Bitcoin Forum
January 23, 2021, 01:07:24 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Advice on Raspberry pi hardware for running full BTC node  (Read 2880 times)
DaveF
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268
Merit: 1663



View Profile WWW
February 22, 2020, 10:51:54 PM
 #141

An opinion from someone who did once have a bitcoin full node on a 32 bit rPi quad core with a 64GB usb memory stick plugged in.

DON'T

--snip--


If you read through the thread you can see that it can be done. And is being done.
As of this posting I have

1) raspiblitz on a RPi4 [ 03400a67375da5d5d04dd59514452ce9f0cadb2fbec65863073897d52843b61c80@24.45.24.105:9735 ]
2) full node on a RPi3
3) full node with lnd on a RPi3

The biggest issues are still crap power supplies and slow drives. (Just get a good USB SSD and be done)

Yeah, for the time and effort involved you can get a few generations out old micro PC and be done.
This is more fun / more of a challenge can I do it.

-Dave

███████████████████████████
█████████▀▄▄▄▄▄██▀▀████████
█████▀▄█▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀▄▄▀█████
████ █▀▄███████████▄▀██████
███▄█ ███████▀ ██████ █ ███
██▀█ ███  ▀▀█  ▀██████ █ ██
██ █ ████▄▄      ▀▀▀██ █ ██
██ █ █████▌        ▄██ ████
███▄█ █████▄▄   ▄▄███ █▀███
████▀█▄▀█████▌  ▀██▀▄█ ████
█████▄▀▀▄▄▀▀▀▀   ▄▄█▀▄█████
████████▄██▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████
███████████████████████████
               ▄███▄
            ▄████████

        ▄▄██████████
       █▀▀▀██▀▀▀████
      ███████████
    ▀▀▀████████████
      ▀███████████▀
      ▄███████████▄
 ▄
    ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███▀▀   ▄
▀▀█▀▀
███████████▀▀▀█▀▀
    ████████████████
   ▄████████████████
▄█████████████████████▄
★ ‎
‎ ★
UP
TO
15%...CASH BACK
EVERY SPIN

‎ ★
        ▄██▄
     ████████▄
     ██████████

    ████████████
     ▄████████▄
    █████████████
  ▄██████████████
  ▀██████████████▀
   █████████████▄
 ▄████████████████▄
████████████████████
 ▀▀▀████████████▀▀▀
       ██████
..PLAY NOW..
1611364044
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611364044

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611364044
Reply with quote  #2

1611364044
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1611364044
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611364044

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611364044
Reply with quote  #2

1611364044
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 2982



View Profile
February 23, 2020, 12:16:42 AM
 #142

An opinion from someone who did once have a bitcoin full node on a 32 bit rPi quad core with a 64GB usb memory stick plugged in.

DON'T

--snip--


If you read through the thread you can see that it can be done. And is being done.
As of this posting I have

1) raspiblitz on a RPi4 [ 03400a67375da5d5d04dd59514452ce9f0cadb2fbec65863073897d52843b61c80@24.45.24.105:9735 ]
2) full node on a RPi3
3) full node with lnd on a RPi3

The biggest issues are still crap power supplies and slow drives. (Just get a good USB SSD and be done)

Yeah, for the time and effort involved you can get a few generations out old micro PC and be done.
This is more fun / more of a challenge can I do it.

-Dave


yeah you can buy this

 https://www.ebay.com/itm/Lenovo-M92p-Tiny-SFF-PC-Core-i5-3470T-2-9GHz-8GB-320GB-HDD-Win-10-Pro-AC-Adapter/233498462202?

and this

https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-SSD-PLUS-Internal-SDSSDA-1T00-G26/dp/B07D998212/ref=sr_1_3?


and be done with it.


backup via a cloned hdd.

real easy peasy.


I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ETFbitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 2647


NotYourKeys.org - Not Your Keys, Not Your Bitcoin


View Profile
February 23, 2020, 06:38:17 AM
Merited by fillippone (2)
 #143

So i've finished download .ova image from https://mynodebtc.com/ and just tried it a bit.

1. By default it asks 4 processor, 4 GB RAM & 27 MB video memory
2. If you use VirtualBox, you need to install VM VirtualBox Extension Pack
3. Guest Additions isn't installed by default, so you must install it by yourself (i haven't tried it yet).
4. myNode uses Debian 10 64-bit with OpenBox desktop environment
5. The default credentials is

Username: admin
Password: bolt 

6. I don't need to configure anything, but if you need to configure anything (e.g. import Blockchain from your synced node or use Tor), you can't do it from their Web UI and must do it manually.
7. I saw Docker and Fail2Ban installed, even though there aren't images on Docker

For now it looks promising, i'll try it later when i'm not too lazy to configure it.

Icygreen
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1040



View Profile
February 23, 2020, 09:56:23 AM
 #144

Nice, glad to see you've got it running. I'm having a tough time understanding this on a Rpi4
I've flashed the image to the SD card and plugged in the HD.
I'm stuck at the next set of instructions:
Quote
Once it's powered, visit http://mynode.local/ or http://mynode_ip_address/ in a web browser on your PC, laptop or phone. The myNode device runs a webserver, so to connect to it's GUI, you use a browser on a different device.
As far as I'm aware, myNode does not have an ip address yet as it's never been connected to the internet. Does this require a LAN cable connection? Or can I edit some file to connect to my wifi?
All I have is a blue screen with 'no signal' from the device. 
Appreciate helping me understand.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 2982



View Profile
February 23, 2020, 01:07:41 PM
 #145

Nice, glad to see you've got it running. I'm having a tough time understanding this on a Rpi4
I've flashed the image to the SD card and plugged in the HD.
I'm stuck at the next set of instructions:
Quote
Once it's powered, visit http://mynode.local/ or http://mynode_ip_address/ in a web browser on your PC, laptop or phone. The myNode device runs a webserver, so to connect to it's GUI, you use a browser on a different device.
As far as I'm aware, myNode does not have an ip address yet as it's never been connected to the internet. Does this require a LAN cable connection? Or can I edit some file to connect to my wifi?
All I have is a blue screen with 'no signal' from the device. 
Appreciate helping me understand.

I would use a eth cable from the rasp pi to your router.

I would look for the rasp pi   with an ip search  like advanced ip using a regular pc and windows or linux


https://www.advanced-ip-scanner.com/    like for the scanner.


I am not anti wifi but  you will be doing a long download to the rasp pi so  an eth cable is more stable for a long download.


good luck.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
DaveF
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268
Merit: 1663



View Profile WWW
February 23, 2020, 01:30:38 PM
 #146

Nice, glad to see you've got it running. I'm having a tough time understanding this on a Rpi4
I've flashed the image to the SD card and plugged in the HD.
I'm stuck at the next set of instructions:
Quote
Once it's powered, visit http://mynode.local/ or http://mynode_ip_address/ in a web browser on your PC, laptop or phone. The myNode device runs a webserver, so to connect to it's GUI, you use a browser on a different device.
As far as I'm aware, myNode does not have an ip address yet as it's never been connected to the internet. Does this require a LAN cable connection? Or can I edit some file to connect to my wifi?
All I have is a blue screen with 'no signal' from the device. 
Appreciate helping me understand.
What philipma1957 said.
Use a cable not Wi-Fi
There is 1 driver that would have to come with it to use the wired nic since all of of them are the same.
There are many more Wi-Fi drivers that would need to be setup if you wanted it to work out of the box.
Not to mention you would need a way to set the SSID and any credentials.

The VM I downloaded yesterday is still syncing. I'm @ block 501514 after about 24 hours.
This is on my laptop just doing a normal sync with nothing configured. Wanted to do a clean test.

-Dave


███████████████████████████
█████████▀▄▄▄▄▄██▀▀████████
█████▀▄█▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀▄▄▀█████
████ █▀▄███████████▄▀██████
███▄█ ███████▀ ██████ █ ███
██▀█ ███  ▀▀█  ▀██████ █ ██
██ █ ████▄▄      ▀▀▀██ █ ██
██ █ █████▌        ▄██ ████
███▄█ █████▄▄   ▄▄███ █▀███
████▀█▄▀█████▌  ▀██▀▄█ ████
█████▄▀▀▄▄▀▀▀▀   ▄▄█▀▄█████
████████▄██▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████
███████████████████████████
               ▄███▄
            ▄████████

        ▄▄██████████
       █▀▀▀██▀▀▀████
      ███████████
    ▀▀▀████████████
      ▀███████████▀
      ▄███████████▄
 ▄
    ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███▀▀   ▄
▀▀█▀▀
███████████▀▀▀█▀▀
    ████████████████
   ▄████████████████
▄█████████████████████▄
★ ‎
‎ ★
UP
TO
15%...CASH BACK
EVERY SPIN

‎ ★
        ▄██▄
     ████████▄
     ██████████

    ████████████
     ▄████████▄
    █████████████
  ▄██████████████
  ▀██████████████▀
   █████████████▄
 ▄████████████████▄
████████████████████
 ▀▀▀████████████▀▀▀
       ██████
..PLAY NOW..
ETFbitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 2647


NotYourKeys.org - Not Your Keys, Not Your Bitcoin


View Profile
February 24, 2020, 03:11:52 AM
 #147

Nice, glad to see you've got it running. I'm having a tough time understanding this on a Rpi4
I've flashed the image to the SD card and plugged in the HD.
I'm stuck at the next set of instructions:
Quote
Once it's powered, visit http://mynode.local/ or http://mynode_ip_address/ in a web browser on your PC, laptop or phone. The myNode device runs a webserver, so to connect to it's GUI, you use a browser on a different device.
As far as I'm aware, myNode does not have an ip address yet as it's never been connected to the internet. Does this require a LAN cable connection? Or can I edit some file to connect to my wifi?
All I have is a blue screen with 'no signal' from the device. 
Appreciate helping me understand.

What you're looking is headless installation, see https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentation/configuration/wireless/headless.md.
The guide meant for Raspbian, but both Raspbian and myNode based on Debian 10.

As for looking IP which belong to your Pi, you can find it by see IP where it's port 22 (SSH port) is open or by looking at it's hostname (IIRC the default is "raspberry-pi")

The VM I downloaded yesterday is still syncing. I'm @ block 501514 after about 24 hours.
This is on my laptop just doing a normal sync with nothing configured. Wanted to do a clean test.

That's pretty fast, looks like you're using quick mode rather than true full node according to mynodebtc.com/guide/sync_bitcoin_independently

DaveF
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268
Merit: 1663



View Profile WWW
February 24, 2020, 12:31:05 PM
 #148

That's pretty fast, looks like you're using quick mode rather than true full node according to mynodebtc.com/guide/sync_bitcoin_independently

Probably but there are a bunch of full nodes on the lan that it is on so it might just be sucking it down quickly.
It's a decent machine with SSDs so I'm not sure how it was pulling it. Quick mode shows error now so I don't know if was or not without going through the logs.

-Dave

███████████████████████████
█████████▀▄▄▄▄▄██▀▀████████
█████▀▄█▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀▄▄▀█████
████ █▀▄███████████▄▀██████
███▄█ ███████▀ ██████ █ ███
██▀█ ███  ▀▀█  ▀██████ █ ██
██ █ ████▄▄      ▀▀▀██ █ ██
██ █ █████▌        ▄██ ████
███▄█ █████▄▄   ▄▄███ █▀███
████▀█▄▀█████▌  ▀██▀▄█ ████
█████▄▀▀▄▄▀▀▀▀   ▄▄█▀▄█████
████████▄██▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████
███████████████████████████
               ▄███▄
            ▄████████

        ▄▄██████████
       █▀▀▀██▀▀▀████
      ███████████
    ▀▀▀████████████
      ▀███████████▀
      ▄███████████▄
 ▄
    ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███▀▀   ▄
▀▀█▀▀
███████████▀▀▀█▀▀
    ████████████████
   ▄████████████████
▄█████████████████████▄
★ ‎
‎ ★
UP
TO
15%...CASH BACK
EVERY SPIN

‎ ★
        ▄██▄
     ████████▄
     ██████████

    ████████████
     ▄████████▄
    █████████████
  ▄██████████████
  ▀██████████████▀
   █████████████▄
 ▄████████████████▄
████████████████████
 ▀▀▀████████████▀▀▀
       ██████
..PLAY NOW..
Icygreen
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1040



View Profile
February 25, 2020, 04:59:08 AM
Last edit: February 25, 2020, 06:35:08 AM by Icygreen
 #149

Ok, I've got the ethernet cable connected from the router but I can't find the device using the advanced IP scanner.   I can see the router and other devices such as phones and computers on the wifi network but not the device connected to the eth port.   What am I missing here?  I have access to the router login creds but cant seem to locate any device info there. I can see packets being sent and received on the eth port, just can't find the ip address of the Pi.  Using windows
Have Zenmap but not sure how to use it
ETFbitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 2647


NotYourKeys.org - Not Your Keys, Not Your Bitcoin


View Profile
February 25, 2020, 06:25:32 AM
 #150

Ok, I've got the ethernet cable connected from the router but I can't find the device using the advanced IP scanner.   I can see the router and other devices such as phones and computers on the wifi network but not the device connected to the eth port.   What am I missing here?  I have access to the router login creds but cant seem to locate any device info there. I can see packets being sent and received on the eth port, just can't find the ip address of the Pi.  Using windows

It's weird if you can't find IP of your Raspberry Pi if you have access to the router. How about write list of all IP, then plug the Ethernet cable to your Pi to find the IP instead?

If there aren't many devices connected, i'd try enter each IP to my browser instead since http://mynodebtc.com/guide/getting_started mention you can access myNode web UI immediately after you power-on the device.

Icygreen
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1040



View Profile
February 25, 2020, 06:40:52 AM
Last edit: February 25, 2020, 07:00:44 AM by Icygreen
 #151

Ok, I've got the ethernet cable connected from the router but I can't find the device using the advanced IP scanner.   I can see the router and other devices such as phones and computers on the wifi network but not the device connected to the eth port.   What am I missing here?  I have access to the router login creds but cant seem to locate any device info there. I can see packets being sent and received on the eth port, just can't find the ip address of the Pi.  Using windows

It's weird if you can't find IP of your Raspberry Pi if you have access to the router. How about write list of all IP, then plug the Ethernet cable to your Pi to find the IP instead?

If there aren't many devices connected, i'd try enter each IP to my browser instead since http://mynodebtc.com/guide/getting_started mention you can access myNode web UI immediately after you power-on the device.
Tried that, only 6 devices including the router.  None besides the router return a web UI.
My router does not display any details to devices that I can see, possible I'm not looking in the right place though. Now messing around with nmap (zenmap) but not sure how to use it really.
I've even reflashed the memory card to make sure it wasn't corrupted.
Sigh...
Edit: I'm thinking it may have something to do with the router. Shows wireless devices but not wired devices.
Carlton Banks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2968
Merit: 2426



View Profile
February 25, 2020, 10:12:38 AM
 #152

Edit: I'm thinking it may have something to do with the router. Shows wireless devices but not wired devices.

you can confirm this by using the ethernet port of a device that you know is working over wifi, as the other possibility is that the image file you downloaded is broken somehow

tbh, you're better off with Raspbian, as the maximum number of people will know how to help you (Raspbian is probably most popular OS image for Raspis, whereas this myNode software most certainly isn't)

Vires in numeris
Icygreen
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1040



View Profile
February 25, 2020, 10:23:02 AM
 #153

Edit: I'm thinking it may have something to do with the router. Shows wireless devices but not wired devices.

you can confirm this by using the ethernet port of a device that you know is working over wifi, as the other possibility is that the image file you downloaded is broken somehow

tbh, you're better off with Raspbian, as the maximum number of people will know how to help you (Raspbian is probably most popular OS image for Raspis, whereas this myNode software most certainly isn't)
Must be something with the router, Tried with my laptop which works over wifi but does not work over any of the eth ports. I'll call support.
ETFbitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 2647


NotYourKeys.org - Not Your Keys, Not Your Bitcoin


View Profile
February 25, 2020, 05:23:16 PM
 #154

tbh, you're better off with Raspbian, as the maximum number of people will know how to help you (Raspbian is probably most popular OS image for Raspis, whereas this myNode software most certainly isn't)

If you read my post above, i mentioned myNode use Debian 10 64-bit with OpenBox DE. Some parts should be similar since Raspbian based on Debian 9 (or 10 for newer version)

Must be something with the router, Tried with my laptop which works over wifi but does not work over any of the eth ports. I'll call support.

You also could configure myNode to enable & connect the WiFi automatically with this guide https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentation/configuration/wireless/headless.md

DaveF
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268
Merit: 1663



View Profile WWW
February 25, 2020, 11:56:23 PM
 #155

Edit: I'm thinking it may have something to do with the router. Shows wireless devices but not wired devices.

Some (very very few but some) routers have the Wi-Fi and hard wired networks separate.
It's supposed to be some form of "security"
Make sure that there is no obscure setting somewhere in the router to keep them separate. I have not seen it in a while but there were a few that did it.

-Dave

███████████████████████████
█████████▀▄▄▄▄▄██▀▀████████
█████▀▄█▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀▄▄▀█████
████ █▀▄███████████▄▀██████
███▄█ ███████▀ ██████ █ ███
██▀█ ███  ▀▀█  ▀██████ █ ██
██ █ ████▄▄      ▀▀▀██ █ ██
██ █ █████▌        ▄██ ████
███▄█ █████▄▄   ▄▄███ █▀███
████▀█▄▀█████▌  ▀██▀▄█ ████
█████▄▀▀▄▄▀▀▀▀   ▄▄█▀▄█████
████████▄██▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████
███████████████████████████
               ▄███▄
            ▄████████

        ▄▄██████████
       █▀▀▀██▀▀▀████
      ███████████
    ▀▀▀████████████
      ▀███████████▀
      ▄███████████▄
 ▄
    ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███▀▀   ▄
▀▀█▀▀
███████████▀▀▀█▀▀
    ████████████████
   ▄████████████████
▄█████████████████████▄
★ ‎
‎ ★
UP
TO
15%...CASH BACK
EVERY SPIN

‎ ★
        ▄██▄
     ████████▄
     ██████████

    ████████████
     ▄████████▄
    █████████████
  ▄██████████████
  ▀██████████████▀
   █████████████▄
 ▄████████████████▄
████████████████████
 ▀▀▀████████████▀▀▀
       ██████
..PLAY NOW..
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 2982



View Profile
February 26, 2020, 01:03:02 AM
 #156

to give some benchmarks on a high-end beast pc .

I downloaded full node in six hours last night.

Did it with a ryzen 9 3900x cpu and a 2tb m2 nvme gen 4 hard drive.

along with 16gb ram and a 200mb internet connection.

a computer like mine is around 2000 to,build.

i suspect my bottleneck is my eth  connection.

it does illustrate that full nodes are pretty hard to download quickly.

i think i could do it it quicker and spend less but a really fast download under four hours is tough if not impossible.

i knock the rasp pi but if you create a working 1 tb ssd for your rasp pi and clone it once a week. you would save a ton of money.

is it possible to run a rasp pi in a vm on a high end pc just to make a full node quickly then clone it to an ssd and use that with the rasp Pi.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
DaveF
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268
Merit: 1663



View Profile WWW
February 26, 2020, 12:13:14 PM
 #157

So the mynode VM finished the download and now I have it working on the other stuff (electrum server and such)
Seems like a nice GUI wrapper for all the stuff that you would have to CLI for.

The update process if you do not have the paid version seems a bit cumbersome. Once everything it done and synced I will make a backup of the virtual drives and see how well it works.

-Dave

███████████████████████████
█████████▀▄▄▄▄▄██▀▀████████
█████▀▄█▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀▄▄▀█████
████ █▀▄███████████▄▀██████
███▄█ ███████▀ ██████ █ ███
██▀█ ███  ▀▀█  ▀██████ █ ██
██ █ ████▄▄      ▀▀▀██ █ ██
██ █ █████▌        ▄██ ████
███▄█ █████▄▄   ▄▄███ █▀███
████▀█▄▀█████▌  ▀██▀▄█ ████
█████▄▀▀▄▄▀▀▀▀   ▄▄█▀▄█████
████████▄██▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████
███████████████████████████
               ▄███▄
            ▄████████

        ▄▄██████████
       █▀▀▀██▀▀▀████
      ███████████
    ▀▀▀████████████
      ▀███████████▀
      ▄███████████▄
 ▄
    ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███▀▀   ▄
▀▀█▀▀
███████████▀▀▀█▀▀
    ████████████████
   ▄████████████████
▄█████████████████████▄
★ ‎
‎ ★
UP
TO
15%...CASH BACK
EVERY SPIN

‎ ★
        ▄██▄
     ████████▄
     ██████████

    ████████████
     ▄████████▄
    █████████████
  ▄██████████████
  ▀██████████████▀
   █████████████▄
 ▄████████████████▄
████████████████████
 ▀▀▀████████████▀▀▀
       ██████
..PLAY NOW..
Dabs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1517


The Concierge of Crypto


View Profile
February 26, 2020, 03:51:09 PM
 #158

I think just copy the blockchain files from a full node PC to the rasp pi should work.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 2982



View Profile
February 26, 2020, 04:26:00 PM
 #159

I think just copy the blockchain files from a full node PC to the rasp pi should work.

yeah  I would think so  that seems to be fastest way to do it.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
fillippone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 4868


Merit Rascal


View Profile
February 26, 2020, 09:11:11 PM
 #160

I think just copy the blockchain files from a full node PC to the rasp pi should work.

yeah  I would think so  that seems to be fastest way to do it.
Absolutely.
This is what Stadicus suggested on his guide Raspibolt.
Just read here:
https://github.com/Stadicus/RaspiBolt/blob/1.0/raspibolt_50_mainnet.md

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!