Bitcoin Forum
May 12, 2024, 06:35:29 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Cannot cross compile Bitcoin 0.18 for windows because of QT  (Read 220 times)
TheWolf666 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 615
Merit: 154


CEO of Metaisland.gg and W.O.K Corp


View Profile WWW
June 27, 2019, 09:56:28 PM
Last edit: June 30, 2019, 07:01:02 AM by TheWolf666
 #1

I try to compile Bitcoin 0.18 for windows, from an Ubuntu Mate 0.18.2
When I compile the dependencies, I get this error.
The QT wallet cannot be compiled in consequence. Any workaround?

Code:
checking QtPlugin usability... no
checking QtPlugin presence... no
checking for QtPlugin... no
configure: WARNING: QtCore headers missing; bitcoin-qt frontend will not be built

In order to get the maximum amount of activity points possible, you just need to post once per day on average. Skipping days is OK as long as you maintain the average.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715495729
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715495729

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715495729
Reply with quote  #2

1715495729
Report to moderator
1715495729
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715495729

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715495729
Reply with quote  #2

1715495729
Report to moderator
1715495729
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715495729

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715495729
Reply with quote  #2

1715495729
Report to moderator
DaCryptoRaccoon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1203
Merit: 582


OGRaccoon


View Profile
June 28, 2019, 10:06:18 AM
 #2

Code:
set PATH=%PATH%;C:\Qt\5.11.1\bin
cd C:\coin folder name
qmake USE_UPNP=- coinname-qt.pro
mingw32-make -f Makefile.Release

Looks like QT5 is missing..

This topic might be of some help to you..

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=149479.1140

https://download.qt.io/archive/qt/5.11/5.11.1/


┏━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━━┓
┃   💎 Mine Solo with CKPool 💎    ┃
┃    ➤ Hit Blocks on Your Own!      ┃
┃ ███▓▓  ███▓▓  ███▓▓  ███▓▓┃
TheWolf666 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 615
Merit: 154


CEO of Metaisland.gg and W.O.K Corp


View Profile WWW
June 28, 2019, 11:14:52 AM
 #3

Hum, I am cross compiling on Ubuntu, not on Windows...
QT5 is installed, but the PATH is maybe not updated. I will investigate that, thanks for your answer.


Code:
set PATH=%PATH%;C:\Qt\5.11.1\bin
cd C:\coin folder name
qmake USE_UPNP=- coinname-qt.pro
mingw32-make -f Makefile.Release

Looks like QT5 is missing..

This topic might be of some help to you..

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=149479.1140

https://download.qt.io/archive/qt/5.11/5.11.1/



pereira4
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1183


View Profile
July 08, 2019, 02:28:10 PM
 #4

Hum, I am cross compiling on Ubuntu, not on Windows...
QT5 is installed, but the PATH is maybe not updated. I will investigate that, thanks for your answer.


Code:
set PATH=%PATH%;C:\Qt\5.11.1\bin
cd C:\coin folder name
qmake USE_UPNP=- coinname-qt.pro
mingw32-make -f Makefile.Release

Looks like QT5 is missing..

This topic might be of some help to you..

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=149479.1140

https://download.qt.io/archive/qt/5.11/5.11.1/



Uninstall and reinstall:

Code:
sudo apt autoremove '.*qt5.*-dev'
sudo apt autoremove '.*qt4.*-dev'

Then reinstall:



Code:
wget http://download.qt.io/official_releases/qt/5.7/5.7.0/qt-opensource-linux-x64-5.7.0.run
chmod +x qt-opensource-linux-x64-5.7.0.run
./qt-opensource-linux-x64-5.7.0.run

but install qt4 first then qt5
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3388
Merit: 6635


Just writing some code


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2019, 02:47:23 PM
 #5

Are you using the depends system? You should be as the system libraries will not be built for Windows so cross compile won't work with the system libs.

TheWolf666 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 615
Merit: 154


CEO of Metaisland.gg and W.O.K Corp


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2019, 03:58:18 PM
Merited by pereira4 (1)
 #6

I have solved the problem. Bitcoin apparently does not use the 'normal' QT dev install, so you really need to compile QT5 from the depends.
If there is a problem with the depend compilation (for example one of the sha256 flavor is doing an error), the depends compilation is stopping, before QT5 was installed (it is compiled close to the end).
I didn't noticed the error and though the depends were totally finished.

make -i solved the problem, the compilation of the depends jumped over the failed compilation and finished correctly.

Btw, it is also working to backup the depend folder or copy from one folder to another. Bitcoin configuration is all relative to the depends/ folder, so what I am doing to save the time to re-compile the depends is to zip the depends folder for each version of Bitcoin and unzip them after cloning the repository, it is working and is fast!

Another interesting thing is that the depends folder can also be copied into a fork of Bitcoin (altcoin) and it is working - assuming that the versions are matching of course.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!