Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2020, 11:33:53 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: T17e review.  (Read 1390 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
judypug1956
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 353
Merit: 270


View Profile
January 09, 2020, 03:49:37 PM
Last edit: January 10, 2020, 12:55:22 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (3)
 #41

t17+ update

so far it runs great on viabtc

better then 64th about 66th see links

https://i.imgur.com/tp1WWCX.png
https://i.imgur.com/tiUcS1j.png

maybe I got a unicorn Grin

1956jUdYPFwiBSzt9AECdWj3KE4WV7taiM I can't do 1957philma.. for btc address the i are not allowed This is a secondary account for Philipma1957, don't do business with this account deal with philipma1957
1603366433
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1603366433

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1603366433
Reply with quote  #2

1603366433
Report to moderator
1603366433
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1603366433

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1603366433
Reply with quote  #2

1603366433
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 3062


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
January 10, 2020, 11:47:09 PM
 #42

better then 64th about 66th see links
maybe I got a unicorn Grin

That is impressive to say the least, phill would you please post a screenshot of both t17e and t17+ temps and fans?  I am confused about which to buy out of these three

T17,T17e,T17+, i have T17 running good, T17e on it's way but not a T17+ , my main concern is heat !

Summer here is really hot, i want to stack more of the gear that has the least temperature regardless of efficiency and price per TH among the T series, S series is a no-go.   

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2828
Merit: 2689



View Profile
January 11, 2020, 12:05:26 AM
Last edit: January 11, 2020, 03:23:21 AM by frodocooper
Merited by mikeywith (1)
 #43

I can do the  2 t17e's

I have a teamviewer set to the 2 17e's

Room is in clifton  super good air fans cooling

we are feeding the room filtered outside air it is 50f air right now.



full size of both units.

https://i.imgur.com/woNzZ1K.png

https://imgur.com/Fa48cOo.png

both do well at 53th
but  that area has filtered air.
stable internet.
temps now stay under 80f with input air at 2 sources both filtered.
we fixed power drop to 185 volts so power is good.

It is not  true data center grade but it is decent setup for mining.

I can not show the t17+  it is at a spot that I can not do a safe teamviewer connection

the t17+ is doing   64-65 th at 2990 watts
the t17e is  doing   53-54th at 3200 watts

the t17+ is cooler  it is better gear.

of course it is all about feeding it 3000 watts of stable power.  you need to be able to do this.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 3062


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
January 11, 2020, 11:56:38 AM
Last edit: January 11, 2020, 01:14:50 PM by frodocooper
 #44

Seems like Bitmain don't have the T17+ which you have anymore, the only available type is the 57th



This one does not look much different from the T17e, which has the specs below.



The one you got does 65th at 2990w which is much more efficient than these two,that's about 46w/th which is just as efficient as the the S17e that does 64th for 2880w.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2828
Merit: 2689



View Profile
January 11, 2020, 01:36:33 PM
Last edit: January 13, 2020, 01:36:09 AM by frodocooper
Merited by xiver88 (2)
 #45

My t17e's do not do spec  they do 53th at 3200 watts  way over on power

My 1 t17+  does better then spec  it does  64-65th at 2990 watts  a little higher hash then spec  and at 46 or 47 watts more efficient then spec.

From Feb 2019 to Jan 2020  I ordered and my partners ordered lot of bitmain gear. 35 plus pieces

the 2 t17e's were the only gear under spec

the 1 t17+  did the best over spec.

They represent
 the best (t17+) close to  a full 5% better then spec

 the worst  (t17e) about 5% worse then spec

Does this mean  you should buy t17+ ?

I have 1 coupon left  I plan to buy this unit https://shop.bitmain.com/product/detail?pid=00020200107140204896zxU627b8066E

a t17+  for 1011  due to ship feb 11.

I am waiting for my last unit on order a s17 pro to ship  due to ship jan 11-20.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
xiver88
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 13


View Profile
February 28, 2020, 09:15:06 AM
 #46

Our last order was T17+ 50 THs - batch February 1-10. We still didn't receive it due to coronavirus. Seller now offers a change order to T17 40 THs, which were manufactured in Malaysia. That way Seller can send it next week. Otherwise, we need to wait more, as the Bitmain factory in China is not operating at full capacity.
favebook
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475
Merit: 344


View Profile
February 28, 2020, 01:12:44 PM
 #47

Our last order was T17+ 50 THs - batch February 1-10. We still didn't receive it due to coronavirus. Seller now offers a change order to T17 40 THs, which were manufactured in Malaysia. That way Seller can send it next week. Otherwise, we need to wait more, as the Bitmain factory in China is not operating at full capacity.

If they are offering a good coupon or $ difference in return with that T17 40TH/s, I'd accept that.

xiver88
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 13


View Profile
February 28, 2020, 02:07:34 PM
Merited by philipma1957 (1)
 #48

We have accepted the offer. Because more machines were offered to compensate for THs loss.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2828
Merit: 2689



View Profile
February 29, 2020, 05:19:33 PM
 #49

Please continue to follow up. I would like to know how fast they come and how well they work.

Also I mention that some do use aftermarket firmware on the t17  so if you decide to do that let us know if that works well for you.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366
Merit: 1140



View Profile
March 10, 2020, 07:38:09 AM
Last edit: March 10, 2020, 10:17:18 AM by frodocooper
Merited by vapourminer (1)
 #50

Interesting T17E problem raised its ugly head. Don't think its limited to this particular model but most of the *17 range.



Log file looks normal up till the moment of outage, when it switches from temperature readouts to errors reading the temp chips.

This is after over a month of uptime with no errors.

Mine @ pools that pay Tx fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
Should bitmain create LPM for all models?
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
AlecMe
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 385
Merit: 159


View Profile
May 19, 2020, 08:25:13 PM
 #51

Anyone expericed something within the lines of:

t17e 53th

Code:
2020-05-16 14:16:38:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 2, sensor = 2, chip = 195, reg = 0
2020-05-16 14:16:51:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 2, sensor = 2, chip = 195, reg = 1
2020-05-16 14:16:58:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 2, sensor = 3, chip = 180, reg = 0
2020-05-16 14:17:11:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 2, sensor = 3, chip = 180, reg = 1
2020-05-16 14:17:18:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 0, sensor = 0, chip = 51, reg = 0
2020-05-16 14:17:31:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 0, sensor = 0, chip = 51, reg = 1
2020-05-16 14:17:38:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 0, sensor = 1, chip = 36, reg = 0
2020-05-16 14:17:51:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 0, sensor = 1, chip = 36, reg = 1
2020-05-16 14:17:58:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 0, sensor = 2, chip = 195, reg = 0
2020-05-16 14:18:11:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 0, sensor = 2, chip = 195, reg = 1
2020-05-16 14:18:17:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 0, sensor = 3, chip = 180, reg = 0
2020-05-16 14:18:30:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 0, sensor = 3, chip = 180, reg = 1
2020-05-16 14:18:37:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 1, sensor = 0, chip = 51, reg = 0
2020-05-16 14:18:50:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 1, sensor = 0, chip = 51, reg = 1
2020-05-16 14:18:57:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 1, sensor = 1, chip = 36, reg = 0
2020-05-16 14:19:10:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 1, sensor = 1, chip = 36, reg = 1
2020-05-16 14:19:16:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 1, sensor = 2, chip = 195, reg = 0
2020-05-16 14:19:29:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 1, sensor = 2, chip = 195, reg = 1
2020-05-16 14:19:36:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 1, sensor = 3, chip = 180, reg = 0
2020-05-16 14:19:49:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 1, sensor = 3, chip = 180, reg = 1
2020-05-16 14:19:56:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 2, sensor = 0, chip = 51, reg = 0
2020-05-16 14:20:09:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 2, sensor = 0, chip = 51, reg = 1
2020-05-16 14:20:15:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 2, sensor = 1, chip = 36, reg = 0
2020-05-16 14:20:28:temperature.c:739:get_temp_info: read temp sensor failed: chain = 2, sensor = 1, chip = 36, reg = 1

I doubted the sensors have all died, as after a forced reboot (unplug and plug back in) it works again, a couple of days max and then again the hash has disappeared.

the machine keeps running though.

Bitmain where kind to reply and gave me the SD firmware to flash on it.

To continue...

Any help, as always, is appreciated.
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 3062


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
May 20, 2020, 01:34:11 AM
Last edit: May 21, 2020, 12:17:51 AM by frodocooper
Merited by AlecMe (1)
 #52

@AlecMe

I went into great detail explaining the cause of this issue in my topic but let me summarize the part which matters for you, you have a faulty PSU.

There are mainly two types of sensor errors, one which fails to read temps on all sensors on all boards (your case), this is without a doubt a PSU issue, the other one where only a single board fails to report temps, that board has a bad chip/heatsink.

In both scenarios, you should always Sdflash that miner and then flash the latest firmware, if the problem remains, then for your case, test the miner with a different PSU.

mochaaa
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 2


View Profile
May 20, 2020, 11:48:19 PM
 #53

There any undervolt/overclock firmware for the T17e yet?
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 3062


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
May 21, 2020, 01:54:50 AM
Last edit: May 22, 2020, 12:57:14 AM by frodocooper
 #54

None that I am aware of, the only reputable custom firmware I'd trust would be Braiin's or Vnish (Asic.to and Awesomeminer), you shouldn't trust any firmware without doing your due diligence.

You could contact taserz (Asic.to) or/and patrike (Awesomeminer) to see if they have any plans to support the T17e.

mochaaa
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 2


View Profile
May 21, 2020, 06:46:39 AM
 #55

Wish I would have known the 'E' variants were more time consuming for firmware...
minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 203


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
May 25, 2020, 04:34:45 AM
 #56

I believe vinsh has fw for all variants but yes double check. We're hoping to partner with a dev since the 17 series aren't compatible with multiple (over three) coinbase outputs.

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
favebook
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475
Merit: 344


View Profile
May 25, 2020, 10:23:38 AM
Last edit: May 26, 2020, 02:28:01 AM by frodocooper
 #57

Vnish doesn't have firmware for "E" versions yet AFAIK. Waiting for one as well.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3276
Merit: 1294


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 25, 2020, 02:32:13 PM
Last edit: May 25, 2020, 05:10:43 PM by mprep
 #58

I believe vinsh has fw for all variants but yes double check. We're hoping to partner with a dev since the 17 series aren't compatible with multiple (over three) coinbase outputs.
So instead you're going to parter with someone who will be violating the cgminer license.
Wow - great - thanks very much ... scumbag.



None that I am aware of, the only reputable custom firmware I'd trust would be Braiin's or Vnish (Asic.to and Awesomeminer), you shouldn't trust any firmware without doing your due diligence.

You could contact taserz (Asic.to) or/and patrike (Awesomeminer) to see if they have any plans to support the T17e.
Vnish violates the cgminer license.

[moderator's note: consecutive posts merged]

Pool: https://kano.is - lowest fee PPLNS 3 Days Here on Bitcointalk: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 3062


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
May 25, 2020, 03:18:33 PM
Last edit: May 26, 2020, 02:29:52 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (3)
 #59

@kano

So does Bitmain firmware, and so does your mining pool by allowing firmware made by Bitmain and Microbt which refuse to release the source code, there is no difference between all of these firmware versions as far as Cgminer license is concerned.

On a side note, refrain from posting twice in a row as it's against the forum rules, and your second post will be deleted or merged with the first one in the best-case scenario, and then you will likely accuse the mods of having a biased approach towards your posts which break the from rules.  Roll Eyes

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3276
Merit: 1294


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 25, 2020, 03:41:38 PM
 #60

@kano

So does Bitmain firmware, and so does your mining pool by allowing firmware made by Bitmain and Microbt which refuse to release the source code, there is no difference between all of these firmware versions as far as Cgminer license is concerned.
Go read the GPLv3 license that governs cgminer.
You do not know what you are talking about at all.

Quote
On a side note, refrain from posting twice in a row as it's against the forum rules, and your second post will be deleted or merged with the first one in the best-case scenario, and then you will likely accuse the mods of having a biased approach towards your posts which break the from rules.  Roll Eyes
You are not a mod - so go find someone else to annoy.
If a mod combines my posts - then so be it - I'm not concerned - and it will probably be Frodo so he'll make more btc from the forum for doing it Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is - lowest fee PPLNS 3 Days Here on Bitcointalk: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!