Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2018, 07:03:36 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [Pictures][LightningASIC Hardware] Gridseeds LightningASICS by AJ Miles  (Read 4211 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
AJMiles
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 17, 2014, 07:26:35 AM
 #1

Hi Bitcoiners,
I just took screenshots to show my reddit followers my new Gridseeds LightningASICS miners.  

It took about 2 weeks to receive them and now they are finally here, so here is a close-up of each equipment.

Here is my guide how to connect to DirectPool (DP) with Gridseeds-LightningASICS
Review + Tutorial => https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=519078.0

Reddit: http://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/20m96g/pictures_setup_my_antibig_brother_gridseeds_asics/

I posted a PSA (Public Service Announcement) about the real problems and challenges we could be facing if we don't spread out the miners to other pools.
It is becoming way too centralized, and we need to step up now, as adoptors and miners of bitcoin today, and into the future.

Spread this PSA around and contribute in the thread please! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=519788

IS YOUR GRIDSEEDS/LIGHTNINGASICS getting 'TOO HOT?' on BTC mode and/or BTC/LTC mode?
Help elaborate your questions in this thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=525531.new#new

http://i.imgur.com/Qu1rDOZ.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/ZAZV4O9.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/30Cs7Y3.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/VL4nLNR.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/ZSJEbGe.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/jYWF1Vf.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/mh6eqme.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/nxS5qpn.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/pAnDkou.jpg
1542740616
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542740616

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542740616
Reply with quote  #2

1542740616
Report to moderator
1542740616
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542740616

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542740616
Reply with quote  #2

1542740616
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542740616
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542740616

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542740616
Reply with quote  #2

1542740616
Report to moderator
1542740616
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542740616

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542740616
Reply with quote  #2

1542740616
Report to moderator
Ripdon007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 17, 2014, 03:51:29 PM
 #2

I like it.. i like it a lot.. cool setup bro

I mine my bitcoins at https://www.directpool.net ### I get my bitcoin news fix at https://coinreport.net
AJMiles
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 17, 2014, 06:54:12 PM
 #3

I like it.. i like it a lot.. cool setup bro

Thanks bro, it was time consuming to hack this together but I got it done!

In case anyone missed it, Here is my guide how to connect to DirectPool (DP) with Gridseeds-LightningASICS
Review + Tutorial => https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=519078.0

Reddit: http://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/20m96g/pictures_setup_my_antibig_brother_gridseeds_asics/
AJMiles
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 17, 2014, 08:02:05 PM
 #4

I posted a PSA (Public Service Announcement) about the real problems and challenges we could be facing if we don't spread out the miners to other pools.
It is becoming way too centralized, and we need to step up now, as adoptors and miners of bitcoin today, and into the future.

Spread this PSA around and contribute in the thread please!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=519788

AJMiles
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 10:13:22 PM
 #5

Update: I just posted some info about directpool and the key benefits.

I am now focused on mining and helping grow bitcoin by mining on http://www.directpool.net
Here is why I think directpool has main benefits for me, the miner(s) @ https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=472122.msg5829506#msg5829506

Note:
there is talks about an LTC pool coming soon, so this could be my one-stop-shop for GRIDSeeds (DUAL MODE) in mining LTC + BTC.

Coindesk reports: DirectPool Aims To Prevent 51% Attack with Community-First Mining Pool Approach
Source of press listed on: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=525519.msg5829686#msg5829686
AJMiles
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 24, 2014, 06:54:13 AM
 #6

[REVIEW POSTED] Ordered these miners via LightningASIC,
and I posted my review on the official page: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=421921.msg5868317#msg5868317
jeppe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 24, 2014, 11:57:14 AM
 #7

this is a nice setup!! how stable are these miners?? Been thinking about investing in these
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1145


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2014, 12:21:36 PM
 #8

Your subject of "Scrypt ASICS Hardware" is provocative. At least pretend it has something to do with bitcoin mining, even if you plan not to use it so; otherwise move your thread to altcoin mining.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2632
Merit: 1059


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 24, 2014, 12:47:27 PM
 #9

They use 100W to mine 10GH/s BTC ... so no one in their right mind would be mining BTC with them.

I'm not sure that there is another BTC ASIC (including the first Avalon) that uses that much power per GH/s

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
AJMiles
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 24, 2014, 05:54:19 PM
 #10

Your subject of "Scrypt ASICS Hardware" is provocative. At least pretend it has something to do with bitcoin mining, even if you plan not to use it so; otherwise move your thread to altcoin mining.


I see what you mean because the title has 'Scrypt' it is not solely about Bitcoin, and my topic was directed towards BTC.

It is a Bitcoin Miner, and is however, Dual Mode BTC + LTC. So I see what you mean.


They use 100W to mine 10GH/s BTC ... so no one in their right mind would be mining BTC with them.

I'm not sure that there is another BTC ASIC (including the first Avalon) that uses that much power per GH/s

I'm dual mode mining: BTC + LTC on DirectPool

Yeah, go figure... people agree that is isn't only about profiteering and that mining consists of more
things like Giving Back to the Community, Growing Bitcoin and its related projects, and charitable causes.

The miners have a right to vote, so.. regardless if I am going to make alot from these,
I am donating very little of my hash power to things that actually matter around here.

.. and any other Bitcoiner hashing away is appreciated.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2632
Merit: 1059


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 01:10:26 PM
 #11

...
They use 100W to mine 10GH/s BTC ... so no one in their right mind would be mining BTC with them.

I'm not sure that there is another BTC ASIC (including the first Avalon) that uses that much power per GH/s

I'm dual mode mining: BTC + LTC on DirectPool

Yeah, go figure... people agree that is isn't only about profiteering and that mining consists of more
things like Giving Back to the Community, Growing Bitcoin and its related projects, and charitable causes.

The miners have a right to vote, so.. regardless if I am going to make alot from these,
I am donating very little of my hash power to things that actually matter around here.

.. and any other Bitcoiner hashing away is appreciated.

I have the spec details document.

LTC Mode:20-25W

In dual mode or BTC mode it is 100W

So it's still probably the worst power usage BTC ASIC hashing device on the market.
75-80W of 10GH/s BTC with 20-25W LTC, 100W to get 10GH/s BTC without LTC

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
dani
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 511
Merit: 500


..yeah


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 02:57:39 PM
 #12

...
They use 100W to mine 10GH/s BTC ... so no one in their right mind would be mining BTC with them.

I'm not sure that there is another BTC ASIC (including the first Avalon) that uses that much power per GH/s

I'm dual mode mining: BTC + LTC on DirectPool

Yeah, go figure... people agree that is isn't only about profiteering and that mining consists of more
things like Giving Back to the Community, Growing Bitcoin and its related projects, and charitable causes.

The miners have a right to vote, so.. regardless if I am going to make alot from these,
I am donating very little of my hash power to things that actually matter around here.

.. and any other Bitcoiner hashing away is appreciated.

I have the spec details document.

LTC Mode:20-25W

In dual mode or BTC mode it is 100W

So it's still probably the worst power usage BTC ASIC hashing device on the market.
75-80W of 10GH/s BTC with 20-25W LTC, 100W to get 10GH/s BTC without LTC

I hate to tell you you're wrong, but you are. These use 9ish Watts in LTC-only (not overclocked) and around 11 overclocked (after bad, bad PSU). Deduct the fan and you safe another 2W or so. Didn't try mining btc, though. I don't see any sense in it - unless you have free electricity or a broken heater Cheesy

Hai
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 25, 2014, 03:30:55 PM
 #13

I have the spec details document.

LTC Mode:20-25W
I hate to tell you you're wrong, but you are. These use 9ish Watts in LTC-only (not overclocked) and around 11 overclocked (after bad, bad PSU). Deduct the fan and you safe another 2W or so. Didn't try mining btc, though. I don't see any sense in it - unless you have free electricity or a broken heater Cheesy
1) Yeah, we run ours in LTC mode w/o the fan, OC'd to 925, and they pull 5-6W/each.

2) While I don't shun them for being a scrypt ASIC, I do see Con + Kano's point. The ONLY point of these things is to mine Scrypt. BTC on these is a joke. All convos surrounding them should be moved to the alt-coin sections.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
AJMiles
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 06:43:33 PM
 #14

I have the spec details document.

LTC Mode:20-25W
I hate to tell you you're wrong, but you are. These use 9ish Watts in LTC-only (not overclocked) and around 11 overclocked (after bad, bad PSU). Deduct the fan and you safe another 2W or so. Didn't try mining btc, though. I don't see any sense in it - unless you have free electricity or a broken heater Cheesy
1) Yeah, we run ours in LTC mode w/o the fan, OC'd to 925, and they pull 5-6W/each.

2) While I don't shun them for being a scrypt ASIC, I do see Con + Kano's point. The ONLY point of these things is to mine Scrypt. BTC on these is a joke. All convos surrounding them should be moved to the alt-coin sections.

I am SHA256 mining (BITCOIN) with these, sure, not profitable, but my point isn't about profits.

Otherwise, it is BTC and here is my video hashing away: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zs7otQlp2L0

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2632
Merit: 1059


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 26, 2014, 12:13:12 AM
 #15

...
They use 100W to mine 10GH/s BTC ... so no one in their right mind would be mining BTC with them.

I'm not sure that there is another BTC ASIC (including the first Avalon) that uses that much power per GH/s

I'm dual mode mining: BTC + LTC on DirectPool

Yeah, go figure... people agree that is isn't only about profiteering and that mining consists of more
things like Giving Back to the Community, Growing Bitcoin and its related projects, and charitable causes.

The miners have a right to vote, so.. regardless if I am going to make alot from these,
I am donating very little of my hash power to things that actually matter around here.

.. and any other Bitcoiner hashing away is appreciated.

I have the spec details document.

LTC Mode:20-25W

In dual mode or BTC mode it is 100W

So it's still probably the worst power usage BTC ASIC hashing device on the market.
75-80W of 10GH/s BTC with 20-25W LTC, 100W to get 10GH/s BTC without LTC

I hate to tell you you're wrong, but you are. These use 9ish Watts in LTC-only (not overclocked) and around 11 overclocked (after bad, bad PSU). Deduct the fan and you safe another 2W or so. Didn't try mining btc, though. I don't see any sense in it - unless you have free electricity or a broken heater Cheesy
Well my number are direct from gridseed themselves.
If they are wrong, then you better tell gridseed they are wrong about their own devices and they should correct their information.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!