Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:31:14 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can someone help me install cgminer on linuxcoin?  (Read 5374 times)
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
November 12, 2011, 07:16:47 PM
 #1

I've learned more over the past couple days, but I still don't quite understand how to get this thing going. I can't find any tutorials either. I'm using the headless linuxcoin guide as the basis of my build and have followed those instructions so far. I have gotten the phoenix miner to work. I downloaded cgminer2.08 and unzipped it in my downloads folder.

I also wrote a pre-install script from the tutorial in the package, but i have no idea what to do from here or if anything I've done so far is correct.

Thanks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481142674
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481142674

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481142674
Reply with quote  #2

1481142674
Report to moderator
1481142674
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481142674

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481142674
Reply with quote  #2

1481142674
Report to moderator
1481142674
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481142674

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481142674
Reply with quote  #2

1481142674
Report to moderator
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
November 12, 2011, 08:04:52 PM
 #2

I just can't understand why it doesn't work. That ./configure says file not founf or some bs. This is driving me insane and no one has any decent tutorials, it all assumes you're a linux genius.

damnit man, I'm sure someone here could help me easily. Please help!
Tartarus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
November 12, 2011, 10:10:00 PM
 #3

I just can't understand why it doesn't work. That ./configure says file not founf or some bs. This is driving me insane and no one has any decent tutorials, it all assumes you're a linux genius.

damnit man, I'm sure someone here could help me easily. Please help!

Before you can run configure you need to run ./autogen.sh

Find the above useful?  Send tips to 1KjoJihf7GWHWeQFhDmaw4g7xorkmD13u
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 13, 2011, 02:00:03 AM
 #4

You're going way over his head. He just wants a binary that works. Linuxcoin is built on an older ubuntu than the 2.0.8 package is. For now you will have much more luck with linuxcoin and the 2.0.7 binary which was built for an older ubuntu linux.

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-2.0.7-x86_64-built.tar.bz2

You don't need to configure or build anything, just run it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
November 13, 2011, 06:30:35 AM
 #5

What do you mean by just run it? is there an executable file in there that will auto install?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 13, 2011, 08:42:09 AM
 #6

What do you mean by just run it? is there an executable file in there that will auto install?

There is an executable file in there you can run directly.

tar xf cgminer-2.0.7-x86_64-built.tar.bz2
cd cgminer-2.0.7
./cgminer


Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
November 13, 2011, 10:53:09 PM
 #7

Thank you, I will try it and give feedback.
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
November 13, 2011, 11:34:08 PM
 #8

Small tip if you are new to linux, to get the tarbal, from the command line you can type (or copy paste):

Code:
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-2.0.7-x86_64-built.tar.bz2

then follow ckolivas' instructions:

tar xf cgminer-2.0.7-x86_64-built.tar.bz2
cd cgminer-2.0.7
./cgminer

Once that works, you will want to do this over SSH, using "screen" so you can log in and out of the session from any pc in the network.

jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
November 14, 2011, 04:38:46 AM
 #9

Can't get it to work. I'm using Linuxcoin 0.2.1b and I keep getting the error message about libcurl. I downloaded the file 2.0.7 and followed the above instructions and it won't run when I get to ./cgminer.

error while loading shared libraries: libcurl.so.4: cannot open shared objkect file: No such file or directory.
likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
November 14, 2011, 05:41:52 AM
 #10

sudo ./cgminer

P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
November 14, 2011, 08:21:53 AM
 #11

There is no need to run cgminer as sudo. He needs to install those missing libraries.

Try this:

Code:
sudo apt-get install libcurl4-openssl-dev

Hope thats the correct one, not on my linux box here. If it cant find it, then type part of it, like libcurl and hit TAB twice for a list of possibile matches.

P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
November 14, 2011, 08:51:56 AM
 #12

there is no apt-file on linuxcoin.

jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
November 29, 2011, 05:02:31 AM
 #13

I still have no clue. I'm building a new rig this week and might just try one of the generic linux tutorials. Thinking about using Ubuntu 11.04 64bit with the 11.5 amd drivers to avoid cpu bug and then try cgminer again.

I'd love to use the newer amd drivers, 11.11 as it looks like they help with power draw, but first and foremost i really want a 100% stable rig that doesn't need to be screwed around with very much.

jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
December 02, 2011, 07:31:48 PM
 #14

I got it running on a new rig today, thanks for everyone's help! Now I can figure out how to configure the miner to optimize my 5970's.
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
December 30, 2011, 12:40:56 AM
 #15

sudo ./cgminer
cgminer doesn't need to be run with root. No need for sudo

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!