████
███████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███████

██████████████████████
▀████████████████████▀
▄████████████████████▄
███████████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███████████▀▀▄▄█░░░░░█
█████████▀░░█████░░░░█
███████▀░░░░░████▀░░░▀
██████░░░░░░░░▀▄▄█████
█████░▄░░░░░▄██████▀▀█
████░████▄░███████░░░░
███░█████░█████████░░█
███░░░▀█░██████████░░█
███░░░░░░████▀▀██▀░░░░
███░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░

██░▄▄▄▄░████▄▄██▄░░░░
████████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██
█████████████░█▀▀▀█░███
██████████▀▀░█▀░░░▀█░▀▀
███████▀░▄▄█░█░░░░░█░█▄
████▀░▄▄████░▀█░░░█▀░██
███░▄████▀▀░▄░▀█░█▀░▄░▀
█▀░███▀▀▀░░███░▀█▀░███░
▀░███▀░░░░░████▄░▄████░
░███▀░░░░░░░█████████░░
░███░░░░░░░░░███████░░░
███▀░██░░░░░░▀░▄▄▄░▀░░░
███░██████▄▄░▄█████▄░▄▄

██░████████░███████░█
▄████████████████████▄
████████▀▀░░░▀▀███████
███▀▀░░░░░▄▄▄░░░░▀▀▀██
██░▀▀▄▄░░░▀▀▀░░░▄▄▀▀██
██░▄▄░░▀▀▄▄░▄▄▀▀░░░░██
██░▀▀░░░░░░█░░░░░██░██
██░░░▄▄░░░░█░██░░░░░██
██░░░▀▀░░░░█░░░░░░░░██
██░░░░░▄▄░░█░░░░░██░██
██▄░░░░▀▀░░█░██░░░░░██
█████▄▄░░░░█░░░░▄▄████
█████████▄▄█▄▄████████

▀████████████████████▀




Rainbot
Daily Quests
Faucet
Raymond_B
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 69

Just Getting Started...


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2019, 04:00:59 AM
Last edit: June 17, 2019, 10:05:46 AM by frodocooper
 #14

AC has never proven to be effective when cooling miners. By the time you spend the money on the AC unit and electricity you're usually losing money. I won't even enter the "free elec" argument Smiley Plus, AC units generate heat.

Anyway I have 3 ASICS, a 6 GPU rig, an old HP DL580 server and 2 HP storage chassis. I run these in the ambient Texas heat where the intake temps in the summer are easily 40C+ (last year I had days of 112F). When I just had the ASICS I ran them via 6" ducts. That did OK, but the ducting added 2-3 deg C to miner temp. Now I run the above in a room with two 24"x24" openings and a 3000 CFM exhaust fan. Nothing overheats and the units actually run cooler this way. No doubt because the miners are not ingesting their own heat.

Bottom line, yes, you can run this stuff in hot environments with no AC, removing exhaust is key because 40C is "cool" compared to the ASIC chip temps.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!