Bitcoin Forum
May 07, 2024, 06:36:39 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Upgrading to Electrum 3.3.6 on Ubuntu  (Read 159 times)
rbscebu (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 6


View Profile
June 12, 2019, 03:15:16 AM
 #1

OS = LUbuntu 16.04.6
Currently installed Electrum 3.1.2

I am trying to upgrade to Electrum 3.3.6. I take the following steps:

   
Code:
 sudo apt-get install python3-pyqt5
     wget https://download.electrum.org/3.3.6/Electrum-3.3.6.tar.gz
     sudo apt-get install python3-setuptools python3-pip

All works well, then I:

   
Code:
 python3 -m pip install --user Electrum-3.3.6.tar.gz[fast] 

and get the following:

Code:
     Processing ./Electrum-3.3.6.tar.gz
         ERROR: Complete output from command python setup.py egg_info:
         ERROR: Error: Electrum requires Python version >= 3.6.1...
         ----------------------------------------
     ERROR: Command "python setup.py egg_info" failed with error code 1 in /tmp/pip-req-build-ixoym5m6/

I have tried this multiple time with the same results.

How can I upgrade my Electrum 3.1.2 to 3.3.6?
Bitcoin addresses contain a checksum, so it is very unlikely that mistyping an address will cause you to lose money.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715063799
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715063799

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715063799
Reply with quote  #2

1715063799
Report to moderator
1715063799
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715063799

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715063799
Reply with quote  #2

1715063799
Report to moderator
1715063799
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715063799

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715063799
Reply with quote  #2

1715063799
Report to moderator
pooya87
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3444
Merit: 10550



View Profile
June 12, 2019, 04:02:07 AM
 #2

the problem is with your installed python version which is lower than what Electrum requires to run. use "python -V" or "python --version" command to see your installed version, it must be something below 3.6.1.
the solution is to upgrade your python too. you can follow this to install new version on your Ubuntu 16.04:
http://ubuntuhandbook.org/index.php/2017/07/install-python-3-6-1-in-ubuntu-16-04-lts/

.
.BLACKJACK ♠ FUN.
█████████
██████████████
████████████
█████████████████
████████████████▄▄
░█████████████▀░▀▀
██████████████████
░██████████████
████████████████
░██████████████
████████████
███████████████░██
██████████
CRYPTO CASINO &
SPORTS BETTING
▄▄███████▄▄
▄███████████████▄
███████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████
▀███████████████▀
█████████
.
rbscebu (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 6


View Profile
June 12, 2019, 04:43:11 AM
Last edit: June 12, 2019, 04:59:55 AM by rbscebu
 #3

Thank you pooya87. I got all that done.
Code:
python3 --version
Python 3.6.8
Then I got
Code:
python3 -m pip install --user Electrum-3.3.6.tar.gz[fast]
/usr/bin/python3: No module named pip
so I
Code:
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get -y upgrade
sudo apt-get install python-pip
To check my pip install, I
Code:
pip --version
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/richard/.local/bin/pip", line 7, in <module>
    from pip._internal import main
ImportError: No module named _internal
This was not what I expected and I still get
Code:
python3 -m pip install --user Electrum-3.3.6.tar.gz[fast]
/usr/bin/python3: No module named pip
Any further assistance would be much appreciated.
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3612
Merit: 1564



View Profile
June 12, 2019, 05:42:44 AM
 #4

The reason you can't do the setup is because python-pip and pyqt5 from apt are not built against the newer version of python you installed from that third party repo.

I think you should just use the appimage download instead. It contains all dependencies and is designed for old linux distros like the one you have. Here's a script that will fetch it for you: https://github.com/AbdussamadA/electrum-install
bob123
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 2481



View Profile WWW
June 12, 2019, 07:13:39 AM
 #5

What do you get when running the following

Code:
python3 -m pip --version

Do you get the same error message ?


The easiest probably would be if you simply use the AppImage.

However, if you still want pip for python3.6 to work, you might as well do this:
Code:
wget https://bootstrap.pypa.io/get-pip.py
sudo python3 get-pip.py

This downloads a python script, which contains pip as binary data.
It will install pip for the used python version.

rbscebu (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 6


View Profile
June 12, 2019, 12:02:07 PM
 #6

Code:
yes,
[code]python3 -m pip --version
gives the same error message.

I have downloaded the AppImage. I extracted and read the Readme file. Was still none the wiser on how to install it.

I then used
Code:
 wget https://bootstrap.pypa.io/get-pip.py
sudo python3 get-pip.py
as suggested. All looked good so I
Code:
python3 -m pip install --user Electrum-3.3.6.tar.gz[fast]
and got the following result
Code:
Running setup.py install for psutil ... error
    ERROR: Complete output from command /usr/bin/python3 -u -c 'import setuptools, tokenize;__file__='"'"'/tmp/pip-install-zbg0e535/psutil/setup.py'"'"';f=getattr(tokenize, '"'"'open'"'"', open)(__file__);code=f.read().replace('"'"'\r\n'"'"', '"'"'\n'"'"');f.close();exec(compile(code, __file__, '"'"'exec'"'"'))' install --record /tmp/pip-record-ova3ijcd/install-record.txt --single-version-externally-managed --compile --user --prefix=:
    ERROR: /usr/lib/python3.6/distutils/dist.py:261: UserWarning: Unknown distribution option: 'python_requires'
      warnings.warn(msg)
    running install
    running build
    running build_py
    creating build
    creating build/lib.linux-i686-3.6
    creating build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil
    copying psutil/_psposix.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil
    copying psutil/_pslinux.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil
    copying psutil/_pssunos.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil
    copying psutil/_psaix.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil
    copying psutil/_common.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil
    copying psutil/__init__.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil
    copying psutil/_compat.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil
    copying psutil/_psosx.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil
    copying psutil/_pswindows.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil
    copying psutil/_psbsd.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil
    creating build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    copying psutil/tests/test_aix.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    copying psutil/tests/test_sunos.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    copying psutil/tests/test_unicode.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    copying psutil/tests/test_osx.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    copying psutil/tests/runner.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    copying psutil/tests/test_bsd.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    copying psutil/tests/test_memory_leaks.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    copying psutil/tests/test_connections.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    copying psutil/tests/test_posix.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    copying psutil/tests/__init__.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    copying psutil/tests/test_windows.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    copying psutil/tests/test_process.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    copying psutil/tests/test_misc.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    copying psutil/tests/test_contracts.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    copying psutil/tests/test_linux.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    copying psutil/tests/test_system.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    copying psutil/tests/__main__.py -> build/lib.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/tests
    running build_ext
    building 'psutil._psutil_linux' extension
    creating build/temp.linux-i686-3.6
    creating build/temp.linux-i686-3.6/psutil
    i686-linux-gnu-gcc -pthread -DNDEBUG -g -fwrapv -O2 -Wall -g -fstack-protector-strong -Wformat -Werror=format-security -Wdate-time -D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2 -fPIC -DPSUTIL_POSIX=1 -DPSUTIL_VERSION=563 -DPSUTIL_LINUX=1 -I/usr/include/python3.6m -c psutil/_psutil_common.c -o build/temp.linux-i686-3.6/psutil/_psutil_common.o
    psutil/_psutil_common.c:9:20: fatal error: Python.h: No such file or directory
    compilation terminated.
    error: command 'i686-linux-gnu-gcc' failed with exit status 1
    ----------------------------------------
ERROR: Command "/usr/bin/python3 -u -c 'import setuptools, tokenize;__file__='"'"'/tmp/pip-install-zbg0e535/psutil/setup.py'"'"';f=getattr(tokenize, '"'"'open'"'"', open)(__file__);code=f.read().replace('"'"'\r\n'"'"', '"'"'\n'"'"');f.close();exec(compile(code, __file__, '"'"'exec'"'"'))' install --record /tmp/pip-record-ova3ijcd/install-record.txt --single-version-externally-managed --compile --user --prefix=" failed with error code 1 in /tmp/pip-install-zbg0e535/psutil/

I would now like to try using AppImag to upgrade my Electrum. How do I do this from the extracted files?[/code]
bob123
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 2481



View Profile WWW
June 12, 2019, 12:47:26 PM
Merited by ABCbits (1)
 #7

You don't need to 'install' the AppImage.

You just need to make it executable (chmod +x filename).
Then simply run it, and it works.

If you want to be able to open it via the console from everywhere, you can create a symlink to any directory in your home path (e.g. /usr/bin or /usr/local/bin).


Regarding the error message, you need to install python3-dev from your distributions repository.
For me at least it seems to be the reason for the error appearing (Python.H missing).

rbscebu (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 6


View Profile
June 13, 2019, 12:21:19 AM
 #8

DAY 2

First I would like to thanks those who have given their time in trying to help me with this project. It is very much appreciated.

After yesterday, things where getting just too complicated for me. Today I have decided to try and get Electrum 3.3.6 working on my Lubuntu 16.04 desktop using the Appimage.

I have downloaded the Appimage and now have the folder Electrum-3.3.6 in my Home Folder. The Electrum-3.3.6 folder contains-

Folders:
     contrib
     electrum
     Electrum.egg-info
     PACKAGES

Files:
     AUTHORS
     Electrum Bitcoin Wallet
     LICENCE
     MANIFEST.in
     PKG-INFO
     README.rst
     RELEASE-NOTES
     run_electrum
     setup.cfg
     setup.py

I then double-click on the file Electrum Bitcoin Wallet. My hard disk works for about 20 seconds and then nothing.

Next was to double-click on the file run_electrum and then click on “Execute”. Hard disk works for about 5 seconds and then nothing.

Next was to double-click on the file run_electrum and then click on “Execute in Terminal”. The terminal window opens and text appears in the window. The window then closes before I can read the text.

How can I get Electrum 3.3.6 to work on my desktop?
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3612
Merit: 1564



View Profile
June 13, 2019, 05:29:55 AM
 #9

you keep asking questions but don't read the answers given to you. use the script i posted above in post 4 or just do what bob123 said in post 7.  there is nothing to install or extract with the appimage. just make it executable and run it.
bob123
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 2481



View Profile WWW
June 13, 2019, 06:19:28 AM
Merited by bones261 (2)
 #10

You didn't download the .AppImage file.

You literally just need to do:
1) Download the AppImage
1.1) Optionally (but preferable) check the signature
2) Make it executable (chmod +x)
3) Run it

Even when extacting the AppImage, you will only get a sqashfs-root directory.
Inside of this directory there is an executable called AppRun. Running this also brings up electrum. So it is obvious that you indeed didn't download the AppImage.

You seem to be over complicating this too much.


You might really want to just use the script provided by Abdussamad.
It downloads the electrum AppImage, checks the signature, moves it into a subfolder of your home directory and makes it executable.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!