Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2020, 06:18:41 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: T17e review.  (Read 1390 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2814
Merit: 2670



View Profile
November 23, 2019, 04:39:25 PM
Merited by frodocooper (3), hugeblack (1)
 #1

I had two t17e units arrive.

some photos numbers etc to follow.


about 53-55 th

3356 watts on one meter


13 amps on a pdu meter. which is 3120 watts.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1603174721
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1603174721

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1603174721
Reply with quote  #2

1603174721
Report to moderator
1603174721
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1603174721

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1603174721
Reply with quote  #2

1603174721
Report to moderator
1603174721
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1603174721

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1603174721
Reply with quote  #2

1603174721
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2814
Merit: 2670



View Profile
November 23, 2019, 04:39:39 PM
Last edit: November 25, 2019, 01:10:46 AM by frodocooper
Merited by vapourminer (1)
 #2

spacer

front view s17+ on left t17e on right.  the t17e has a bigger psu and a smaller case for the controller



s17 pro side view note the control is shorter



psu for s17 pro



psu for t17e



t17e on left note the psu is taller


I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2814
Merit: 2670



View Profile
November 23, 2019, 04:39:51 PM
Last edit: November 25, 2019, 01:12:32 AM by frodocooper
Merited by o_e_l_e_o (1)
 #3

easy to see taller psu and skinny controller case on the t17e the unit on the left.



this is the t17e



this is also the t17e



here they are mining



I will post numbers again.

but  t17e  seem to be in the 53-55th area.

the s17pro on low is about 43th

I have 2 measurements on power for the t17e   3356 watts and 3120 watts

the 3356 is on a killawatt style meter this reads high

the 3120 is on a pdu  the pdu reads low

so   3120/54th = 57.77 watts a th
and 3356/54th = 62.15 watts a th

57-63 watts a th range for a t17e

53-55th hash range

note a one speed unit.

the controller for the s17 and s17 pro is this one.

https://shop.bitmain.com/product/detail?pid=000201908151010180899X61guRp068C

the psu for the s17 and s17 pro is this one.
https://shop.bitmain.com/product/detail?pid=0002019072316001724716dkNtX50679

the label on the t17e psu reads apw9+
the label on the s17 pro psu reads apw9

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2814
Merit: 2670



View Profile
November 23, 2019, 05:55:44 PM
Last edit: December 06, 2019, 01:07:28 PM by philipma1957
 #4

Thoughts

1) these could use a better psu
2) these could use a second speed.

if they are really 3120 watts it is a lot of power
but i suspect they are closer to my high side numbers of 3356 watts.

i would have preferred them to be 3000 watts.

even though the s17 pro is 1566usd and this is 1071usd

you need to wait an extra month for the t17e

i would suggest buying the s17 pro over this.

as 38 watts for 43th about 1650 watts is better for after 1/2 ing

and 44 watts for 57th about 2600 watts on high is better. for right now.

I did a thread on the t17e.  Try amazon search for leviton 2n208-21 it does up to 200 amps. I am going to quote this and move it to the t17e thread.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
prpz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 43


View Profile
November 26, 2019, 03:19:23 AM
Merited by suchmoon (4), frodocooper (2)
 #5

Great info and nice pics, how do you find them to react to hot/cold air?

I got my second s17e 64 and its behaving the same as the first , I cannot explain it so I figure id ask (the s17 pros do not behave this way)
I live in Canada and its 0 C currently if I plug the miner beside and open window for air intake the second hashboard never boots up only 0 and 2 showing
exactly the same as the first s17e I received, move it down on the floor and it runs fine, put it back by the window and same hashboard 1 doesn't boot up
turn it sideways so its not sucking in cold air, works???
secondly the hash is always lower with colder air avgs 63.5 by the windows fans 3800 and 4800 and 67.4 on the floor fans 5600 5700
issue is its sooo loud much louder then the s17 pros running normal or turbo
it also heats up a 450sq ft basement in no time from 20c to 25.5C the two s17s never managed to get it over 24.5 (even on colder nights)

I know the unit Is not detective as the previous was the same
how's them t17e are they rock solid? You had a couple days to play
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2814
Merit: 2670



View Profile
November 26, 2019, 03:51:51 AM
Last edit: November 26, 2019, 02:55:53 PM by philipma1957
 #6

Edit Last night was cold -3 c  or 25-26f.  I had an issue with 1 unit not working.
I went to solar array today added an s17 pro  so there is now 8800-9000 watts used in the spot  The 17e  fired up.  I will monitor this until Monday or tues or Weds after thanksgiving then move gear to Clifton NJ the room there is warmer air is filtered and still have good venting to keep it under 85f or 30c


Okay  they are in buysolar loft  which is the first solararray.  this is an unheated spot.

been -2 to 10c  outside

loft has good ventilation

so at 27f to 50f   it runs very well  been up for 2.5 days doing 53-55th

I would guess space is getting warmer and may be  closer to 60f or 15c since I am running 6600 watts or
25000-27000 btu of endless heat. These will be moved to Clifton after Thanksgiving.

I will not buy anymore of them as I do not like 3000 watt units.
I will end up with

1x t17+
2x t17e
2x m20s
1x m21s
2x a1066      these 8 pieces will pull 27000 watts.  and put out 100,000 + btu


I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1618



View Profile
November 28, 2019, 05:42:54 PM
 #7

I am bummed out...two 53th T17e were send from China, NOT Malaysia or Singapore.
S17e as well, so double whammy (27.6% tax), darned it.
Also why Bitmain sends it on Thanksgiving when everything is closed? Ridiculous.
Philipma1957cellphone
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 206
Merit: 56


View Profile
November 28, 2019, 06:28:55 PM
Last edit: November 30, 2019, 03:11:28 AM by frodocooper
 #8

Not happy with mine and they owe me serious refund on them as I paid them 3600 and they dropped to 2735.  865 due.  They pull a lot of power.  Taxed them at 102 or 103. They pull more power then first mentioned and they no longer show power specs. So basically don't get them.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1618



View Profile
November 28, 2019, 07:19:27 PM
Last edit: November 30, 2019, 03:11:42 AM by frodocooper
 #9

Tax at 102-103 when coming from China? that would be awesome.
Freemine-001010
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 46


View Profile
November 28, 2019, 09:28:45 PM
Last edit: November 29, 2019, 03:52:13 AM by Freemine-001010
Merited by philipma1957 (2), frodocooper (2)
 #10

im kinda glad i didn't get the s17e or +  it looks to be a beast but not super efficient,

cargober with tesla watt got me a great deal 1750 shipped s17 pro , only using 9.5 amps @ 240v  pushing 55+ th,

the turbo setting is lack luster, the boards were doing 18th each , on turbo they went to 19.5 th each, and the uint was drawing 10.2 amps @240 v

so the turbo setting is not worth it ,  but i cant wait till  slush pool adds the s17 sires to the Braiins Os Firmware, i like the real-time graphs and such

with out having to refresh the page to see the real time shares and est hash rate and temps

i didnt get a chance for coupons but i dont plan on ordering in the next few months

so now i have 7x s17pro @ 385 th   and    14  s9/s9i's doing  196 th  , starting to make a dent  Grin Grin
Philipma1957cellphone
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 206
Merit: 56


View Profile
November 28, 2019, 09:29:11 PM
 #11

I have to check the boxes to be sure.  Yeah I think the s17 pro are far better then any unit I have.
Epochjump
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 49


View Profile
November 29, 2019, 08:59:52 PM
Last edit: November 30, 2019, 03:12:48 AM by frodocooper
 #12

I recently was told that the only difference in all these different "S" models is that when the Chip orders arrive, Bitmain tests them. The most efficient chips from the foundry are assembled into the "Pro" units and the less efficient chips are earmarked for the T's and E's and etc etc. I don't pretend to know about "chip quality" or manufacturing processes. How plausible does this sound to someone who knows this space?
Freemine-001010
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 46


View Profile
November 30, 2019, 08:25:08 PM
Merited by frodocooper (3), philipma1957 (2), Epochjump (2)
 #13

I recently was told that the only difference in all these different "S" models is that when the Chip orders arrive, Bitmain tests them. The most efficient chips from the foundry are assembled into the "Pro" units and the less efficient chips are earmarked for the T's and E's and etc etc. I don't pretend to know about "chip quality" or manufacturing processes. How plausible does this sound to someone who knows this space?

this is exactly how it works,  some chips from the die's will have near perfect traces and have the ability to keep a constant temp at a certain frequency

the under performers will heat up under the same settings , so those chips need to be set to run at a lower freq to achieve adequate cooling so as not to

over heat and destroy the chips,  just like the s9's    the 13.5 units have an average 600 set on freq,  the s9i's have 650  so each board running 50hz faster

will yield that .5-1 th  +

this is some what common in chip manufacturing , in my years building computes you will see some of Intel's chips not do as good in the benchmark tests and

those same chips would always be hotter compared to the cream of the crop
Epochjump
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 49


View Profile
December 01, 2019, 02:35:21 PM
Last edit: December 02, 2019, 09:16:34 AM by frodocooper
 #14

Thank you! merit sent.
Freemine-001010
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 46


View Profile
December 01, 2019, 09:02:15 PM
Last edit: December 02, 2019, 09:17:12 AM by frodocooper
Merited by favebook (2), frodocooper (2)
 #15

https://www.quora.com/Would-two-identical-processors-have-the-same-performance-on-the-same-benchmark

https://siliconlottery.com/

read this , most if not all my experience is with computer cpu / gpu , but it seems to hold true for most of these high end chips.
AlecMe
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 385
Merit: 159


View Profile
December 09, 2019, 01:47:16 AM
Last edit: December 09, 2019, 03:53:29 AM by frodocooper
Merited by philipma1957 (13), favebook (10), frodocooper (10), Dabs (2)
 #16

Hi Guys,

Had a chance to briefly test one of these as well.

The gear is running smoothly at 54347.46 (54Th), it is quieter (58 dB  Grin), pulls 3.12kW from the wall, and beautiful temps on both the hash board and the chips

Board 1 PCB 28-49-27-52 and Chips 50-59-45-64
Board 2 PCB 31-52-34-59 and Chips 53-65-55-70
Board 3 PCB 29-51-34-55 and Chips 54-62-55-66

Sleep mode meaning:

After a few tests found that it means the fans are running at around 59% - 60% - this allows the temperatures from above to be achieved and a very silent miner (compared to others, Inno T2T - 30 I am looking at you! Angry )

Would not even dare to test it if it would be one power cord probably  Roll Eyes.
Can't wait to relocate it and hope for the best in this up and down market  Huh .

Why:

Before this model, on older s9/s you could select fan speed and other functions that were hidden (aka Setup Mode) in the 'Miner Configuration' page if you would have right-clicked and Inspect the page (by searching for Fan_Ctrl and erasing the ':none' after display).

One must/should have the option to view that and this should not be restricted. If one is not responsible then do not play here, but the option has to be there.

With the new T17e (https://imgur.com/a/BMdeqrg) it appeared this has changed, among other things like the Kernel Log in the System tab.

I have managed to find the change and have attached photos on how to do it yourself to unlock the hidden menu again (Setup Mode).

Steps:

1. first step, go to your AntMiner Miner Configuration tab

https://imgur.com/a/Sm9O0p5

2. right-click and select Inspect (in safari is Inspect Element)

https://imgur.com/a/q2bgh49

3. in the search box (mine was on the right lower corner) type fan_ctrl and hit search

https://imgur.com/a/phtiw3B

4. On the second result found, it will allow you to edit the results on your right (NB. once you close the page and open it again you will have to start from number 1 again, as settings will not save and you will not have them visible upon revisiting). - see left-hand side arrow in the image at step 3.

5. in previous miners you could just delete the :none wording and the function would have re-appeared in the menu. Now, you need to activate the menu and then delete the :none value for what you want to change in order to see it, followed by deleting the :none wording for any function that you wish to see in the new area.

https://imgur.com/a/VYodnvm

6. Enjoy your new accessible settings which should look like this:

https://imgur.com/a/4hW4IIM

Also, this equipment is almost 20 dB silent than previous ones. Must be the Sleep mode function.

Moreover, if only delete the :none value no damage will happen to you miner, but if you change the values there - may that be whatever, you bear responsibility for it!

This is how the actual code looks like, you just have to find all the :none and delete them

Code:
<fieldset class="cbi-section" id="cbi-cgminer-default" style="display:none">
                  <legend>Setup</legend>
                  <div class="cbi-value" id="beep" style="display:none">
                     <label class="cbi-value-title" for="keep">Beeper ringing</label>
                     <div class="cbi-value-field">
                        <input type="checkbox" name="ant_beeper" id="ant_beeper" checked="">
                     </div>
                  </div>
                  <div class="cbi-value" id="temp_over" style="display:none">
                     <label class="cbi-value-title" for="keep">Stop running when temprerature is over 80℃ </label>
                     <div class="cbi-value-field">
                        <input type="checkbox" name="ant_tempoverctrl" id="ant_tempoverctrl" checked="">
                     </div>
                  </div>
                  <div class="cbi-value" id="fan_ctrl" style="display:none">
                     <label class="cbi-value-title" for="keep">Customize the fan speed percentage</label>
                     <div class="cbi-value-field">
                        <input type="checkbox" name="ant_fan_customize_check" id="ant_fan_customize_switch">
                        <input type="text" class="cbi-input-text" style="width:30px;" name="ant_fan_customize_box" id="ant_fan_customize_value" value="">%
                     </div>
                  </div>
 <div class="cbi-value">
<label class="cbi-value-title" for="keep">Work Mode</label>
<div class="cbi-value-field" id="miner_work_mode"> <input type="radio" id="ant_work_mode_sleep" name="ant_work_mode" value="0xfe" checked=""> Sleep Mode <br> <input type="radio" id="ant_work_mode_1" name="ant_work_mode" value="1"> Low Power<br> <input type="radio" id="ant_work_mode_2" name="ant_work_mode" value="2"> Normal</div>
 </div>  
                  <div class="cbi-value" id="cbi-bmminer-default-voltage" style="display:none">
                     <label class="cbi-value-title" for="cbid.bmminer.default.voltage">Set Voltage:(CAUTION: This setting may damage the miner, please test smaller value first!)</label>
                     <div class="cbi-value-field">
                        <select id="ant_voltage" class="cbi-input-text">
                           <option value="1700"> 17.00V </option>
                           <option value="1710"> 17.10V </option>
                           <option value="1720"> 17.20V </option>
                           <option value="1730"> 17.30V </option>
                           <option value="1740"> 17.40V </option>
                           <option value="1750"> 17.50V </option>
                           <option value="1760"> 17.60V </option>
                           <option value="1770"> 17.70V </option>
                           <option value="1780"> 17.80V </option>
                           <option value="1790"> 17.90V </option>
                           <option value="1800"> 18.00V </option>
                           <option value="1810"> 18.10V </option>
                           <option value="1820"> 18.20V </option>
                           <option value="1830"> 18.30V </option>
                           <option value="1840"> 18.40V </option>
                           <option value="1850"> 18.50V </option>
                           <option value="1860"> 18.60V </option>
                           <option value="1870"> 18.70V </option>
                           <option value="1880"> 18.80V </option>
                           <option value="1890"> 18.90V </option>
                           <option value="1900"> 19.00V </option>
                           <option value="1910"> 19.10V </option>
                           <option value="1920"> 19.20V </option>
                           <option value="1930"> 19.30V </option>
                           <option value="1940"> 19.40V </option>
                           <option value="1950"> 19.50V </option>
                           <option value="1960"> 19.60V </option>
                           <option value="1970"> 19.70V </option>
                           <option value="1980"> 19.80V </option>
                           <option value="1990"> 19.90V </option>
                           <option value="2000"> 20.00V </option>
                        </select>
                     </div>
                  </div>
                  <div class="cbi-value" id="cbi-bmminer-default-freq" style="display:none">
                     <label class="cbi-value-title" for="cbid.bmminer.default.freq">Set Frequency:</label>
                     <div class="cbi-value-field">
                        <select id="ant_freq" class="cbi-input-text">
                           <option value="200"> 200.00M </option>
                           <option value="225"> 225.00M </option>
                           <option value="250"> 250.00M </option>
                           <option value="275"> 275.00M </option>
                           <option value="300"> 300.00M </option>
                           <option value="325"> 325.00M </option>
                           <option value="350"> 350.00M </option>
                           <option value="375"> 375.00M </option>
                           <option value="400"> 400.00M </option>
                           <option value="425"> 425.00M </option>
                           <option value="450"> 450.00M </option>
                           <option value="475"> 475.00M </option>
                           <option value="500"> 500.00M </option>
                           <option value="525"> 525.00M </option>
                           <option value="550"> 550.00M </option>
                           <option value="575"> 575.00M </option>
                           <option value="600"> 600.00M </option>
                           <option value="625"> 625.00M </option>
                           <option value="650"> 650.00M </option>
                           <option value="675"> 675.00M </option>
                           <option value="700"> 700.00M </option>
                           <option value="725"> 725.00M </option>
                           <option value="750"> 750.00M </option>
                           <option value="775"> 775.00M </option>
                           <option value="800"> 800.00M </option>
                        </select>
                     </div>
                  </div>
               </fieldset>
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2814
Merit: 2670



View Profile
December 09, 2019, 02:24:01 AM
Last edit: December 09, 2019, 03:54:00 AM by frodocooper
 #17

this is valuable info  I gave you 13 merits.  this will move you to next level

I have two units. it will help me out others have these you helped them out.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
algcool
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 1


View Profile
December 09, 2019, 02:50:19 AM
Last edit: December 09, 2019, 03:54:19 AM by frodocooper
 #18

Seems the T17E performance is almost the same as whatsminer M21S 54T,  But may i know how much is the noise db of T17E?  I tested whatsminers noise, at least 80db.
Epochjump
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 49


View Profile
December 09, 2019, 03:58:01 AM
 #19

Inno is crap. Loud, hot, power hungry beasts. I had 10 out of 100 brand new T2T 30 TH/s fail. Some PSU's and some Control boards. The company expects YOU to do all the trouble shooting by swapping PSU's and Control boards between working and broken units. THEN...they make you ask them permission to send warranty repair parts back to them for repair/replacement. They make you send pictures of the matching serial numbers of the effected units. Did I forget to mention you're shipping all the way to China? You pay. Then.....you wait. 30-60 DAYS!!! To Hell with INNO. I'll never send them another dime.
AlecMe
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 385
Merit: 159


View Profile
December 09, 2019, 04:00:00 AM
Last edit: December 09, 2019, 04:01:33 AM by frodocooper
 #20

The device is running with its standard settings (ie. sleep mode fans at around 60%)

Current sound (Decibels) taken next to it: https://imgur.com/a/rBPaPuQ

And sound generated by it through a door and being 10 meters (32 feet) away from it is https://imgur.com/gallery/Wqme014 https://imgur.com/a/cgMXWZ7

Note to Bitmain: make them run a half the Wattage and I could actually afford to mine home  Grin

Thank you philipma1957, glad I could give something back to this amazing place.

I still cannot make the photos visible from links, will look into it.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!