Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:13:43 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GUIminer disappeared? WTF?  (Read 4637 times)
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
November 22, 2011, 01:53:38 AM
 #1

A little insight would be appreciated.

I am trying to re-install all my Bitcoin stuff on a new harddrive.  Bitcoin client is up and running and re-downloading the blockchain as we speak.

I also reinstalled GUIminer.  The first time, I extracted it to my desktop and opened it and began mining with no problems.  Then, I attempted to move the folder from the desktop to my program files folder.  Then chaos ensued.  First, it told me I couldn't transfer the folder because I forgot to close my miner.  So, I closed my miner.  It still wouldn't let me transfer the files to that location.

So, I restarted my computer and tried a fresh extract to the program files folder.  It still wouldn't let me .... I get some long diagnostic message essentially telling me to fuck off and that it only likes to be extracted to the desktop.

So, I re-extracted to the desktop.  The problem is, when I try to open GUIminer, the program appears on my task bar but it won't open so I can see the app on my screen.  I even tried tossing my entire GUIminer folder in the recycle bin, dumping it, and redownloading and extracting.  The same problem keeps happening:  GUIminer appears as running in my task bar and in the processes list in the task manager.  Why is this happening?

1480824823
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480824823

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480824823
Reply with quote  #2

1480824823
Report to moderator
1480824823
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480824823

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480824823
Reply with quote  #2

1480824823
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480824823
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480824823

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480824823
Reply with quote  #2

1480824823
Report to moderator
1480824823
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480824823

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480824823
Reply with quote  #2

1480824823
Report to moderator
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
November 22, 2011, 02:10:03 AM
 #2

Update:   After repeated failure, I tried the obvious:  Copy and paste useless GUIminer files from my laptop to the new harddrive.  Not only did this work, but it let me create a GUIminer shortcut on my desktop linking to my program files folder.

I still have no idea why this idea worked but downloading and extracting didn't.

grubles
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181


mistaken for gribble since 2011


View Profile
November 28, 2011, 12:04:59 PM
 #3

I think this happened to me on my Windows rig. What I did was opened up the task manager: Ctrl+Shift+Esc and went to the Applications tab. Then I right clicked on Guiminer and clicked Maximize. Then it showed up!

BM-NBi5PcH8BBqDVp7WSJe2pNgqEVvTjd6T
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!