Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 02:38:43 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: A few questions for the mining gurus.  (Read 1385 times)
tripper22
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 189



View Profile
April 01, 2011, 03:21:26 AM
 #1

I have a dedicated Windows 7 64bit mining rig with 4 x 5870's. I would like to boot the computer and have the overclocking  / underclocking and m0mchil/poclbm miner start automatically without any input from me. Presently I have to boot into windows, setup afterburner for gpu 1, start my miner and then move my monitor cable from gpu 1 to gpu 2. Repeat x 2.

Is there a way to make the gpu's think a monitor is connected when there isn't?  With afterburner I have to switch between gpu's in settings, to allow me to underclock the memory low enough.

Any suggestions or workarounds are appreciated.
1511145523
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511145523

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511145523
Reply with quote  #2

1511145523
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511145523
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511145523

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511145523
Reply with quote  #2

1511145523
Report to moderator
1511145523
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511145523

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511145523
Reply with quote  #2

1511145523
Report to moderator
1511145523
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511145523

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511145523
Reply with quote  #2

1511145523
Report to moderator
Beremat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 156


Green Mining 85% Cheaper


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 03:24:11 AM
 #2

Is there a way to make the gpu's think a monitor is connected when there isn't?
http://www.overclock.net/folding-home-guides-tutorials/384733-30-second-dummy-plug.html

tripper22
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 189



View Profile
April 01, 2011, 06:16:17 AM
 #3

since you want unattended operation consider using Linux

among other things Linux has software solution for this problem as opposed to proposed above hardware solution (however brilliant it is)



Thanks vladimir. Is there a certain distribution I can use? Where can I learn to setup a linux mining rig? I am somewhat familiar with Ubuntu.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!